We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Save Saved
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Washington, DC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peace and Calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Escape the rat race and find peace and calm in this beautiful, laid back, warm property. We love the staff who are always helpful and feel like family! The food is yummy; sipping a drink at the bar while gazing at the oceans 40 yards away is a soul soothing experience for all weary travelers. You'll love your stay at the Palms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    635
    147
    34
    14
    19
See reviews for
191
427
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you plan to got to St. Croix, Pelican Cove is the place to be. We returned for another Christmas holiday, having loved the place and the beach last year. It is a wonderful place. The beach is so quiet, fabulous for snorkeling, and fine for swimming. The restaurant is great. And the service is amazing. They really care about the people who stay with them, and remember them. The staff are so hospitable. Mitch introduced my 9 year old son to snorkeling last year, and inspired his imagination again this year. He loves his job, knows so much about the marine life in Pelican Cove, and makes Pelican Cove a uniquely memorable place, for all ages. We plan to return next year!

Room Tip: There are rooms furthest from the hotel reception which are a bit quieter, but its a longer walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I reciently visted The Palms in December. What a beautiful place it was! The food was some of the best on our whole trip. We went on a guided snorkel trip with Chuck, the owner. He was very knowledgable about the marine life, this made for a much better snorkeling experience. The staff at the palms were always freindly and ready to help with all our needs. The beach and the water are so inviting. Will go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great hotel; location is great; staff is superb. We had a great time on free nature walk. We took adavantage of the free snorkel gear and guided trips. Owner even took us out on a night snorkel; we loved it. Food is great and at very reasonable prices. Surf & turk night; prime rib night. Service is superb. Location is ideal; near Christiansted events; excursion to Buck Island, etc. We had a blast!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on bottom floor have beach level patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife, Emily, and I came to The Palms at Pelican Cove for our honeymoon and could not have been more impressed with this lovely place. Everyone at The Palms is so welcoming and kind; we wish we could have stayed longer! We had never visited St. Croix in the past, but felt right at home at The Palms. We quickly became pals with so many of the staff members (everyone is so friendly and accommodating), including the owner, Chuck, Operations and Events Manager, Mitch (he plans the best parties and is FULL of resourceful knowledge about St. Croix), staff members like Eriksen, security officials Eddie and Che, and bartenders, Dave, Rico, and Trish. Julie, Erin, and Sierra at the front desk were always gracious, welcoming, and beyond helpful when it came to offering island recommendations (i.e. diving, snorkeling, hiking, dining, sight-seeing, etc.) or simply providing directions or answering questions for getting around Christiansted and Frederiksted.

Everyone at The Palms provided us with fantastic advice on what to do while in St. Croix. With an ideal central location, The Palms is relatively close to both the west and east end of the island, and is just minutes from downtown Christiansted. Some days, we just stayed at the hotel and enjoyed the pool, our charming and quiet beachfront room, and strolled along the beautiful beach. Other nights, there were fun parties in the evening just steps from our room (Caribbean Night on Mondays with Kiki and the Fire Gypsies and Moko Jumbie Stilt Dancers is a must-see!) to take advantage of, as well as fantastic snorkel tours right outside The Palms. Though we didn't experience a night snorkel (simply because we didn't have time), Chuck or Mitch would have taken us on one. Chuch took us, along with two other couples, on a private daytime snorkel in which we saw various forms of aquatic life, including parrot fish, scorpian fish, lobster, sea urchins, a sting ray, and colorful eels. Chuck even treated us to a private dinner one night and made us feel like family. While we spent a great deal of time at the resort, we also had rented a car and made our way around the island easily, experiencing the beauty and novelty of nearby hot spots such as Cane Bay, Rainbow Beach, and the tidal pools within the rainforest.

The Palms at Pelican Cove is a wonderful place to get away to spend time on your own, with your partner, or with a group of friends. My wife and I don’t normally return to a place we have visited in the past, but The Palms at Pelican Cove will certainly be an exception. See you there ;)

