We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Relax Enjoy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Tamarind Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarind Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free night $100 coupon
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Islip, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location! Relax Enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The rooms are large and nicely appointed. All rooms seem to have a patio or balcony looking out onto the ocean. The beach has all the right ingredients; water, sand, sun, free lounge chairs, shaded canopies and even a couple of hammocks. The beach shack offers hotel guests free use of kayaks and snorkle gear. Swimming in the ocean is a challange due to the rocks and coral but there is a small cleared area. Wear water shoes, swim in the pool, stick to snorkeling or kayak out to the island or neighboring beach. The Deep End has some nice offerings and a good "happy hour".

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    51
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
34
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Travelled all over the world, and most relaxing vacation ever experienced. This is not your uptight, dress to impress commercial resort. This is a true casual 'beach' place thats all about the easy going ST Croix surroundings ,beautiful blue water, gorgeous sunsets..you can almost jump into the water from your deck!
They thought of all you need- a basic cabana room with a stunning view of the carribean, comfy beds, coffee maker and mini frig, pool towels , wifi and cable tv. Walk a few feet and the poolside bar serves from gourmet burgers, steaks, fajitas to fresh mahi and spring rolls, plus homemade desserts by the chef. I am a caterer and very impressed,everything I had was delicious and fresh and prices were half of the restaurants in town. Walk next door to your private beach, free snorkel equipment and kayaks, or lay in the hammocks with a good book. Catch a ride on a catamaran to Buck Island at the marina. Get a massage at the Spa. But leave the resort wear and heels at home-everyone else will be in tshirts and trunks. This was an anniverasry trip, but will bring the kids next , they would love the Iguanas!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, Alabama
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

What a refreshing place to visit!! Our trip was business and pleasure. We enjoyed this hotel, the Deep End and the beach! The Deep End serves all meals and is an awesome place to meet locals and return visitors. This was awesome in that I was on my own at times without a vehicle. Mimi at the Beach Shack was more than helpful and made our trip! We had never snorkeled or kayaked and she made sure that we were successful! Although the hotel is quaint, I have never slept in a cleaner bed! It seemed almost new! We will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This trip was for business and pleasure, and I have previously stayed at the Renaissance in Carambola. I really enjoyed this hotel, everyone was very helpful (including allowing me to check in early at 10 am). My room was on par with what is on the websites, no ants or anything of that sort, it was clean and comfortable.

The A/C unit is a bit loud, but you can still hear the ocean since you are 30' away. The restaurant was decent for breakfast and affordable for St. Croix.

All in all, I actually liked Tamarind better than Carambola for it's location.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are oceanfront, but the last section of rooms I liked the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This was my first trip to the island and Tamarind Reef Hotel was perfect. It was a bit secluded; not over-crowded or touristy, which is what I wanted. The hotel staff was wonderful, especially Jerry and Mimi at the Fun Sun Hut. They helped me with snorkel gear and accessories and were able to answer any questions about St. Croix and how to get around or where to go - they're the best! The Deep End Restaurant/Bar was great - good food and fun staff! It is popular with locals so it was nice to meet new people and get ideas on island events. My room was nice with a perfect view; always clean and I could open my slider to hear the ocean outside. The only downside was the beach is very rocky so you have to swim out some to get clear water but the snorkeling is amazing! It's all good. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio resident
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed a couple of nights. Room was spacious but needed a makeover. Rusty fridge, noisy ceiling fan and ac unit. Patio separated from next door patio by fabric divider. Little ants (or something similar) running around night stands.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel,CT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Had the best trip of 7 over 18 years to St Croix. Staff was the best I've EVER experienced. Room, food and service were absolutely great.
Pictures don't do it justice. It was much nicer than anticipated. 5 minutes from Christiansted.

Room Tip: Food is excellent and reasonably priced. Don't see the need for a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort

Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarind Reef Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. Voted 'Best Beach on St. Croix - 2013', this intimate resort features 40 beachfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; business lounge; event center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and motor boat excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.