We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE! Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hibiscus Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hibiscus Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4131 La Grande Princesse | North shore, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Black River Falls, Wisconsin
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE! Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This place was horrible. My friend and I made reservations here and would NEVER suggest it to anyone other than to purchase it and renovate it. It is such a nice location that has such potential that is wasted. Very run down, restaurant was closed down by government, as well as the bar. When we arrived the owner (we think the son) was inebriated and had to take us to four rooms before getting one that had electricity, a/c, and on the beach. The room was ok, but the bathrooms were awful. How anyone can consider this place a decent place to stay is beyond me. outside was not kept up and clean, rats running all over. A security guard stopped me to tell me to keep our patio door closed due to rats everywhere. Needless to say, Expedia was wonderful in finding us a place at another resort (Divi), which turn out to be a wonderful experience. Be very careful about reserving at the hibiscus. not worth it. I don't' understand why all these online websites keep them as an option for travelers.

Room Tip: no tip would help. sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    95
    39
    20
    27
See reviews for
31
172
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Hill, Georgia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

To be honest there had been HORRIBLE storms the weeks before we got to the island.... our room smelled faintly of wet and we could tell the furniture had been in standing water at one point, BUT we were literally feet from the ocean and the bar. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, we did a lot of exploring so for the time we spent and the view it was do-able. The staff was super nice and the bar was always hopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

All the bad reviews are true, power outages,dirty rooms, and a drunk that showed up at our door insisting on getting in. We had to summon the cops on the second visit from him. The outside wall caught fire, we immediately left, but not without a war of words with the owner who acted surprised a fire would cause us to leave. Glad I hear it is closed!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteal, Quebec
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Everyone on the island knows that the Hibiscus is closed - so we locals figured that tripadvisor folks should know too. So - it's closed. If the status changes - we'll let you know. Other hotels have been helping any one stranded by the sudden closing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have been staying @ Hibiscus for the last 8 years and were so disappointed by John's sons takeover of the property on this last trip in September 2013. We always stay in Room #3 and should have known there were problems from the gitgo upon our arrival when Room #3 was not available due to brand new A/C not working. On our arrival there had not been power for 1 1/2 days due to the resort now being run on ONE generator which cannot be run 24/7. On our anniversary, I went to shower for a nice dinner downtown and there was no hot water so I had to go the 'French Bath' route. Power on and off and constantly running out of water - must be a leak in the cistern - and no one (owners) seemed to care. Staff could not have been more helpful - Rasheema, Marsha, Danny, Funboy and, especially, Marc who now works next door at the Palms. He obviously got out before the you know what hit the fan. It is such a shame that John's sons have no care for the property and are so cavalier. Hoping someone will come in and save this place from John and his irresponsible son and step son. Thank goodness we have friends on the island who will help in securing a condo for our next visit to St. Croix in September 2014. Beautiful island and people and we have made many friends over the years. Just wishing that Hibiscus will survive under someone else's care and ownership.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

To call this a resort anymore is a disservice to the name. Restaurant is closed, bar is closed, ice machine was repo'd! The front desk is rarely open. We were there for 10 days in February 2014, and the staff was great, but the owner was a jerk. He and his buddies lived on site but clearly treated the place as their own playground. When we told people where we were staying, they gave their condolences. We lost water twice, electricity once, the bathroom needed updated 10 years ago, and our neighbor's room was robbed while we were there. We liked the IDEA of a small out of the way place, but this was god awful. TRIP ADVISOR, re-rate this as TERRIBLE.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our main problem was getting here from the airport at night. Once we found it, the son of the owner booked us in but gave us a different room from the one we were to have had. It was farther from the parking lot and I could not ride the scooter to it. But we managed. The fan worked and the A/C worked, and the TV worked and the internet was good. The restaurant was closed. We had a small fridge and a coffee pot. We went to the Palms for Sunday brunch, but it was expensive so we mostly ate fast food. The water pressure was sometimes low and the water was never really hot, but everyone was very helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Beach Resort

Address: 4131 La Grande Princesse | North shore, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Beach Resort is a casual and comfortable oceanfront boutique hotel comprised of 38 beachfront rooms in 6 freestanding buildings, set among lush native foliage and sweeping palms. Located on secluded and picturesque Pelican Cove Beach, just 3 miles from quaint historic downtown Christiansted and tourist shopping and just 15 minutes from the island’s main airport.Property amenities at Hibiscus Beach Resort include Freshwater Swimming Pool, Complimentary Pool and Beach Chaise Lounges, Complimentary Pool and Beach Towels, Complimentary Snorkel Equipment, Complimentary Wireless Internet, Beach Hammocks, Beach Volleyball, Daily Maid Service, Lending Library, Free Parking, On-site SecurityGuest Rooms at Hibiscus Beach Resort include Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Terrace or Balcony with lounge furniture, Bathroom amenities (shampoos, lotions), Iron/Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, Coffee Maker with complimentary coffee, creamer and sugar, Alarm Clock, Telephone (most rooms), Cable TV, and also include a Mini-Fridge.Hibiscus Beach Resort is located in Christiansted, St Croix, approximately 8 miles or 15 minutes from the island’s main airport, and approximately 3 miles from the old historic and tourist district of Christiansted. The North shore proximity of Hibiscus Beach Resort just minutes from both the airport and downtown Christiansted provide easy access to island destinations. The Eastern-facing direction of our property also affords stunning island and coastal views, as well as the near-constant Caribbean trade winds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Hibiscus Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Beach Hotel Christiansted
Hotel Hibiscus Beach
Hibiscus Beach Christiansted
Hibiscus Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.