We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Palms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another great stay at the Palms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is our second time staying at The Palms.
The rooms are very spacious. They have upgraded since our last stay. Incredible mattresses made us not want to leave. All new bedding is washed fresh for every guest. (Not like the hotels that just wash the sheets but leave the bedspread.) Thick fluffy towels and washcloths were abundant in their newly redone bathrooms. They have new beautiful tiled showers and double sinks. Of course, the patios/balconies all have amazing views of the ocean. If you are staying on the first floor you can walk from your patio right on to the beach. It is great coming back to the air conditioned room after playing in the sun all day. We love that it didn’t feel like we were in a generic room that could have been in any city or town anywhere. If you stay at The Palms you definitely get the good mix of comfort and island flavor.
The restaurant was amazing. It is located right on the beach! There is nothing better than a fabulous meal while watching the sunset over the water. The menu specials change every night ensuring fresh selections. We liked that you could choose between local dishes or something you might find closer to home. The bar menu, which you can order from anytime, provided some tasty and more economical options. You must go to Caribbean night. Everything is worth it. The buffet was excellent. I don’t think we have had better barbeque and the entertainment had everyone joining in.
The Pool is best place to relax. Lounge chairs, tables and toys make it inviting for the whole family. Towels and snorkel gear are available for free at the front desk. The beach is pristine and never crowded. There is a lot to do and see on the island but you really don’t need to leave the hotel to have a great time. There was free wifi available in the rooms, pool side and in the lobby.
The staff is very friendly and attentive. You will feel like family before the end of your stay. They make it easy for you to find the best places to go and things to do. We do recommend renting a car to be able to enjoy everything St. Croix has to offer. Remember to stay on the left. We can’t wait to go back and will staying here again.
(P.S. If you want to learn more about the island go for a hike with Papa John. Brochures are in the lobby. It was well worth it!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    153
    34
    15
    19
See reviews for
199
446
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The room was expensive for what they offered and it was dirty, I tried to upload the pictures, but it wouldn't allow me. In the area we stayed, the outside was unkempt. I complaint to the front desk, but they left a vm on my cell that didn't work there and I didn't get the message about changing our room until I arrived home. They could have put a note on the door. The place was far from local restaurants. Also, we arrived on Wednesday and all the snorkling activaties were full until Sunday, and the one activity were listed for was cancelled. I didn't enjoy this vacation at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
As you can see from other guest reviews, we love our property and make every effort to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. Our understanding was that you requested to be moved to a room with a cooktop; we were able to accommodate this the next day. Since you called us on your phone requesting this, we had no reason to suspect that your phone was not working, and that you therefore could not retrieve the voicemail we left you confirming this. We did try to reach you. Since you did not get back to us, we assumed that you no longer wanted to move. We are sorry for this miscommunication. Also, until now we were not aware that you had an issue with room cleanliness. We take our housekeeping very seriously. Our staff are thorough and we follow up with daily arrival room checks. We want to know if something has been missed so that we can take timely corrective action. Our snorkel tours are very popular and the reviews we receive substantiate this. We did check our Snorkel Sign Up Sheet for the dates you were here and confirmed that there were openings. We have several staff that conduct the tour so we are able to accommodate guests most any time. Including our own, there are 5 local restaurants within walking distance of The Palms. And there are many more in Christiansted, which is a short ten minute drive from the resort. The dining options are virtually unlimited on island. It is our mission to engage our guests to find if there is anything we can do to make their stay with us on St. Croix the most enjoyable possible. We want you to go home with new experiences, happy memories, and a plan to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The food was good - you can't beat fresh fish cooked just right. Our day "hike" with MItch was wonderful. We had been to St. Croix before - many years ago - but hadn't seen all the sights he showed us. Mitch was a great guide, and a lot of fun. All the other staff we came into contact with went out of their way to help us out. Would definitely recommend The Palms, and especially recommend taking advantage of the trips and other advetnures offered by Mitch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our 3rd trip to St. Croix, the first at The Palms. My husband & I chose The Palms for our couple's getaway because we were looking for a quiet, charming hotel, and The Palms did not disappoint! With only 40 rooms, it is a "boutique" hotel that caters to its clientele at a very reasonable price.

We had a second floor Deluxe Ocean Front room that was about 20 yards from the water with a stunning view straight to Buck Island that we could even see from our bed! The feel from our large balcony with lounge chairs was truly like "being marooned on an island," as we saw only a handful of people pass by the beach in front of our room all week. The room was spacious and clean, with a comfortable king-sized bed. It had a remodeled spa-like bathroom with grotto-like shower with stone walls & floors and double sink with granite counters. We loved having the refrigerator in our room, where we stored leftovers that we heated at the microwave right downstairs in the laundry room.

