We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Three-Star Resort! (Get the Vacation Packages)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina to your Saves list
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Nt + $1,000 Booklet
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Three-Star Resort! (Get the Vacation Packages)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyd this resort throughly, and it was an excellent value.

The room (king size bed) had an average stand-up shower, but a big spacious room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The bed was pretty good, and the room was averagely furnished. There was wifi, a safe, a TV with basic cable, and a mini-fridge. By main land USA standards, a great three-star hotel.

Their service at the front desk was great and they were extremely helpful. We only ate breakfast at the restaurant, and the woman running the restaurant in the morning was extremely nice and very, very helpful.

The beach was great for snorkeling, and they let you use their gear for free (The Buccaneer uses their beach for snorkeling, no lie.)

As for the honeymoon package, I would totally recommend it: free t-shirt, free drinks (2), a Buck Island snorkeling and nature tour (awesome, awesome, AWESOME!), and a bottle of champagne.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    67
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
55
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently spent an entire week at Tamarind Reef and truly enjoyed everything about it. It's rare to find a hotel where every room is oceanfront like this one. The rooms are big and have wonderful patios to enjoy that oceanfront view. We liked that the hotel was a few miles from the center of town. It was close enough to drive to restaurants and shopping while also being far enough from the hustle and bustle of town as a secluded resort and beach.

We also got married at the beach area of the hotel and the staff was very accommodating when we didn't even ask for anything. It was just my husband and I and we mentioned it in passing to the hotel's beach activity/hospitality person, Mimi, on the same day we planned to have our ceremony. The staff, especially Mimi, went out of their way to make our day special. The beach area at Tamarind has many great spots for a little ceremony like we had.

The restaurant and bar are also excellent. Food was very good and drinks were delicious. The staff and locals that hang out there all make you feel like they've known you for years; so warm and friendly.

We drove around to some of the other hotels in the area and for the price we paid, the location, etc., we were definitely glad we chose Tamarind and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I visited here in Feb/2012 on his business travel, and I fell in love with the property so that I called home while still on vacation and started planning a trip for the whole family in July. Our group of 14 people from ages 14-74 loved it and still talking about it a month later.

My husband travels a lot with his job, I also am busy with my catering business and running teens to all their sports and activites, so a vacation at the Tamarind is a true 'chill out' vacation. We own our own place at a very popular beach in SC, and we love visiting monthly, but it still is a busy tourist pace... St Croix and the Tamarind Reef is not! all about and nothing else but relaxing by the natural beauty of the island.-OCEANFRONT EVERY ROOM!

The 3 senior members of the group just happy to relax in the shade by the pool and watching the gentle ocean waves, the moms laid out on the quiet beach, the 20's and teens snorkeled the reef right in front of the beach, dads joined their sons for tennis nightly, and EVERYONE was mesmorized by the sailboats leaving the adjacent marina daily and sailing to the islands across the way- So, much we booked our own Charter and sailed to the white beaches of Buck Island and snorkeled the trail with a guide Mimi at the beach shack recommended-AWESOME. She also advised us on the best restaurants/activities during our visit, SO valuable.

The whole group loved to walk just steps from their room to the Deep End Bar cafe for yummy pancake breakfast or sleep in and enjoy something in their own frig (We booked the double queen rooms with eff kitchens). Many times we would throw on our coverups ,take a break from the beach and grab a burger-so covenient and very reasonably priced for families. Service is slow, like all of St Croix, so you gotta go with the flow and leave the uptight mainland pace at home. Think Beach Cabana mode. Ate there 2 nights and food always varied and good-they really try to give you fresh seafood and homeland favorites.

Tamarind is very close to town, so easy to run into town with your rental car and grab groceries, shop at the few stores on boardwalk of Christainsted, or eat out in one of their open air restaurants on the water.

Room Tip: Off season is April-October, and you can have a nice double queen room or king room with efficiency...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We arrived at STX a day late. My mood was less than great do to the fact that i had to stay in Miami overnight. We shared a taxi with three other people (actually it was a van) to the Tamarind Reef Hotel. As soon as i arrived my mood rejuvenated. We stayed on the first floor in room 23, which placed us steps from the pool and the Deep End Resturant. The room was super clean, and had the most spectacular view of the ocean. We putted around the property and met a woman named Mimi. Within seconds we were yammering away about the island and where we were from. It was a delight. She advised us to drink this concoction called a "Bushwhacker". I'm not one for chocolate drinks but trust me this was a drink to order. The beach is definitely not for swimming but it more than made up with it's breathtaking snorkeling. my favorite part of the trip was the Iguanas ambling around the property, they were as laid back as the staff. The meals were tasty and well priced and you couldn't pay for better atmosphere. The downtown area was deserted but this is the off season, so what can you expect. We picked up some great souveniers from the Purple Papaya gift shop, and took loads of photos. Overall if you are looking for a quiet super friendly, super romantic, affordable getaway, there is no place like the Tamarind Reef Hotel, Spa, and Marina.........Try the Bushwhacker it's great. :)

Room Tip: stay in the rooms closest to the pool and resturant, you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penwell, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for four nights last month and had a terrific time. The rooms were clean and quiet and had beautiful views. The bathroom was a little grimy, but the room itself was spacious and nicely appointed. Also, I was not a fan of the separation inserts used for each balcony, but it sufficed.
The beach was large. The thatched roof cabanas were neat and there was ample room for all guests. Jerry and his daughter, who run the snorkel/kayak stand were wonderful! All these amenities were free for guests. Every day we either kayaked to Green Cay and explored or snorkeled around the resort. There were some awesome iguanas by the beach, which kept us busy and the hammocks were a plus. The concrete "reef" was an eyesore, but it made a nice home for the fish and a calm area to dip.
I didn't like the restaurant, The Deep End, so we went to other places around the island after eating there the first night. Their spa didn't keep any semblance of hours because it was the off-season, which was a bummer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here with a family member that was getting married. She is a native of St. Croix and I love visiting the island. The view from our room was specatular!! The room was very comfortable and clean. The room was also near the pool. We had a great location and amazing view of the ocean. When on St. Croix visit the Tamarind Reef Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The hotel is outstanding. Everyone is super nice there. Each room has their own balcony. The bathroom is a little small. One thing is that there isn't any elevators. It is right on the ocean.

When you order food at the bar area, they are slow bringing it out to you.

My family went to St. Croix for my cousin's wedding. It was held at Tamarind, on the beach. The staff did a super job.

I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone that visits St. Croix.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#2 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
10.7 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. Voted 'Best Beach on St. Croix - 2013', this intimate resort features 40 oceanfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; business lounge; event center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and motor boat excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.