We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix to your Saves list
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44A Queen Cross Street, Christiansted, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
SAINT PETERSBURG
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Convenient and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent four nights here in April through a reservation made with Expedia. I was a little worried based on previous poor reviews, but found the hotel very acceptable. There were no problems with our reservation. We were not bothered by any noise and there definitely were no rats in the concrete walls. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location on the seafront promenade was excellent. It is an older hotel but the room was adequate with all the amenities like TV, fridge, air conditioning, phone and a safe. Wifi worked well in the lobby. Hotel connects directly to the Rum Runner Restaurant, which had excellent food and views of the sea. The hotel is convenient to the seaplane terminal a short walk away and also the local bus stop. The SCUBA Company’s dive boat, and Big Beard’s Adventure Tours are close behind the hotel. Fort Christiansted is close by and easy to tour from the hotel. Reception was very helpful with taxis and tour information and telephone calls. Overall, our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    19
    15
    8
See reviews for
5
29
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were put up over night at the Caravelle by American Airlines when they cancelled our flight to San Juan. The room we were given had a terrible odor, the bathroom was moldy, and the drapes had a shredded lining which let in the light from the back parking lot. It was so late by then that we did not ask them to change the room. Maybe the rooms with a water view are nicer and the bad rooms are reserved for last minute situations like our, but, in any case, we much preferred the Holger Danske where we stayed the three nights before. On the plus side, they have a decent sized and secure parking lot and a lobby. Nice desk and helpful deak staff.Rum Runners, their restaurant was excellent for all three meals we ate there. Note the Caravelle does not have refrigerators or microwaves in the rooms. HD does.

Room Tip: I'd try to get a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and enjoyed every minut. Lovely view to the harbor and the sea. Exelent bar just under the hotel and the walkboard. Breakfeast was good and the hotel manager and her staf was very helpful. Hotel placed in the center of town and close to all the danish memories - a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with a harbor-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel is very dated and for the price I expected more. Rooms are large, bed and sheets are not comfortable. You can hear your neighbors, you can hear people walking up the steps. There is not an elevator (but its only 2 floors). It's just not my style. I rather have a view, comfort and peace of mind knowing people can't hear my conversations.

For the positives: The staff was very friendly, the adjacent restaurant was lively and a nice place for drinks/dinner. It's downtown so you don't feel secluded.

This will be my last time here until renovations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Location with view of ocean/reef is good, and it is right in town. However, there was a rat in the ice box and mice in the walls. Some of personnel were very nice and accomodating, some not.
We won't be back there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were here for the holidays. Everyone was so helpful and pleasant. Perfect location for downtown shopping. Parking on site for rental car.Plenty of choices of places to eat.,
The rooms were spacious and kept clean daily. Yes there were no elevators but the exercise was good. It is right on the water.and each room has a lovely view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a very plesant stay at the Caravelle Hotel over the Christmas holidays (2012). The perfect location and the lovely staff certainly makes up for the fact that the hotel is somewhat worn.
We were always welcomed with a smile, the staff often tried to greet us in Danish as a sweet gesture and everyone was very helpful whenever we had a question or requested help.
Located right on the boardwalk, the Caravelle Hotel is close to everything in Christiansted and there is such a great atmosphere there at night. The beach is only a two-minute ferry ride away ($5 for a round trip).
There were four different places we could go to have our breakfast (which was included in our stay) and we especially liked the Lalita and the Twin City Coffee House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix

Address: 44A Queen Cross Street, Christiansted, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caravelle On St. Croix Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.