We spent most of our week on the quiet beach, which looked like a postcard. Again, it was like having our own private beach, with only one or two other people on the beach at any given time. The best part, NO "towel game" at play here! PLENTY of open chairs at the pool and beach at ALL TIMES, a refreshing change from the family trip to a resort in Jamaica earlier in the summer, where every single chair at the pool and most on the beach had towels on them all week (many sitting empty for most of the day), and we had to share the beach with hundreds of others. We did see some children at The Palms, and they appeared to be having a great time, especially with all the complimentary beach toys, but they were never overly loud or bothersome at all.

We ate several meals at the open-air restaurant, and everything was delicious, not to mention, it has a gorgeous view right on the water. We HIGHLY recommend the peanut butter pie, which was melt-in-your-mouth good. We really enjoyed the Sunday brunch, especially the steel pan music, which could be heard at the pool and beach and lasted most of the afternoon. The Caribbean night BBQ buffet on Wednesdays with the mocko jumbie show and live music is also not to be missed. We also took taxis to downtown Christiansted for several meals and shopping ($20 round-trip for the 10 minute ride for 2 people, much less than renting a car!)

Perhaps what makes this hotel stand out is its employees, from the front desk to housekeeping, to the servers and the bar attendants. Everyone always had a smile for us and was willing to chat but were NOT overly intrusive as we've sometimes felt at bed and breakfasts and smaller inns. We had as much privacy as we wanted/needed. We were offered the free snorkeling on the property and did not take advantage of it, but we'll save that for next time! After having read so much about "Chuck" the owner on here, we were disappointed that we didn't run into him.

If there was one thing I wish it had, that would be a gift shop. They had a few sundries for sale behind the front desk, but a stock of t-shirts & souvenirs, sunglasses, etc. would have been wonderful, as we probably would not have left the resort!

If you're looking for a "can't miss" place to stay on St. Croix, we highly recommend "the Palms." We can't wait to return there!

Room Tip: Building #2 is more quiet and removed from the main area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsCare, Manager at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
You definitely captured the charm and uniqueness of our staff and our property during your visit and we thank you for writing such a descriptive and insightful review. Operating a hotel in the Virgin Islands, and particularly one right on the waters edge, is fun for all of us but expense-wise it certainly has its challenges. We do our best to keep our rates in-line and we thank you for recognizing the value. As we have pointed out before, with the 8 acres of white sand and coconut palms we have here, one rarely feels crowded even when we are fully booked. Elvis, one of our excellent chefs, was pleased to hear you enjoyed his Peanut Butter Pie so much! Our staff often comment on how much they enjoy being here, and that goes a long way towards bringing a positive, helpful and fun attitude to work every day. We thank you for bringing this up for all of them to see, and that they are so appreciated for what they do. We agree with your point about the gift shop and are considering opening one in the near future as we do receive many requests for logoed t-shirts and souvenirs. Chuck sends his regrets that he missed you and is certainly looking forward to your next visit. He is usually here but just happened to be off island for a few weeks. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. petersburg, florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our family (2 adults, kids: 12 & 7) spent four nights at the Palms, during the first week of August. I can still hear the waves and feel the breeze, as if I was still sitting on the room's open patio. While we started with a garden view room (that looked across to the quiet condo complex next door, but one could look left from the patio to see the ocean), we were immediately upgraded to an ocean view room when we noticed our toilet leaking. What a difference that made, being able to look out our sliding doors to see the beach and the sea, not fifty feet to the water's edge. Our room was not extravagant, but was clean, brightly decorated and featured two queen beds, a fridge, flat panel television, and a dresser and nightstand. The room also included a small closet and a very basic safe. The bathroom had double sinks, granite countertop and a remodeled shower. Just outside the room, were a laundry room, that included a microwave, allowing us to reheat leftovers for one of our meals. There were two chaise lounge chairs on the patio, one of which I practically lived on, given that amazing view of the sea. And the way these outdoor patios are staggered, with the shrubbery around, provided a certain amount of privacy to each.

While the exterior of the buildings containing the rooms were nothing photoworthy, the common areas of the hotel were open, airy and accentuated the beauty of the nearby sea, featuring views from practically everywhere. From the moment you walk up, you want to take out your camera. The hotel's bar was tailormade for gazing at the sea, and the breakfast and dining area was within a stone's throw from the water itself. The pool may have needed to be remarcited, but it was big, blue and very refreshing, with an ample supply of pool toys for the kids. While the common areas are not large, they are comfortable and certainly convey the close, boutique feeling that you get here. This is not an impersonal, oversized resort. It is a small (38 rooms total) but pretty motel/hotel on the beach, with an island feel that let us know we were not still in Florida.