Happy Travels,
Cody and Emily Randel

Room Tip: A garden view or beachfront room is ideal, but any room is great considering the beach is at your fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Cody and Emily, what a great time we had while you were here. Everyone so enjoyed your visit. And I was impressed by how much the two of you got around in the time you were here. Non-stop! So full of energy and life. I will make sure I pass your wonderful comments on to all of our staff here - they will be happy to hear about you. And I can hardly wait until you're back again so I can take the both of you out on that night snorkel. I know you had a lot of highlights during your stay here, but I know that would have been right up there at the top.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our family stayed at the Palms in January 2012 for a ten days of fun and relaxation. The private beach, exemplary service, luxurious accommodations and gorgeous tropical setting made for an unforgettable vacation! Chuck and his incredible staff go above and beyond to provide the highest standard of service and it shows!!! Be sure to take advantage of the complimentary snorkelling lesson with Chuck just off the resort's private beach; as a biologist, he holds an expansive knowledge of local sea life! Thanks again for the amazing experience; we look forward to returning for a visit in the near future!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location of this mini resort is ideal. The scenery on the beach is above average and the snorkeling is good although recent fish trapping in front of the resort have slowed things down a bit. The food in the restaurant was always very good and the room views and locations were top notch. These things give the resort a very good rating however we have been to many resorts all over the Caribbean many times over. We have been to over 40 resorts in 10 years throughout the islands. This resort ( and probably others on the island ) suffer from a lack of a labor force that cares about what they are doing. This is a welfare island. We had a big problem relating to dining reservation requirements. The staff made a large error against us but the manager once aware of this stepped up and rewarded us with more than could have been expected. She was great. However, the employee centered lack of caring continued. One day our replacement maid left no towels - we went and got our own. The next day she left us one towel only - we went and got more. The 3rd day we asked her to leave us a regular complement of towels - she left 25-30 towels spread all over the room in piles. We asked for a picnic lunch to be maid and picked up later in the afternoon - the front desk said to ask the waiter to have it made up. The waiter said to have the bartender make the order. There was no bartender on duty until 11:00AM that day. Then back to the waiter - he said he will see that the bartender gets the order later in the day. It never happened. Later the bartender said I don't take such orders - who did you talk to? The manager on duty said, give me the order and I'll ask someone to make it later. I didn't want it later - it was intended to be made by now for a traveling lunch. We paid up our charges the night before leaving the resort to facilitate and early in the morning quick exit. The person at the desk in the early morning had no idea how to check someone out - had to wake up the manager and ask about mundane key punching instructions. We waited much too long to check out as he would accept out keys until he figured it out. He didn't seem to figure out that we needed to leave and that's what we did.
I couldn't imagine trying to operate a business on this island when so many people and potential employees could care less about a job.

Dennis & Yaeko Shaub

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. One oddity - there is only one dining area and you must make reservati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We appreciate your compliments on our beach, views, food and our management. We do try very hard to please all of our guests and we get there almost all of the time. And even though some guests test our staff, they still do their best to remain cordial, pleasant and helpful. As I’m sure you noticed in your research about our resort, our people receive rave reviews for their performance; they are among the best that I have ever had the pleasure to work with. They love working here and they care greatly; if they didn’t they would not be here. I do appreciate the opportunity to respond to several of your comments. 1) I presume the large error you mentioned relates to your not being able to obtain a front table at our Caribbean night the day after you checked in. Our Caribbean night is very popular and reservations need to be made well in advance to get front row seating. We believe that you found it upsetting the front desk neglected to tell you to make reservations, but it would not have made a difference as the tables were already booked. We were absolutely able to seat you that evening, and every other evening; it just wasn’t in the exact place you wanted to be. Most guests typically leave their tables anyway during the festivities to get close to the action. We have now put up a notice at the front desk advising guests that reservations are requested. But reservations are not and have never been required. 2) I apologize if the housekeepers missed placing towels in your room. A quick call to the front desk and we would have delivered them to you immediately. I spoke to the resort manager, the housekeeping manager, and the housekeeper looking after your room about the surplus of towels the third day. Three towels were left on the rack (which is the usual number) and, as the housekeeper now knew you preferred more than the usual, she also left you two more on the edge of the sink. 3) When you placed your order for the box lunch, it was written up for the kitchen to be picked up the following morning. That is why it was not ready when you came back that afternoon; I am not sure where all the other confusion came in. Our bartender did offer to have it made immediately for you and delivered to your room but you declined. 4) On the morning you checked out our regular front desk attendant was unable to be there last minute, and her replacement was not familiar with the system so he called the manager for assistance as he should have. The issue was that a $25 room key deposit needed to be removed from your invoice. The manager told the attendant, who relayed it to you, that if you were in a hurry you were welcome to leave and she would make the adjustment when she got in that morning. But you elected to remain here until it was done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.