We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great off-the-beach snorkeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Tamarind Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamarind Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free nt.+ $800 coupons
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Grinnell, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great off-the-beach snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just returned from our third stay at Tamarind Reef. We were there 10 years ago, returned last summer and again just last month. We keep coming back because this is the most comfortable and affordable place we’ve found in the Caribbean that includes what we love best about a beach vacation – great cabanas and easy, high-quality snorkeling. The house reef, literally feet from shore, is consistently amazing. It’s the rare snorkel that we don’t see at least one Hawksbill turtle. We’ve also seen Spotted Eagle Rays, Blue Tang, Trumpetfish, a variety of parrotfish, damselfish, and wrasse, the Caribbean Spiny Lobster, Fourspot Butterflyfish, Porcupinefish, Smooth Trunkfish, and Scrawled Filefish among others, many on every snorkel. There are a variety of hard and soft corals, anemone, and urchins, as well as a healthy bed of sea fans. The beach attendants (Mimi, Jerry, Brenda and others) are fantastically helpful and should be credited with making Tamarind Reef such a good experience. This includes maintaining the beach area, having rinse buckets, advising on water conditions and a smooth reef entry and exit, having a good assortment of equipment available, etc.

The rooms are basic but predictable. We’ve never rented one with a kitchen, but we do appreciate the coffee maker and small refrigerator. The beds are comfortable, and we’re pretty picky about that. Our one complaint is that things could be cleaner when we check in, especially in the bathroom. That’s why we rated this as 4 and not 5 stars. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and have been responsive whenever we’ve had a request (e.g., changing light bulbs, more thorough bathroom clean, replace a nonworking phone,…little stuff).

The on-site restaurant has decent food at very reasonable prices. Some menu items are really very good (seared tuna salad is truly high quality), some are just average, but again, the prices are great. It’s worked well for us to do many meals there, and then go to Christiansted a few times each trip for some nicer meals and a change of pace. We’ve never rented a car when we visit because we spend so much time at Tamarind Reef. Even with a few dinner trips out, a trip to a grocery store, an excursion or two and the airport runs we’ve come out ahead.

We’ve recommended Tamarind Reef to friends and family and we’ll certainly be back. The property is an all-around gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    53
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
37
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a great stay at Tamarind Reef last week! Room was clean and I was pleasantly surprised that we had our own little patio with chairs literally 10 feet from the rolling waves! A beautiful view and a perfect spot to have our coffee in the morning. We were traveling with our teenage son, so it was nice to have a larger room to spread out a little. The room is a little dated, but was neat, clean, and comfortable. We would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We did not stay here but we came to visit twice, once for the crab races, dinner and drinks, the next to snorkel, swim at the pool and get drinks.. Both times enjoyable.. Dont know how the rooms are but the grounds are great for kids... Nice beach area, although rocky at most points, but the little ones enjoyed there time, while mom and dad had drinks while watching the little ones. The bathrooms were clean, and the restaurant was good, bar food, sandwiches, etc. I felt safe here, and did not experience any of the elements that STX sometimes has to offer..

Room Tip: Crab races with the kids, nice pool for the kids, great bar atmosphere with decent food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a delightful stay at Tamarind Reef. We were on 2nd level, beautiful view of the water from balcony and at night lulled to sleep by the waves. Room was big, very clean, bathroom small. A small refrigerator provided but no microwave. The units on 1st floor had them. Outdoor restaurant on site, a great place to chill, food decent and reasonable prices. A great beach to snorkel but not to walk, kayaks provided free along with snorkel gear. Several tiki huts provided with chairs on beach. Close to Christiansted (drive time 10 min.) for dining and shopping. Good wifi. Grounds nicely maintained.

Room Tip: I would choose bottom floor next time. Still private and view fine with added bonus of kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

this was a very nice little hotel apprx. 4 km outside Christiansted, St. Croix. The room was big with 2 big beds. We stayed a first floor and had an amazing view over the sea. There are both a nice pool and a friendly small beach from where you could snorkle. Snorkling gear and banana canues were free off charges when you stayed at the hotel. Breakfast was not plenty but well served by very friendly staff. Dinner was very good. At the restaurant free mosquito spray was offered and I needed it :-) All in all a nice hotel but a little worn down. There were no public busses to town nor hotel shuttlebus, so we spend much money to go by taxi. I recommend this hotel mostly for relaxing. Joane, Roskilde, Denmark

Room Tip: there were less mosquitos on the balcony to rooms on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were 2 families of 2 adults and 2 children each. All people working at the hotel both in reception, housekeeping and gardens are SO nice. Very helpful and very friendly. The rooms are comfortable and clean. All rooms have a great view of the ocean and Buck Island. There is a kitchenette in all rooms with refrigirator and stove to cook your own meals. The bar/restaurant "Deep End" is right by the pool and everyone is very friendly there. People come here both from the hotel, the marina and town to eat. The crab races at the bar on tuesday nights (I think its tuesdays) is a big attraction for kids and families traveling to the island on a regular basis. The foos prices are a bit high and most of the time you have to wait a while for service and food. The kids can run around the pool and there is no traffic apart from a small parking area behind the bar. All in all it was one of the best vacation spots we have ever been to. And we have been to a lot!

Room Tip: Without kids I would go for a room on the top floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Åbyhøj, Arhus, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a fantastic 2 weeks stay at Tamarind, and we enjoyed each moment - the cozy breakfasts around Beth at the bar - the beach with its cute iguanas, and the Sun Fun Hut and its friendly staff who always had time to explain about the wildlife and the ocean. We went on nice trips in their ocean kayaks, when we did not simply enjoy the sun and watch the pelicans and frigate birds. The rooms was more like a flat, with a small kitchen, but we never cooked - the Deep End restaurant had a fine kitchen with good prices and a very lay-back and informal atmosphere. The resort is located, as the name indicates, on a reef between the ocean and a laguna, with a fine marina as next door neighbor, but even thought the area is so peaceful and relaxed, it is close to Christiansted and not very far from shopping.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view, the choice is between ground floor with terrace and first floor with balc...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort

Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarind Reef Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. Voted 'Best Beach on St. Croix - 2013', this intimate resort features 40 beachfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; business lounge; event center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and motor boat excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.