We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Tamarind Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamarind Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free nt.+ $800 coupons
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Roachdale, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Room was spacious and very clean. The view was stunning from our patio. The Deep End bar is where we dined for breakfast lunch and dinner. Thoroughly enjoyed Kenna the bartender and Eric and Lacey as waitstaff . Loved the drink Lime in the Coconut. We had mango glazed BBQ ribs made by Lisa. So very yummy. Beach is rocky but great for snorkeling. Saw blue tang, squid, sea turtles and a baby nurse shark. Mimi at the beach shack is knowledgable and friendly. You will need to rent a car to enjoy other beaches and island activities. Many resident iguana roaming on the property to watch. This resort is a great place to chill out and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 38 upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    53
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
37
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Michaels, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just spent 8 beautiful days on St. Croix at Tamarind Reef Resort. What a lovely gem outside of the hustle and bustle. Our vacation could not have been more restful and memorable. Hardly a day went by that we didn't grab snorkeling gear and head out right in front of the resort to Tamarind Reef. A lovely beach and adventure shack with knowledgeable and friendly faces to help us get acquainted with the nearby reefs and waterways. "Thanks to Barbara, Brenda & Mimi!" our 17 year old son had never been snorkeling and Barbara got him suited up and off the 1st afternoon of our vacation. The rooms were spacious enough and well appointed - just the right mixture of comfort and style but not stuffy. Every room has a private deck overlooking palm trees and the Caribbean - beautiful! All of the staff were helpful and courteous - the Deep end Bar & Grill is onsite with great food and the Galleon is just next door for more upscale dining - both great! We will return to the friendly island of St. Croix and the quiet beauty at Tamarind Reef Resort!

Room Tip: Small Resort with only 38 rooms - that's what we liked the most. 1st floor rooms have kitchens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Came to this hotel after leaving another due to power problems. The staff, whether at the front desk, house keeping, bar and restaurant or activities director are fantastic. super sweet, informative, fun to talk with and try their very best to make your stay relaxing, entertaining, and enjoyable. you must visit Mimi at the activities stand. Rooms are very clean. House keeper even did our dishes!! Food at the deep end grille was fantastic! You must try the bushwacker drink. The view from your patio is stunning. Calm, peaceful, quiet. The spa was so relaxing. Took us right out on the beach!!! Took out the sour taste out of us from the previous resort. can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Bottom floor so you can have the stove and kitchen units. Stay toward the lower numbers for quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is on the beach! Could not be closer leading to stunning views and great breezes. The facility is very functional & clean but would not consider it 4 or 5 star.

Location is convenient but really need a car to get to the other beaches and activities on the island.

The hotel bar also serves as a restaurant and breakfast is the most fun time there. Often there are international groups and in just a week we were able to meet quite a few people from around the world. The gals who run the restaurant are the BEST. Fun & knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were so close to the ocean, we could almost feel the water. The restaurant is what they said. Great wait staff and bartenders. Food was just what we needed. We were there at Christmas. It was decorated just right. It is not a luxury resort all though the Galleon restaurant is. Another OMG. The best I had on St.Croix the two times we have been there.

Room Tip: They would all be good. We were on the second floor. Great great privacy at night on the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We typically visit St Croix several times a year and decided to spend Easter week at the Tamarind Reef. I came away disappointed because I had read and heard good things about the resort. On the positive side the staff were all very nice but there were not many of them. The rooms are very Spartan but clean. The was a complete lack of material regarding the property, amenities, etc. in the room except for a list of DVD's for rent (go figure). The room had a total of 4 hangers which was a little bit of a problem but drawers were plentiful so not a huge issue. We were in the eastern most building nearest the pool and the WiFi worked poorly most of the time. Not the hotels problem but the cell signal wasn't much better. None of these were deal killers but the bed most definitely was a killer of my ability to sleep. I am reasonably sure I have never in my life slept on a more uncomfortable bed; a lumpy, soft blob of a mattress. Another disconcerting thing was the constant whine of the ac unit. Even with the fan set on auto it ran continuously day and night. It was always apparent when the people in the second floor room returned because their walking around made an usually loud sound. Near the end of our stay the smoke detector started going off and I had to disconnect the battery to stop it. One final negative was the constant smell of sewage in the parking lot outside our building. It really served to kill any desire to eat at the "DEEP END" bar. This was our first stay but based on discussions with others I believe the tough economic times have served to accelerate the facilities deterioration to where it no longer is a first rate resort and that's too bad. For the immediate future we have removed the Tamarind from our short list of places to stay on St Croix.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindReefResort, Public Relations Manager at Tamarind Reef Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. As a resort focused on providing tranquility and relaxation, we are continually striving to create an environment that meets these expectations. When our efforts fall short, it is important that the matter be brought to our attention so that the issue may be resolved. Thank you!

It is always a pleasure to hear when we are doing things right and when we could improve. We are sorry to hear that the guests in the room above you were noisy and that the bed was not to your comfort level. Yet we are pleased to know that our staff treated you well on your Easter holiday weekend.

We sincerely apologize for the odor you experienced. Please be assured that it was not caused by sewage. The smell was coming from the nature preserve to our East. To our understanding it was caused by the extended dry weather, which caused severe evaporation in the salt pond, followed by the Easter rain which re-hydrated the organic matter in the pond. We are happy to report that the air is once again fresh and the extended drought seems to be at an end.

We want to thank you once again for sharing your thoughts. We look forward to exceeding your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grinnell, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just returned from our third stay at Tamarind Reef. We were there 10 years ago, returned last summer and again just last month. We keep coming back because this is the most comfortable and affordable place we’ve found in the Caribbean that includes what we love best about a beach vacation – great cabanas and easy, high-quality snorkeling. The house reef, literally feet from shore, is consistently amazing. It’s the rare snorkel that we don’t see at least one Hawksbill turtle. We’ve also seen Spotted Eagle Rays, Blue Tang, Trumpetfish, a variety of parrotfish, damselfish, and wrasse, the Caribbean Spiny Lobster, Fourspot Butterflyfish, Porcupinefish, Smooth Trunkfish, and Scrawled Filefish among others, many on every snorkel. There are a variety of hard and soft corals, anemone, and urchins, as well as a healthy bed of sea fans. The beach attendants (Mimi, Jerry, Brenda and others) are fantastically helpful and should be credited with making Tamarind Reef such a good experience. This includes maintaining the beach area, having rinse buckets, advising on water conditions and a smooth reef entry and exit, having a good assortment of equipment available, etc.

The rooms are basic but predictable. We’ve never rented one with a kitchen, but we do appreciate the coffee maker and small refrigerator. The beds are comfortable, and we’re pretty picky about that. Our one complaint is that things could be cleaner when we check in, especially in the bathroom. That’s why we rated this as 4 and not 5 stars. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and have been responsive whenever we’ve had a request (e.g., changing light bulbs, more thorough bathroom clean, replace a nonworking phone,…little stuff).

The on-site restaurant has decent food at very reasonable prices. Some menu items are really very good (seared tuna salad is truly high quality), some are just average, but again, the prices are great. It’s worked well for us to do many meals there, and then go to Christiansted a few times each trip for some nicer meals and a change of pace. We’ve never rented a car when we visit because we spend so much time at Tamarind Reef. Even with a few dinner trips out, a trip to a grocery store, an excursion or two and the airport runs we’ve come out ahead.

We’ve recommended Tamarind Reef to friends and family and we’ll certainly be back. The property is an all-around gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort

Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarind Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. Voted 'Best Beach on St. Croix - 2013', this intimate resort features 40 beachfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; business lounge; event center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and motor boat excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.