We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Places like this make the BEST memories!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hibiscus Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hibiscus Beach Resort
4131 La Grande Princesse | North shore, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Places like this make the BEST memories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Unfortunately we had to leave this place! For days Ive been rehearsing in my head all the things that i have to say about the Hibiscus, but i feel like there's nothing that i could say to truly describe how happy we are that we came!

First let me start off and say this, prior to us going, i would read the good and bad reviews about the Hibiscus resort. Although i was really excited, i was really hoping that we wouldn't run into the "problems" that other people complained about. My opinion NOW is that, you cant go off of what people say, i feel like half of the negative reviews were either A) False or B) people who just love to nit pick at the small stuff! Of coarse i could say how there were bumps and scratches here and there, but the overall quality of not only the room itself, but the employees, exceeded our expectations! We came to relax and have a GREAT time, not to complain about how "dated" the bathroom is or how old the tv's were. WHO CARESSS?? There's so much that this places offers that you forget about the small stuff!

We stayed at the Hibiscus resort for 7 days, this was my first "Caribbean" vacation and my first vacation with my boyfriend. We didn't know what to expect, but we were treated by the staff as if we've known them for years and years! I mean these people go out their way to make sure that you are having a good time! MARSHA and RASHEEMA at the front desk are the sweetest women i have ever met. They are the type of people who seem like no matter what you do, they would never get upset! LOL Anything you need, they'll make sure it happens!

We enjoyed our time at the bar where we were treated to good drinks and yummy food. I will say that food on this island inst cheap, an average meal ran us $35 a meal. "FUNBOY" makes the BESTTT pina coladas!! The other bartenders were just as nice! Each night at the bar was filled with friendly people, and most of the time live music. We NEVER had noise problems and our building was attached to the restaurant/bar. The best night is "Taco Tuesdays" $10 all u can eat tacos made however you want! The breakfast is amazing! You have to get Miss Aggies coconut french toast. My boyfriend loved the "salt-fish" omelet and home fries! "POW" (?) was so funny and nice, he told us great stories about life in st.croix and convinced us that maybe we should move there one day LOL

The view from our room was AMAZING! i didn't see any other hotel on the island that had such a view. We had a balcony room (much recommended). The breeze is awesome and goes 24/7. We were never "uncomfortably" hot. Our air conditioner worked fine, our room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels and mopped floors everyday! The beach was nice although some places were a little rocky, we were told by many that that beach was great for snorkeling, must try next time!

Lastly, i spent my birthday in st.croix, and it was the best birthday i have ever had! DANNY and JOHN JR. does a tour around the island to places like the cruzan rum factory, the rainforest to see the "beer drinking pigs", Rainbow beach (the best beach on the island), etc. They took us to see some great sights and took some wonderful pictures! Also they feed you the BESTTTTT rotisserie/smoked chicken from "La Reina" . These guys are so fun and i wouldn't have spent this day any other way!

Leaving this place was so hard! It isn't even a question on whether or not we will be back next year! Maybe even staying longer! I cant wait! See you guys soon!

Room Tip: "balcony rooms have great views and a great breeze"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGroove, General Manager at Hibiscus Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello and thank you. Well, where would I start in replying to this extensive review? I guess just suffice it to say that you covered everything quite nicely and there’s no reason to go back over everything but to simply say, THANKS, and that we are so glad that you had such an exciting and memorable time. We hated to see you go too! Yes, we agree, come back again and stay longer next time! For sure! Smiles and thanks! Marc and Staff -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    94
    38
    20
    26
See reviews for
31
171
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We arrived to a smiling face welcoming us, given clear directions on location of room, pool, and restaurant. Views from all rooms are fabulous. Snorkel equipment was loaned for free and we enjoyed the water at resort, beautiful fish on reef. Room was clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a updated hotel, go somewhere else, if you want to feel at home, go here.

