We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Save Saved
You added The Palms at Pelican Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Madison
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Best Vacation Ever
Date: April 14, 2011
When friends ask us about our recent trip to St. Croix, we find ourselves saying over and over what a perfect vacation it was - more than we ever dreamed of. The Palms is the reason we had such a great week. My husband and I have three teens and we are not seasoned travelers. We chose the Palms based on the positive reviews over the past few years. We were delighted with the excellent service and atmosphere at the Palms. The rooms are clean, spacious and equipped with a refrigerator and coffee maker. Our rooms had sliding doors that opened to a patio and gorgeous beach. The trade winds and view of the Caribbean were absolutely magnificent. Comfortable lounge chairs were abundant.
Arriving a day late due to airport issues in Miami, we were greeted warmly by the staff who helped us settle into our rooms immediately even though it was early in the day. By 2 pm, we were fitted for snorkeling gear provided by the Palms at no charge. Chuck, the owner, enthusiastically instructed us and took us out snorkeling right off the beach. We hadn't snorkeled before and it was an incredible experience to see the coral reef and all the beautiful creatures that inhabit it. An early evening swim in the fresh water pool next to the beach along with a delicious dinner at the open air restaurant were the perfect end to a busy first day. We ate several lunches and dinners poolside or in the open air restaurant. The food was consistently delicious and the servers were friendly and informative.
On our second day, Chuck spent two hours helping us plan out our week. He and his staff made our reservations for golf at a local resort, an introductory scuba diving class at the pool, and snorkeling with Big Beard at Buck Island. In addition, we enjoyed driving through the rain forest and visiting nearby Fredricksted. We took a drive all the way to the east end to Point Udall. While we loved all of the activities and day trips, we treasured any and all time spent right at the Palms. We snorkeled twice with Chuck and then on our own daily. We even snorkeled in the evening. Mitch, our guide, did an amazing job helping us maneuver around the reef with our underwater flashlights.
Chuck and his staff, especially Mitch, Julie, Pat, and Gus, were outstanding hosts. The housekeepers and grounds staff did a terrific job. In today's world, it is a real treat to feel the warmth and genuine kindness of total strangers. We appreciated the "good faith" atmosphere at the Palms. There weren't all kinds of signs with rules or charges for each and every item or service. If you needed to borrow something from the front desk, you were greeted with a smile. Our kids felt very at-home and so did we.
Thanks to the Palms for a truly memorable week!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    149
    34
    15
    19
See reviews for
196
431
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed there and we were glad we chose The Palms. The location is nice and the staff is friendly and helpful. Mitch is always there to help you, and is a great guide with many ideas. He planned a night to Frederiksted for a jazz festival, and yes, the hotel provided a shuttle. It's these little perks that make you glad you chose The Palms. And then there's the owner Chuck, who makes sure you are taken well care of. He talks to all of his guests, and will be your guide while snorkeling at the reef which is located right at The Palms. We ate the Caribbean Buffet and a few other meals while there and the food was consistently good. The rooms were clean and well-appointed. Gloria took care of our room and she was as friendly and polite as can be. So, The Palms is a great place to stay, with great staff, friendly service, and offers assistance to ensure your vacation needs are met. This goes beyond what is experienced at other hotels!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

When we were looking for a hotel in St. Croix we wanted something a bit more laid back than the large resorts we had stayed at before. Ideally, we thought, it should be small, have great views, have a solid bar/restaurant, and generally be a relaxing escape from life in the big city. The Palms fit the bill perfectly and we will certainly be returning. Here's a summary:

Size: As you might be able to tell, the Palms is only around 40 rooms, so if you're looking for multiple bars, pools, and a Pilates studio on site with a daily schedule of events, the Palms is not for you. The plus side, however, is that you never have to worry about a shortage of beach chairs, you get to know the other guests and staff (we were on a first-name basis with about a half-dozen of the Palms staff by week end), and usually the only thing you hear or see from your room is the gorgeous setting around you.

Views/Location: Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but the Palms handily passed my Corona-ad-worthy test. Book one of the beachfront rooms or suites for unobstructed ocean views and in many cases instant (as in walk ten feet or less from your room) access to the beach. The location that makes it so peaceful, however, also means you're a bit out of the way, so we rented a Jeep for the week (I believe inexpensive taxis are also readily available, though).

