We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful memories made here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Hotel on the Cay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful memories made here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

My husband and I got married here in June 2000. It was a beautiful wedding on the beach at sunset under the palm trees, truly storybook. Then my son got married in July of 2007 and we returned here for a visit. It truly is quaint, quiet, calming and very islandy. You have to take a small boat to get to the hotel. It's only a 3 minute ride to the island and it is self contained with a small outside bar, food, restrooms and watersports right on the beach. It is older and not updated so don't be surprised when you see the wooden slats in your door allowing the tradewinds to cool you at night. You don't need an air conditioner! There isn't anything other than this place on the island so it is isolated and I felt very safe. Enjoy the rum in every flavor!

Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    146
    59
    31
    17
See reviews for
52
152
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Sure the hotel needs some updating but the location is awesome!!!

It was HOT in our room when we checked in and it took all afternoon to cool down. But after the first day it was fine. The water never got hot, just warm, but once you got used to it that was fine. The restaurant and bar was closed which was disappointing but there were plenty of great places to go just across the water. Their famous Tuesday night BBQ on the beach was cancelled but it was low season so not surprising. They offer a Sunday morning shopping trip to a grocery store. The hotel said it was $7 a couple but it turned out to be $7 per person and we could have gotten our own taxi and gone to the grocery store of our choice and not shared a van with a bunch of other people for about the same price. It was no fun to sit and wait an hour on the others to finish their shopping. But hey better get used to the island pace.

The best part of the Hotel on the Cay is either the sunrise or sunset, depending on what side of the hotel you stay on. Sitting on the balcony is GREAT!

The beach is awesome and snoreling amazing. Right at the hotel we saw an octopus, lobster, tuna, sting ray, and all sorts of colorful fish.

The ferry pilots are so friendly. Freddie baked coconut rolls for us and brought us bananas from his yard.

We made some great friends also staying at the hotel. We will go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asotin, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Great view of Fort Christiansted from the cay in the harbour! The quick 3 minute ride on the hotel provided launch back and forth to the dock makes the stay and the seclution all that more enjoyable! The staff and the tours were all fantastic! Thursday night is BBQ night at the bar on the beach. The show and the food were well worth it! The pool was usually deserted and great to relax around! But, the beach was the best of all the features; drink service to your lounge chair, and the snorkeling was great with lots of little fish! Anyone not staying at the hotel pays $5.00 for the round trip launch ride, so keeps the tourist mostly at other beaches. SECLUSION!!!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Yes, the Hotel on the Cay DOES need updating, is not 5-star perfection & you can't play on the tennis courts...BUT you can walk into the water from the tennis courts & see stingray, puffers, mantas, octupus & all sorts of marine life. You can enjoy a 360 view of Christiansted Harbor from the upper part of the HotC property, you can spend the entire day in your swimsuit & still check in w/the office back home (via free wifi). There are several excursions the Hotel offers (via experienced Island guide) so you can easily tour the Island w/out making phone calls, visiting sales offices, etc. Just sign-up @ the front desk. If you're like us, we were after a do-nothing vacation, we found it on HotC...watched the sun rise from bed, snorkeled 3 or 4 times a day right off the HotC beach and watched the sun set. Watersports rental, St Croix Watersports, right on the HotC beach & they were a huge source of helpful information. We rented our snorkel gear for the week & into the water we went.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Just got home from a great trip to St. Croix. I have been to all three US virgin islands and love St. Croix the best . Very laid back atmosphere and not busy like the other islands. We found Hotel on the Cay perfect for our needs , the price is the best in the area and it is the only hotel in the area we beach access. The rooms are clean but dated ( you do not come to the islands to hole up in your room though !) The staff is great and very helpful. We were concerned about the boat you have to take to get to the hotel but it is no big deal and actually a fun short ride. The captains on the boat are great and can help you with anything you might need. We didn't have any problems with water pressure like a few people mentioned, water is sparce through out st. croix. The internet worked fine but I know some times the signal is weak in some rooms , you just walk up to the terrace and it works fine. Make sure you take a trip to buck island with Captain Big Beard for some of the best snorkleing anywhere in the world. There is good snorkeling at the hotel as well , the east side of the cay is particularly good. Breakfest right where you get off the ferry at the avacodo pitt is a great way to start the day. dinner at rum runners or the brew pub are great options and the tuesday night BBQ on the beach has good food and amazing entertainment.
We loved Hotel on the Cay and wouldn't stay anywhere else. We are heading back in march and can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

The hotel is older and could use some updating. The first room I was in was not acceptable and we moved to a different room and we were happy. The location of the hotel is fantastic. We will go back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We spent a week here and loved every minute of it! The staff is very friendly and helpful but especially the boat captains! We enjoyed the hotel beach and if you have little ones, this beach is perfect for you. No waves, lots of little fish swimming about, soft sand, and we never had more than 10 people on it at any given time. Caution: the cruise ship did arrive on Saturday and as we were leaving, boatloads of people were arriving. So we missed the crowd but there was plenty of room for all. Nice bar and great buffet on Tuesday with entertainment. The hotel is old but clean and our room faced St Croix and it couldn't have been nicer. We had read about trouble with water pressure but I think they have fixed the problem. Internet works on the terrace but I suggest you go up to the terrace and take in the view from the top. The only complaint are the sugar ants and they are everywhere. For us we are used to fire ants so we were amused at their quickness & agility but found them harmless. They were all over and even though we wiped everything down they still came in for a visit. Take a boat ride at night and roam the boardwalk for places to eat dinner. Our favorite place on the island is Rainbow Beach & Rainbow Beach Restaurant and it is a must see! A GREAT restaurant (super nice owners)and bar-order the mahi-mahi sandwich with homemade fries, play checkers/chess on their clever boards, a volleyball court and a gorgeous, sandy beach. Then head back to the Hotel on the Cay and time it so you are on the boat ride at sunset-it is fantastic as you head back to your room. We recommend staying here...it is old but charming, we felt safe at night, and the view from the room can't be beat!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.