Car is really a must on the island.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGroove, General Manager at Hibiscus Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the title too, Great Customer Service. We do hope that our guests feel right at home here. That’s the type of setting and environment we hope our guests experience. All of our staff know that in the Hospitality industry, guests have many options as to where and how to spend their travel dollars, so although we can’t change some aspects of “Island-Life”, we can always make sure that our hospitality is welcoming and sincere. Thanks for your photos too. Smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hibiscus Beach Resort in May 2013. Overall our stay was everything that we expected. The previous reviews were pretty much accurate. I booked the trip as a birtday gift for my boyfriend months in advance. Before arriving I did request an upstairs room however, upon arriving we were told that there were no rooms available upstairs. (ok, not a problem) the office asked if we wanted to come back the next day to see if any rooms opened up but we did not follow up. (we had already unpacked) The rooms were clean although there was an Ant issue so we made sure we didn't drop any crumbs on the floor. The food on the resort and on the entire ISLAND was amazing!! A++, yes it was pricey but well worth it. Outiside of the food, there wasn't much for us to do at the resort (night entertainment, activities etc). So we spent lots of money taking the taxi into town. We even went to the beach in town (Hotel on the Cay) where there is less sea weed ,a bar, food and just a nice atmosphere. While in town we were able to try some authentic Island food from Bradys and Singh's both which were amazing. We also stoped at a little shop on the strip to get Almond-Rum milkshakes which were also AMAZING! The resort does have a dog on the premises that usually stayed by the bar/eating area or on the beach. My boyrfriend did not mind the dog, but I did not think it was appropriate for a dog to be there (just my opinnion) if you are animal lover then you will love it! We stayed at the Hibiscus for 4nights and unfortunately, if we do return back to the island we will probally stay at Hotel on the Cay or somewhere else with more activities and night entertainment and so we can save on taxi money/rental's . We look forward to dinning at Hibiscus to eat some coconut-rum french toast and cod-fish omlete yummmmm! (my favorite)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGroove, General Manager at Hibiscus Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry if we were not able to accommodate your upstairs request. We are very diligent in trying to accommodate requests but are unable to fulfill all of them, naturally. But we do try, for sure. Oh, it’s OK if you might elect to stay at a hotel closer to the historic downtown if that is the vibe you are looking for. St Croix doesn’t really have “nightclubs” or things of that nature, but there is more evening activity along the boardwalk and in the old historic district (although the parking can be maddening, ha). We know we would never be the ideal hotel for every traveler. But we do have many thousands of happy and satisfied guests every year. And whether it's a one-time visit or a repeat guest, we appreciate all of you. Smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Hibiscus is low-key, clean and relaxing. Best part was having the beach right outside our door and the convenience of the pool being steps away. Big shout out to Marsha, Marsha, Marsha! She was very helpful in resolving a few issues. Couldn't get her to sing karaoke with me..maybe next trip. Danny was helpful in giving us tips for various island spots to visit. We were invited to a lobster cookout next door to the Hibiscus.They were very generous and a good time was had by all. Mike with the dragon tattoo introduced us to a Roti. We found Singh's on our way to the airport and had a chicken Roti. Very good! Laurie and MIke the bartenders were friendly.

The restaurant is open air with seating next to the bar. Very laid back and casual. Breaksfast was the best meal. Angela and Doris were the best, always service with a smile.

There are fins, masks and snorkels to borrow. .

We had a car for the week, highly recommended. We were able to visit several beaches and visited the Botanical Gardens, Frederiksted, Udall, the easternmost point in the United States. If you are headed to Frederiksted make sure you stop by Armstrong's Homemade Ice-cream. Etty, the owner, was helpful in making sure we found our way to the Botanical Gardens.

While in Christiansted you must do Big Beards tour to Buck Island. Capt. Steve and his crew were awesome. We did a full day trip and had a blast. Our tour ended with a bbq on the beach. Awesome, Awesome time!

I enjoyed my vacation and would stay at the Hibiscus again. If you go be on the lookout for Gunther, a local favorite.

Thanks to Marc for ordering the beautiful weather ;)

SBG/BAS

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGroove, General Manager at Hibiscus Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hey you guys, we can’t thank you enough for having visited us again. I’m delighted to know that you would return again too. This is a great review filled with informative and useful tips for other guests. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Oh, and sure no problem on the weather – I place a call for good weather every day – and 95% of the time I get a guarantee for Sunny and Breezy, ha! (Sometimes I get a busy signal and we have a bit of rain though, ha!) Thanks again, we appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hibiscus Beach Resort is absolutely amazing. Upon arrival you are welcomed with warm smiles and sea air. The rooms are very clean and honestly for being inches away from sand, there wasn't a speck in the room! After our travels, we immediately went to the bar.. (we're in the islands, must have some drinks) :) We were welcomed by Lori who has nothing but smiles and great mixing skills. (ask for the Cruzan Confusion - you will not be disappointed) Danny came and said his hello and informed us about a house tour that they offer. THIS IS A MUST DO! The tour was absolutely amazing and in all honesty the most fun we have had in ages. You get to see everything from the Cruzan Rum Factory, to the Beer drinking pigs at The Domino Club as well as Rainbow Beach (totally AWESOME snorkeling) and a historic sugar mill. The history of the island is awesome and with great tour guides (Jr. and Danny) it was amazing. They are very knowledgeable about the island and its history and know of many postcard picture sights.

The food at Hibiscus, all I can say is WOW! Miss Angela greets you with a "Good Mornin' and how are you my dear" nothing but smiles and pleasantries. The coconut crusted French toast is a MUST, as is the raspberry Key lime cheesecake. :)

The beach is awesome, there are some rocks because there is a great reef just off the shoreline. Would recommend some water shoes to walk around on the beach. $7.99 at K-Mart in town. It is WELL WORTH IT. (You may even see Stoli, the Hibiscus pup playing fetch with a coconut or trying to dig up a crab..) There is lots to do, the resort has snorkeling gear and fins as well as beach towels at the front desk.

We didn't rent a car, we wanted to just get away. The taxi vans are decently priced. The front desk has numbers and the taxi drivers are great!! We got a little tour each time we went out. (ask for Rupert - he is awesome!) Make sure you have cash, as that's all the taxi's take.

