We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service with a smile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tamarind Reef Resort to your Saves list
Tamarind Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free nt.+ $800 coupons
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best service with a smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We didn't stay at the Tamarind, but went there to rent some snorkeling gear. Mimi (at the rental hut on the beach) was incredibly friendly and helpful and let us know that the conditions on that beach weren't ideal for snorkeling at that time, but she suggested that we rent a kayak and go across to Green Cay to snorkel there. She rented us the equipment, let us store our belongings there (since it's not recommended to leave things in your car in St. Croix), let us use her personal cell phone because ours weren't working, and even stayed late at work to wait for us to get back from kayaking (allowing us plenty of time to enjoy Green Cay)! She went above and beyond to make our last day in St. Croix amazing. Next time we go, we'll be staying there!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    53
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
38
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is very clean and pretty,great views ,feels like the Caribbean .But the pool bar restaurant is the star. We were expecting the typical bar food but we were surprised to find some of the most awesome food I have had in the Islands. Fresh fish,great fresh salads ,everything we have had has been awesome. The atmosphere is very laid back and friendly. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We asked for a second floor room,view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Tamarind Reef for 4 nights over Columbus Day Weekend 2013. The rooms are huge, plenty of space to move around. All rooms are ocean front. Beach was rocky for swimming, but the snorkel trail was excellent, and we went snorkeling every day. We took the complimentary kayaks over to Green Cay Island, and did a chartered snorkel over to Buck Island, that was the hit of the trip. Crystal clear water and a sugary sand beach. Even though the Tamarind beach is for snorkeling, just a short kayak trip around the corner takes you to a nice sandy beach which was great for swimming. And the day we went we were the only ones on that beach. The Deep End was excellent. We ate all but one meal there. the food was always great. We had one meal at the upscale restaurant at the marina. It was expensive but very good. We actually took some taxis looking for other snorkel spots, but the snorkeling at Tamarind Reef was the best. I found all the employees to be very friendly and accommodating. The weekend we were there they had a " Sunday Funday ". $5.00 burgers and $2.00 beers. Live music, ( an excellent guitar player), and a fun family atmosphere. Lot's of local families with their kids. I would go back in a minute!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindReefResort, Public Relations Manager at Tamarind Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at Tamarind Reef Resort and for taking the time to say such wonderful things about our property, partner businesses and friendly employees. We love what we do and it is always nice to hear that our guests are happy. We look forward to you visiting again soon. If you haven’t already, please go to the home page of our website and sign up for our newsletter. That way you will be sure to receive promotional rates for future visits. We do agree that Tamarind Reef Resort does have some of the best snorkeling on the island of St Croix. We are blessed with a thriving coral reef that includes soft corals which are food for our resident green turtles. We are pleased that you enjoyed both our restaurants, Deep End and The Galleon, and that the entertainment was both enjoyable and family friendly. We strive to be all of that while being your respite of “Tranquility in Nature’s Paradise”. Thank you again for such a positive review. We look forward to you visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Springs, Mississippi
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were staying at another location on the west end up in the rain forest when I became ill with respiratory problems. Looking for a location change and we discovered Tamarind Reef was running an on island special for $99 a night !!! We stayed 4 nights. Room was very clean. It was quiet. Right on the sea with good snorkeling. The restaurant has great breakfasts. There are resident iguanas that live in the breakwater rocks ... big ones! There is a small store just down the road that had all the medications I required. Front desk very helpful.

Room Tip: Don't get room 8 ... it's next to the spa and the employees use the porch to smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindReefResort, Public Relations Manager at Tamarind Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Tamarind Reef Resort: Welcome to the Tamarind Family! We look forward to seeing you in the months and years to come. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our wonderful resort at a special rate. We do offer discounts often to guests on our mailing list. Please go to our website and sign up for our newsletter. That way we can stay in touch and offer you and your friend’s special rates. Thank you for sharing that your room was very clean, quiet and right on the sea. We do have a lovely location and like to say that we are Tranquility in Nature’s Paradise! Yes - Deep End Restaurant overlooking the pool and ocean does have great breakfast and is an excellent choice to enjoy lunch, dinner and evening entertainment. Always nice to hear that our front desk staff is helpful and that you were able to find everything you needed. We appreciate your room tip comment about smoking behind the spa. We apologize for any inconvenience. Smoking is not allowed and your comment gave us the opportunity to readdress this policy. Thank you again for taking the time to share your positive experience at Tamarind Reef Resort. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Although I work in the islands, this was my first stay. It is an older property, but a great location. The staff was friendly but not very helpful when I asked for directions to my room. The rooms are large and face the water. My AC sounded like a airplane but managed to c cool my room. The 2 drink coupons for the bar was a nice touch. Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindReefResort, Public Relations Manager at Tamarind Reef Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tamarind Reef Resort. We enjoyed having you stay with us and are pleased that you will return. We agree that the resort has a great location with large rooms facing the water. The oceanfront property comprises over 40 acres including the hotel, beach, marina, restaurants, spa, fitness/banquet center and landscaped grounds. Although not a new property, we take great pride in keeping it well maintained. We sincerely apologize for the noisy air conditioner. Your comfort is important to us. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. The AC unit is being repaired. We are glad that you appreciated the free drink coupons. We’ll be sure to provide those for your next stay too. Per your comment we will also be developing an improved map of the property so that directions will no longer be an issue. Thank you again for your business and for your comments. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roachdale, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Room was spacious and very clean. The view was stunning from our patio. The Deep End bar is where we dined for breakfast lunch and dinner. Thoroughly enjoyed Kenna the bartender and Eric and Lacey as waitstaff . Loved the drink Lime in the Coconut. We had mango glazed BBQ ribs made by Lisa. So very yummy. Beach is rocky but great for snorkeling. Saw blue tang, squid, sea turtles and a baby nurse shark. Mimi at the beach shack is knowledgable and friendly. You will need to rent a car to enjoy other beaches and island activities. Many resident iguana roaming on the property to watch. This resort is a great place to chill out and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 38 upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just spent 8 beautiful days on St. Croix at Tamarind Reef Resort. What a lovely gem outside of the hustle and bustle. Our vacation could not have been more restful and memorable. Hardly a day went by that we didn't grab snorkeling gear and head out right in front of the resort to Tamarind Reef. A lovely beach and adventure shack with knowledgeable and friendly faces to help us get acquainted with the nearby reefs and waterways. "Thanks to Barbara, Brenda & Mimi!" our 17 year old son had never been snorkeling and Barbara got him suited up and off the 1st afternoon of our vacation. The rooms were spacious enough and well appointed - just the right mixture of comfort and style but not stuffy. Every room has a private deck overlooking palm trees and the Caribbean - beautiful! All of the staff were helpful and courteous - the Deep end Bar & Grill is onsite with great food and the Galleon is just next door for more upscale dining - both great! We will return to the friendly island of St. Croix and the quiet beauty at Tamarind Reef Resort!

Room Tip: Small Resort with only 38 rooms - that's what we liked the most. 1st floor rooms have kitchens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort

Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarind Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. Voted 'Best Beach on St. Croix - 2013', this intimate resort features 40 beachfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; business lounge; event center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and motor boat excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.