The food at the hotel was fine for breakfasts and the prices were typical of others on the island (budget about $10.00 a head for full breakfasts). What I thought was lacking, particularly at breakfast, were any island-type of breakfasts, including tropical fruit. And while we did not eat a lot of meals at the hotel--we're more of the type to venture out to local restaurants, we wisely joined in for their Wednesday night buffet, which was outstanding and did feature local specialty dishes, as well as music and an appearance by two Moko Jumbies (stilt dancers) to add to the festivities.

We came to St. Croix to snorkel, and our first venture into the sea did not disappoint. While last year we had trouble in Curacao finding live coral, no such problems in St. Croix, including behind the Palms. While we were glad we brought our swim shoes--the water isn't more than knee deep for what seems like 75-100 yards, requiring a lot of careful walking over rocks against the waves, and stepping around thousands of small sea urchins, when we got beyond the shallows, we were met with 6 foot tall formations of coral, schools of colorful fish, and more than one huge, rock lobster. I don't think we needed to swim in water deeper than 10 feet deep, to see plenty of marine life. So if you have a little one, and can escort him/her out there, your little one will see plenty and not be intimidated by the depth. Unfortunately, we never had the time to avail ourselves of the hotel's free snorkeling tour, but I am sure it would have been very worthwhile.

The location of the hotel is very good. It is on the northeast shore of the island, with views out to Buck Island, the ultimate snorkeling stop for our trip. Once we learned our way around via rental car, we were about a five minute drive to a decent grocery store (forget about US prices, you're in the islands), and about a fifteen minute drive to downtown Christiansted, that features plenty of decent restaurants to try, and several attractions, even in the offseason.

The hotel's staff were all very nice, including the housekeeping, servers and staff, and offered as much or as little interaction as their guests wanted. But they did little things that matter, including packing up a stack of ribs to take back to the room when the buffet had run out while were dining, chasing down a coconut for my wife to sample, and offering to mail back to us, a book my daughter had left behind. Those are the kind of things we'll remember about the Palms, that, and the constant breeze from that ocean.

Room Tip: While even the garden view rooms have some view of the ocean, go for the ocean view. You won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of July 2012. Paid a little more for a beachfront room, and it was definitely worth it. Most of the room seemed updated recently and was very clean. We made coffee in the room and had our breakfast coffee on the beach every day. Nice way to start the day!

The grounds and public areas are well maintained - look for the BIG iguanas on the property! Having a pool was a plus - didn't know how much the kids would enjoy swimming in the pool multiple times a day! The beach is narrow and the seaweed was not cleared away (maybe because it was off season?) The water was warm and it was nice to snorkel right off the property (you can borrow snorkelling gear as well as beach towels as you need them). This is not a beach for body surfing/boogie boarding since the reef is right there. You can definitely swim there, but Long Reef is the main attraction. We saw trumpet fish, lobsters, angel fish, etc. right at the hotel.

Having a restaurant and bar on site made things very easy - order off the bar menu for your lunch/dinner and you will save yourself some $ compared to the restaurant. Tuesday night is $2.00 taco night at 8pm at the bar - you will want to stay onsite for this one! Wed night is Caribbean night with the costumed dancers on stilts - eat elsewhere and then come back for the free entertainment.

I would definitely suggest getting a car so you have more travel adventures/dining options. We went to the local Food Town to stock up on breakfast items (there is a fridge in the room). Olympic Car Rental will come to the hotel and pick you up to get your car rental. We walked around the neighborhood every morning and saw feral chickens, dogs, and lots of old rusty cars, so you definitely want to get a car to explore other parts of the island!

The staff (front desk with great recommendations, restaurant staff (who made sure our food allergy concerns were addressed), Rico at the bar (excellent margaritas!), Tom who drove us to our room, all housekeeping and grounds crew who helped our boys open coconuts) were very friendly and professional. A special thank you to making sure that we had TV coverage of the 2012 London Olympics available! I had read so much about the owners that I was sorry not to meet them during our time there. We would have welcomed the advice about more snorkeling in St Croix!

In summary, this is a "well loved" hotel, and the people who work there make it great. Low key, nothing fancy, just a comfortable place to stay on St Croix!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Afghanistan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a great time. The staff was awesome! Great snorkeling and walking tour. We had a beach front view. Spent a lot of time just chilling out and enjoying our view. I highly recommend the Palms! The resturant and bar were lovely. We had a wonderful time. I recommend using taxis or rent a car to go into town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.