We can't wait for our next trip to St. Croix. Hibiscus Beach Resort is a diamond amongst the shoreline. If you want a romantic get away or just a get away period this is DEFINITELY where you want to go. It is not a huge industrial place where you are 1 of 200. This is a place where everyone knows each other and you feel like one of the family.

A HUGE thanks to everyone at Hibiscus, especially John Jr, Danny, Mike, Jack, Lori, Angela, and the many, many others that made our anniversary a special one. We know that we have made life long friends. We strongly recommend Hibiscus. You WILL NOT be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, all of the rooms have awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGroove, General Manager at Hibiscus Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you. No we are not a sprawling mega-resort with hundreds or thousands of guests at any one given time. This also means that there will be days when you think you’re the only one on the beach! (Don’t we all like somewhat of a secluded beach to ourselves every now and then?). St Croix has much more of a familiar, intimate vibe to it. We’re not overly commercialized, we’re not crawling with tourists, we don’t have the typical bazaars where the vendors hawk their wares, so it’s a totally different and unique experience. Thanks for all the information in your review. We are so pleased to know you are excited about coming back. There’s something special in finding a getaway where you feel like you are truly “home away from home”. Great photos too. Smiles and thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Hibiscus was a quaint, very relaxing place with reasonable prices. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and so were all the people on the Island of St. Croix. The rooms could use some upgrades but overall it was clean and comfortable. We would return since it was right on the water/beach and the price was good. Swimming is a little difficult because of the seagrass and rocks, a short walk will take you to some good swimming spots.

N&V, Oviedo/Apopka, FL

Room Tip: First floor rooms for direct access to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGroove, General Manager at Hibiscus Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with other possible tourists. We appreciate your patronage! Smiles from sunny St Croix – Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I had my very first tropical island vacation here and I am very glad I did! I liked the fact that this was not your typical tourist resort and that it wasn't overcrowded (unlike some other nearby resorts whose service was not nearly as good) All of the hotel staff members were very friendly and if there were any issues, they were fixed immediately. I loved the events at the Hotel, especially the karaoke night and Taco Night which had an excellent band. Even the owner got up and sang a few songs with the band and he was amazing! The food and drinks were also excellent especially the conch fritters, mahi mahi, coconut and lime and the cherry lime concoction that Jack the owner made. I was able to get to know the staff on a first name basis such as the owner Jack, bartender Lori, tour guide Danny, waitress Toni and the front desk attendant Rashema. You all became my family away from home and I appreciate that! I will definitely be returning to Hibiscus!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandGroove, General Manager at Hibiscus Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for your kind words about some of our staff. I’ll be sure they are posted so the staff is aware. I am very glad that your visit was so enjoyable. We do have different events on different days and at different times of the year, so I’m glad that you found some things that fit with you. It’s hard sometimes to know what travelers may be looking for: Some guests come to the tropics with the expectations of quiet lazy days with brilliant sun basking them in warmth and quiet nights listening to the crash of waves while gazing at the twinkling stars above. And that’s available here on many days and nights. Other guests are looking for a more exciting and stimulating experience, with adventure and fun during the day and lively entertainment and excitement in the evenings, and that’s available here as well. We try to attain a fairly good mix of both.

I’m glad that for what you were looking for, you were pleased and that you did feel like we became family and that you will be coming back. We do so appreciate all of our return guests.

Thank you for having chosen Hibiscus for your lodging needs while on St Croix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Beach Resort

Address: 4131 La Grande Princesse | North shore, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Beach Resort is a casual and comfortable oceanfront boutique hotel comprised of 38 beachfront rooms in 6 freestanding buildings, set among lush native foliage and sweeping palms. Located on secluded and picturesque Pelican Cove Beach, just 3 miles from quaint historic downtown Christiansted and tourist shopping and just 15 minutes from the island’s main airport.Property amenities at Hibiscus Beach Resort include Freshwater Swimming Pool, Complimentary Pool and Beach Chaise Lounges, Complimentary Pool and Beach Towels, Complimentary Snorkel Equipment, Complimentary Wireless Internet, Beach Hammocks, Beach Volleyball, Daily Maid Service, Lending Library, Free Parking, On-site SecurityGuest Rooms at Hibiscus Beach Resort include Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Terrace or Balcony with lounge furniture, Bathroom amenities (shampoos, lotions), Iron/Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, Coffee Maker with complimentary coffee, creamer and sugar, Alarm Clock, Telephone (most rooms), Cable TV, and also include a Mini-Fridge.Hibiscus Beach Resort is located in Christiansted, St Croix, approximately 8 miles or 15 minutes from the island’s main airport, and approximately 3 miles from the old historic and tourist district of Christiansted. The North shore proximity of Hibiscus Beach Resort just minutes from both the airport and downtown Christiansted provide easy access to island destinations. The Eastern-facing direction of our property also affords stunning island and coastal views, as well as the near-constant Caribbean trade winds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hibiscus Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Beach Hotel Christiansted
Hotel Hibiscus Beach
Hibiscus Beach Christiansted
Hibiscus Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.