We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 NIGHTS FREE !!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
1 review
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at Palms from 1-7 October and I had one of the best experiences ever! I needed a getaway from the crazy NYC and a quiet and peaceful time. After having read through some of the reviews I finally decided to do my first ever solo travelling to the palms at Pelican Cove and I wasn't disappointed!! October was rather slow at Palms ( so I was told) and very quiet but it was the perfect time for me and the right place/resort that I was looking for! I had the entire beach just for myself!:) What a beautiful beach and a breathtaking view right from the balcony of my room!
All the staff there were very friendly and helpful. Mitch is an amazing person!! He took time to teach me snorkeling and took me out to my first awesome snorkeling experience right on the beach! I saw many different fish (sting ray, barracuda and lionfish). The next day, he took me on a hiking tour ( though I was the only one who signed up for it, he didn't even cancel the trip! what a professional!!!) On the tour, I tasted different kind of fruits grown on the island and met the islanders. Mitch also explained to me the history of the island and took as many pictures of my hiking and snorkeling experiences which he gave me the pics in a CD.
The restaurant was closed for renovation most of the days and service at the bar sometimes spotty (my only 'unpleasant' experience, in particular getting food, as I didn't want to leave the resort looking for restaurants nearby). The front desk suggested one close resort right next to Palms (Hibiscus) for lunch and dinner which I tried a couple of times but the food wasn't that great and the price expensive! Luckily, the restaurant at Palms reopened on Friday and I enjoyed all the food I had there.
Overall,my experience at Palms was fabulous! I strongly recommend the place, particularly during October if you are desperately looking for a quiet and peaceful place, individually or as a group!
I can't wait till October comes to visit Palms again!
DG, NYC

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    158
    37
    16
    19
See reviews for
209
474
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay! We chose The Palms after reading the great recommendations on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. We had a picturesque view of the ocean from our room, delicious food in the outdoor restaurant, and amazing service from the welcoming staff. Thanks, especially to Mitch who offered complimentary snorkeling lessons. I learned to snorkel at age 62 and loved it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeoville, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Palms mid September and it was absolutely the friendliest and most fabulous vacation ever. Our room was awesome, staff was awesome and we could not ask for a better location. I would recommend everyone looking for a place to stay on the island to check in to the Palms. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our thanks go to the The Palms at Pelican Cove.. We had a wonderful vacation there. Spent almost two weeks there and got to know our hosts. We have to say that Mitch, their "everything guy" was exceptional. He was quirky, friendly, knowledgeable and above all a really good guy. He took us night snorkeling (awesome) along with Chuck the owner, and took us daytime snorkeling a few times. He also took us on a walking tour of the area. We met Miss Rita who shared her yard and fruit with us. A true Cruzian woman. Mitch also gave us his # and helped us when we were lost:) a few times. Mitch also suggested many places to go and see and directions to get there. The end of Sept. and beginning of Oct. is the best time to go. We felt like we had beaches to ourselves. The rest of the staff were equally friendly and so helpful. We fell in love with all of them..the rooms were nice and Mama G did a good job of cleaning up after us. Thank you for making this an awesome place to stay and our St. Croix vacation special. You do need to get a car if you are there for any length of time!! Again many many thanks to Mitch, Shiela. Rico, Pat , Mama G. and the the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
It is always fun to be able to pass along wonderful comments such as yours to our staff. As you noted, they are exceptionally hardworking and proud of the contribution that they make towards the resort. They also well recognize that you are the most important person here. And when they make you happy, they are happy. It's because of guests like you that they love what they do. St. Croix is a special place, and we are so glad that you were able to pick up the true flavor of the island. We much look forward to seeing you again on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mio, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Palms for our honeymoon in mid September this year and had an absolutely amazing time. Chuck, his wife, and his daughter Erin (resort owners) are the friendliest and most courteous people I have ever encountered on a vacation. The first morning we walked down to have breakfast at the resort restaurant (outdoors and overlooking the water) and Chuck sat down with us and gave us a personal map-tour of the island and attractions. He took us on two snorkels (for free) and even let us borrow his and his wife's golf clubs along with a gift certificate to the island's best golf resort. The room was perfect size and cleaned every day for us. The rest of the staff greeted us with a smile each day and helped us in every way they could, even woke us up (upon request) at 1am and gave us a ride to see the sea turtles laying eggs on the beach-side. It was a one-of-a-kind experience that we will never forget. We are already planning a trip back with our friends, and we can't wait to see our new friends at the Palms again!

Room Tip: We had an ocean front room that was maybe 30 feet from the waters' edge, I recommend you take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Absolutely love The Palms at Pelican Cove. I've been to St Croix a few times for business reasons, and day trips...but do not get to stay overnight too often. This past week, was able to stay over, finally...and the staff could NOT of been better. Everyone was so friendly, it was hard to believe I was in the Virgin Islands....Let's start off with the check in experience....it's basic, and delightful, the person at the desk is so polite and welcoming. She drove me over to my room in the little golf cart, and I was met and shown to my room. I had a deluxe room on the 2nd floor.....room faced the North Shore of St Croix, so you had the palm trees and water right outside....King size bed...very comfy, wi-fi...(complimentary) shocking in the Virgin Islands...and it actually worked! The bathroom was so pretty, open shower, exposed rock, it was just so cool. Oh, and a festive little bottle of complimentary local bottle of rum was waiting for me...this is standard in all their rooms. Went down to the bar area, to see what was happening.......it's all open air, you can hear the water....the wait staff/bartendars were right on spot with service. The menu is very affordable, and so many choices. They evidently had just re-opened the restaurant that night after a few days for renovation and a menu re-vamp. You absolutely MUST try the chef's award winning soup. It's a local pumpkin/coconut soup....Simply, divine.......wanted more! There were so many great things to try on the menu, i was bummed I was only there for one night. Anyway, there was some live music playing, you are right smack dab on the beach, the place is clean, very safe, and very friendly. You feel like you are at home when you are there.....Love love love love this place, can't wait to go back.....

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are equally as nice....i've stayed there a couple times and the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have a condo on St. Croix so we know the Palms well. It is a "must" when we have guests. Can anything be more romantic than sitting nearly on the beach with the surf breaking and the tropical breeze blowing softly through the draperies while you eat a fabulous meal of locally caught fresh mahi? If you're fortunate to arrive during a full moon, the magic is complete. It is one of our favorite spots on the island.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.