We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I must prefaces my stay at The Palms at Pelican Cove was during the off-season. So it was a little too warm and too many mosquitos. That being said, it was off-season so it was nice and quiet which made for a quite enjoyable time there. What I liked most about the Palms at Pelican Cove was the fact that it was Cancun, Mexico. If you want the rustic feel. if you want to feel like you are on an island in the middle of the ocean. If you want to feel like you are almost practically sleeping on the beach, this is the place. Everything is open air, except for you room which gave it a great island feel. And the beach is literally 10feet from the hotel rooms.

The staff was so friendly. Incredibly helpful and helped you feel like you part of the community. I loved all the activities they had planned. They gave free snorkel guides right in the ocean from the hotel. And the guides where very friendly, helpful, and intelligent. Almost better than the paid for snorkel guide to Buck Island. They also offered Nature walks, history/culture walks, yoga, and many other small activities to add a little special events to your day.

The food was good. The bartenders were great! And they made the effort to not only remember your name, but remember a few details about you and your stay.

My only complaint would be that for those of us who don't live on island time all the time; waiting for food in the restaurants was a little frustrating. I'm all about being laid back, however when I'm hungry I'm hungry. And it is hard to wait 30mins for a meal when your stomach is growling.

But overall, throughly impressed and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    153
    34
    15
    19
See reviews for
199
446
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The owners and their employees are so friendly and kind our family felt like we'd known them for years. When we first arrived we were a little upset because the airlines had lost two of our checked bags. We decided to eat at the beautiful beach view restaurant. Before we knew it, the hotel receptionist sought us out to tell us the bags had arrived. The next day, Chuck (the owner) took my husband, my daughter and myself on a private snorkeling tour where he took pictures of unusual sea creatures. Later my husband and Chuck discussed his recommended excursions to fit our interests. He spent over a hour going over the best attractions, which companies he recommended, restaurants and driving directions. A few days later, Chuck took us on a private night snorkel which was even more exciting. He took more pictures and then he and his lovely wife, Joyce, even bought us dinner! All of this free of charge! The hotel was very reasonable in price. Every room is ocean front on an incredible beach! We loved the friendly employees including Mitch, Rico and "Mamma G". We will definitely return to the Palms at Pelican Cove and recommend it to all our friends. Best value of any vacation we've ever taken! Best snorkeling trip ever!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Beautiful property, great beach and food! The maintenance and housekeeping stafff were very attentive to our needs.

The snorkeling trips were great!
Will return!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Our stay at the Palms in May was a real pleasure. Our room was lovely and relaxing with it's view of palm trees and the beach. It was also very clean and the bed super comfy. The staff was so friendly and very helpful with all our little requests. ( Be sure to sign up for nature walk with Mitch or snorkeling lessons with Chuck.) Hotel also offered entainment several nights during our stay which was nice. Dancing with Moko Jumbies was great fun! Would not hesitate to recommend The Palms to anyone visiting St. Croix.
Berta B. from Massachusetts

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The hotel is outstanding. The staff is outstanding.
A shout-out to Costco. We book our stay through Costco at a lower price than booking directly through the hotel. The value for the money....outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a view of Long Reef.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I knew the palms had a good reputation, but our stay was more than expected.
The entire staff is very friendly, from the bar tenders to the maids. They really take pride in their jobs.
The property is in a great location. Hundreds of feet of beach front, with a reef right in front of the hotel with great snorkeling, and an easy 10 minute drive into Christiansted.
The owners, Chuck and Joyce, live on site and are always helping the guests anyway they can.
Chuck took us on a snorkeling tour and showed us a lot of things we would have missed on our own. Then he took us on a night snorkel. What a blast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I just got back from staying at The Palms at Pelican Cove in St Croix two weeks ago and I'm already ready to go back. My boyfriend and I stayed in a deluxe oceanview suite. The room was very nice, it had a living/dining room with a small kitchenette, a nice bathroom and a large bedroom. Our patio overlooking the beach connected to the living room and bedroom. I think the best feature of the hotel was the staff. Everyone was extremely nice and personable. The on site restaurant was exceptional and the pool was the perfect temperature day and night. Snorkeling with Mitch was a fun experience and it was really cool to get a free disk with pictures from our trip out. When, not if, we return to St Croix, we will definitely be staying at The Palms at Pelican Cove again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.