Restaurant and Bar: We found in every instance that the food and drink was honesty very good, and in some cases, extraordinary. Order whatever soup is on the menu that day--we did on at least three occasions and found that their clam chowder and wild mushroom soup, are among the best, if not the best, that we have ever had.

R&R: If your idea of a perfect beach vacation is a book, a cool drink, and the sound of waves hitting the shore, than this really might be the place for you. A large part of the overall vibe we felt, however, was due to the staff--who we uniformly found to be welcoming, friendly, and helpful. If there was one thing we never got once, it was attitude...and we got the feeling after awhile that anyone who shared our experience and didn't like this place couldn't drop the A-word themselves.

Service: The reason I'm writing this review, however, is to applaud the Palms for their service. We've been fortunate enough to stay in a number of hotels where exceptional service is expected with the cost of admission; but we've found those places can fall flat on follow through. The Palms did not. Here are a few examples:

ORD-STX (connecting through Antarctica): For reasons that I won't go into, due to various airline catastrophes we arrived at the Palms a day later than planned and beat down by life. Check in was at 3:00 and we rolled in five hours early--not a problem. We were checked-in and taken to our room immediately. The front desk even offered to push back our reservation a day to account for our late arrival, something which we weren't able to take advantage of, but were seriously impressed by.

Fast forward a few days...I'm sipping my rum drink and reading Cat Fancy while listening to the waves wash up on shore from our beachfront room when...*gasp*...we hear the clink clink of bottles stuffed inside a duffel bag, cackling, and rampant Charlie Sheenisms being used conversationally ("oh man, I'm so winning right now!"...*high five*). Soon cigarette butts are flying onto the pristine beach below as the rooms and busted off-key singing commences ("bay beeeee I was boraaran this wayyyyy") Thats right, the rooms to the left and right of ours were occupied by visitors from a neighboring island in town to attend the taste of St. Croix and drink their faces off...with us stuck in the middle. Now we're reasonably young and enjoy the occasional half-dozen cocktails probably even more than the next couple, but these people really were bad...as in "that guy" bad, but wasted, and singing. We went to the front desk and told them that our room was lovely (and it really was before the tiger-bloods), but we wanted to know if there was any other rooms available just in case. Basically without question we were offered a bungalow and a rooftop suite, both bigger and more expensive than our room, for no extra charge, and for the rest of the trip. The rooftop suite we moved into the next morning was perfect and we assume that our neighbors were attacked by sharks or more likely kicked out by security later that night, because we never saw or heard them again from our awesome new room.

Later that day, along with two other couples we took a snorkeling tour right off the beach (free of charge), and the next day the snorkeling instructor Mitch took the group on a rainforest hike, also free of charge, and also on his day off. The hike was absolutely incredible, but what impressed us more than anything was Mitch's response to why he was taking us around on his day off: "because you guys would not have had the chance to see this otherwise"--that's something we've never heard at the Four Seasons, and earned the Palms an A+ in our book.

On our last day, Mitch gave us and the other couples CDs with the pictures from snorkeling and hiking burned on them. We received warm good byes from him, Bud, Tommy, and Julie, just to name a few of the staff who we had come to get to know a bit over our short stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

This place is very pretty and the service is great - would definitely stay there again. Also had some great meals in the bar area.
My big complaint is that there were a couple of women there with a whole gang of cute little kids (toddlers mostly) who were everywhere making noise, throwing toys around, blocking the stairs and walkways, screaming - and I don't mean normal kid play. At one point everyone was on edge and watching the kids because a couple of the little ones were playing right next to the pool while the two women chatted and ignored them. I was later told by other guests that these were the owners' kids and grandkids so no one could say anything to them without the owners getting upset. Family is great, but not at the expense of paying guests.

Room Tip: Make sure owners' family is not in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Thank you for your comments and your understanding. I'm glad that you had a good time and that you will come back and stay with us again. Three of my kids and four grandkids were down from the States and Canada visiting the week you were there. The grandkids were all two years old and, like two year olds everywhere, they were a handful as they enjoyed the sand and the water immensely. They were well supervised with eight parents, grandparents, and close friends following after them. I do wish the opportunity would have presented itself for you to meet them and visit a while. They, and Joyce and I, would have enjoyed that greatly. We look forward to getting together with you on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I hestitated to use the word "value" only because some would think The Palms then isn't really incredible, because it is. I chose this resort because the reviews fit what I look for in a vacation. Not only do I want to get what I'm paying for and not need to drive all over to get what I need, but a friendly staff too. The people at The Palms genuinely care you have everything you desire and are just not going through the motions because that's what they're paid to do. My wife and I love to travel and typically don't like to go to the same place twice, but we'll make an exception in this case. Below are some details.

