We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you want Convience!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix to your Saves list
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44A Queen Cross Street, Christiansted, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
St. Croix
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay here if you want Convience!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This place is a no frills hotel. If you are on the island and want to be central to most places, stay here. My boyfriend and I stayed here and basically the only time we were in the room was a night when we went to bed. There is a pool and a nice deck overlooking the boardwalk that is great for relaxing. The staff is friendly and accommodated our questions about anything from dining to directions. Most of the rooms have a fridge and tv, but very basic. We loved being in town and able to walk to different places, yet we were just a short drive from the north shore other points of interest.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    19
    16
    8
See reviews for
5
33
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pala, Kerala
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stayed at the Caravelle after missing a flight out of St.Croix. It's a nice hotel. The Staff are quite courteous. The view from the hotel is excellant. Rooms are big and clean and cosy. The staff at the restaurent Rum Runners are helpful. The food was okay. Everyone seemed to be happy around there. The wi-fi service provided isnt very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Christiansted on St. Croix was a perfect two day getaway from a conference in San Juan. The old Danish houses combined with a relaxed laidback caribbean life style was excellent. Situated in the middle of the historical city right on the Board Walk couldn't be better, and although the hotel is a bit worn down, it doesn't really matter, because it still has everything you need for a few days of vacation. Restaurants, bars and diving shops surrounded the hotel - be sure to go under water while you are there!

And for all us Danes it was an extra plus being welcomed in Danish at the Hotel entrance...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with full ocean view, if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Hotel Caravelle is my favorite in Christiansted. Location, location, location: right on the boardwalk with Rum Runners restaurant attached. Very easy walking distance to everything in town. Elsie, Joycelyn and the entire staff are excellent & always helpful. Older hotel with some needed upgrades taking place.

Room Tip: Ocean view is best choice. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Old hotel with the Best staff in STX. Everyone working at Miss Elsie's hotel is so kind and friendly. The hotel is old but clean and close to boardwalk in Christiansted. Had the suite overlooking the ocean. Hope to come back next december.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Nice room, but no balkony. Towel service and good location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Me and my wife got nearly 100 bites from bedbugs during 4 days. Christiansted is completely shutdown in august so forget shopping. This Island is very poor and therefore the roads are not the best. Friendly staff

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.2 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holger Danske Hotel
Holger Danske Hotel
#10 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix

Address: 44A Queen Cross Street, Christiansted, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caravelle On St. Croix Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.