We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and cosy hotel with pleasant atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina to your Saves list
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Roskilde
1 review
“Small and cosy hotel with pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

this was a very nice little hotel apprx. 4 km outside Christiansted, St. Croix. The room was big with 2 big beds. We stayed a first floor and had an amazing view over the sea. There are both a nice pool and a friendly small beach from where you could snorkle. Snorkling gear and banana canues were free off charges when you stayed at the hotel. Breakfast was not plenty but well served by very friendly staff. Dinner was very good. At the restaurant free mosquito spray was offered and I needed it :-) All in all a nice hotel but a little worn down. There were no public busses to town nor hotel shuttlebus, so we spend much money to go by taxi. I recommend this hotel mostly for relaxing. Joane, Roskilde, Denmark

Room Tip: there were less mosquitos on the balcony to rooms on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    69
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
61
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
København, Danmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were 2 families of 2 adults and 2 children each. All people working at the hotel both in reception, housekeeping and gardens are SO nice. Very helpful and very friendly. The rooms are comfortable and clean. All rooms have a great view of the ocean and Buck Island. There is a kitchenette in all rooms with refrigirator and stove to cook your own meals. The bar/restaurant "Deep End" is right by the pool and everyone is very friendly there. People come here both from the hotel, the marina and town to eat. The crab races at the bar on tuesday nights (I think its tuesdays) is a big attraction for kids and families traveling to the island on a regular basis. The foos prices are a bit high and most of the time you have to wait a while for service and food. The kids can run around the pool and there is no traffic apart from a small parking area behind the bar. All in all it was one of the best vacation spots we have ever been to. And we have been to a lot!

Room Tip: Without kids I would go for a room on the top floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Åbyhøj, Arhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a fantastic 2 weeks stay at Tamarind, and we enjoyed each moment - the cozy breakfasts around Beth at the bar - the beach with its cute iguanas, and the Sun Fun Hut and its friendly staff who always had time to explain about the wildlife and the ocean. We went on nice trips in their ocean kayaks, when we did not simply enjoy the sun and watch the pelicans and frigate birds. The rooms was more like a flat, with a small kitchen, but we never cooked - the Deep End restaurant had a fine kitchen with good prices and a very lay-back and informal atmosphere. The resort is located, as the name indicates, on a reef between the ocean and a laguna, with a fine marina as next door neighbor, but even thought the area is so peaceful and relaxed, it is close to Christiansted and not very far from shopping.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view, the choice is between ground floor with terrace and first floor with balc...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

wow. beutifully manicured property adjacent to the gorgeous caribbean sea. simply charming. amazing bar/pool area, superb snorkeling, amazing ocean front rooms and super friendly staff make this property a true gem. no hustle and bustle, as this place is the true deffinition of chill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyd this resort throughly, and it was an excellent value.

The room (king size bed) had an average stand-up shower, but a big spacious room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The bed was pretty good, and the room was averagely furnished. There was wifi, a safe, a TV with basic cable, and a mini-fridge. By main land USA standards, a great three-star hotel.

Their service at the front desk was great and they were extremely helpful. We only ate breakfast at the restaurant, and the woman running the restaurant in the morning was extremely nice and very, very helpful.

The beach was great for snorkeling, and they let you use their gear for free (The Buccaneer uses their beach for snorkeling, no lie.)

As for the honeymoon package, I would totally recommend it: free t-shirt, free drinks (2), a Buck Island snorkeling and nature tour (awesome, awesome, AWESOME!), and a bottle of champagne.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently spent an entire week at Tamarind Reef and truly enjoyed everything about it. It's rare to find a hotel where every room is oceanfront like this one. The rooms are big and have wonderful patios to enjoy that oceanfront view. We liked that the hotel was a few miles from the center of town. It was close enough to drive to restaurants and shopping while also being far enough from the hustle and bustle of town as a secluded resort and beach.

We also got married at the beach area of the hotel and the staff was very accommodating when we didn't even ask for anything. It was just my husband and I and we mentioned it in passing to the hotel's beach activity/hospitality person, Mimi, on the same day we planned to have our ceremony. The staff, especially Mimi, went out of their way to make our day special. The beach area at Tamarind has many great spots for a little ceremony like we had.

The restaurant and bar are also excellent. Food was very good and drinks were delicious. The staff and locals that hang out there all make you feel like they've known you for years; so warm and friendly.

We drove around to some of the other hotels in the area and for the price we paid, the location, etc., we were definitely glad we chose Tamarind and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I visited here in Feb/2012 on his business travel, and I fell in love with the property so that I called home while still on vacation and started planning a trip for the whole family in July. Our group of 14 people from ages 14-74 loved it and still talking about it a month later.

My husband travels a lot with his job, I also am busy with my catering business and running teens to all their sports and activites, so a vacation at the Tamarind is a true 'chill out' vacation. We own our own place at a very popular beach in SC, and we love visiting monthly, but it still is a busy tourist pace... St Croix and the Tamarind Reef is not! all about and nothing else but relaxing by the natural beauty of the island.-OCEANFRONT EVERY ROOM!

The 3 senior members of the group just happy to relax in the shade by the pool and watching the gentle ocean waves, the moms laid out on the quiet beach, the 20's and teens snorkeled the reef right in front of the beach, dads joined their sons for tennis nightly, and EVERYONE was mesmorized by the sailboats leaving the adjacent marina daily and sailing to the islands across the way- So, much we booked our own Charter and sailed to the white beaches of Buck Island and snorkeled the trail with a guide Mimi at the beach shack recommended-AWESOME. She also advised us on the best restaurants/activities during our visit, SO valuable.

The whole group loved to walk just steps from their room to the Deep End Bar cafe for yummy pancake breakfast or sleep in and enjoy something in their own frig (We booked the double queen rooms with eff kitchens). Many times we would throw on our coverups ,take a break from the beach and grab a burger-so covenient and very reasonably priced for families. Service is slow, like all of St Croix, so you gotta go with the flow and leave the uptight mainland pace at home. Think Beach Cabana mode. Ate there 2 nights and food always varied and good-they really try to give you fresh seafood and homeland favorites.

Tamarind is very close to town, so easy to run into town with your rental car and grab groceries, shop at the few stores on boardwalk of Christainsted, or eat out in one of their open air restaurants on the water.

Room Tip: Off season is April-October, and you can have a nice double queen room or king room with efficiency...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
2.4 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#2 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
10.7 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. Voted 'Best Beach on St. Croix - 2013', this intimate resort features 40 oceanfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; business lounge; event center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and motor boat excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.