Our room was clean, updated with new furniture and amenities, and the bed more comfortable than mine at home. Our garden view room still had a great ocean view.

We took almost all of our meals at The Palms. Everything we had from breakfast, to bar appetizers and food there, to dinners, was prepared great and portions were generous. Happy hour was from 4 to 7 PM daily which gave us plenty of time to enjoy the various rum drink specialties.

The beach area was never too crowded, had great sand, and an incredible reef right there. We snorkeled alot and I highly recommend the night snorkel trip led by Mitch. Bring some beach shoes since it can be a little rocky in spots in the water.

All of the staff there was great and helpful. Julie the manager, Mitch the adventurist, Willy the bartender, and Bud the do everything guy come to mind primarily but all were great.

I must also mention the locals who choose The Palms as their hangout. I found everyone to be great to chat with and happy to recommend things to us. A local "character" in particular, and I say that in a good way, is Poppa John. He was a great friend and I hope he lauches his hiking venture soon since he would be great at it.

I know I'm probably leaving some things out but it's my first day back to work and I really should try to focus now. I'll wrap up by saying we didn't do alot of the touristy things as The Palms had plenty for us, but it is conveniently close to Christiansted and all that offers if that is your thing. You can also walk the 10 minutes or so to a local grocery or to a couple local places to get snacks. We didn't rent a car and that's best for us.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed at the Palms hotel for a week in March. The food was the best we have had on vacation with the nicest staff. It didn't matter if we ate in the restaurant or off the bar menu, every meal was wonderful. We really enjoyed the carribean night dinner.
Our room was clean and very nice. Our balcony overlooked the ocean and was so peaceful. The rooms look like they were just re done and the bathroom is beautiful.
We wanted to do more activities this vacation other than sunbathing and we were more than pleased. We met and visited with the owner Chuck who took us on a day snorkel trip where we saw so much sea life including 3 spotted eagle rays. Then Chuck gave us a photo CD with all our pictures from the trip on it, all for free. Chuck's hospitality didn't stop there. We mentioned that we wanted to go hiking and drive the island, so he met with us over drinks and created an itinerary just for us on our vacation.
The resort offers the only night snorkeling that we have ever heard of. Mitch took us on a night snorkel, and if you snorkel, this is a must. It was so exhilarating! We saw 3 octopus, multiple lobsters, eels and a huge stone crab. This was an experience I will never forget.
Mitch was so kind on his day off to take a group of us hiking with him to the tide pools and sugar mill. He told us so much about the island and it was a view you can not see from a car. Mitch and Chuck are the nicest men around and we cannot thank them enough for providing us with so much fun on our vacation.
The days we sunbathed, we enjoyed the great relaxing atmosphere.
The bar at night was a great opportunity to talk to locals and other tourists. Tommy and Willie were great bartenders and fun to talk with. The drinks are great and very reasonable in price.
We will definately come back for a visit and would not go anywhere else but the Palms. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, a trip full of excursions or just want to read a great book on the beach, than this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We booked this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews, and we are glad that we did. We cannot say enough great things about the Palms, Chuck the owner, and all the great staff. We stayed for a week in March.
Upon our arrival, we were met by Pat at the front desk. Pat welcomed us with a big smile, warmth and friendliness. During our stay Pat helped us out quite a few times and we were grateful for all her help.
Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. The view of the ocean from our room and balcony was terrific ! The grounds are well maintained, the buildings are very clean and kept in good condition. There is also a beautiful huge pool.
We went snorkeling with Chuck one afternoon, and never having tried this before, we appreciated Chuck being so patient with us. We really enjoyed it.
What a wonderful place to stay to unwind, relax, enjoy the beautiful scenery, the sounds of the waves, and also the great food and drinks.
We appreciated everything that Chuck, Julie, Pat, Mitch, and all the rest of the great staff did for making our vacation a memorable one. This was our best vacation ever, and we definitely will return. We also loved Chuck's beautiful dog, Misha. We highly recommend the Palms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms at Pelican Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.