We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location-spectacular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Hotel on the Cay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location-spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

I was there for 5 nights and had a great time! Looked over the water every morning with my coffee on the balcony. VERY friendly staff, clean, safe and perfect location. I loved taking the little boat over every night. It was nice to come back and take a quick swim everyday. The best rates on the island fro what you get. Little frig, microwave and toaster oven so you don't have to eat out every meal makes it very economical.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    163
    64
    34
    18
See reviews for
61
173
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

My sister and I were invited to come to St. Croix to hear Fran Marnier play at the local bars and he suggested we stay at the Hotel on the Cay. It was excellent. Everyone was very friendly - the room had an excellent view and the beach was perfect. If you want a relaxed laid back "island" vacation near the restaurants and shopping - I recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Hotel on the Cay in St. Croix is a wonderful place for a reasonably priced vacation in paradise. It is everyone's dream private island. Cruzans are reserved by nature, but they get to know you quickly and give you wonderful friendly service. I really felt looked after. Nice rooms with kitchenette. Comfortable mattresses & clean. The beach is a jewel. I never bothered with the pool. You never have to leave the island except to take the ferry service for dinner in Christiansted unless you prefer to prepare dinner in your room. It is about a 3 minute trip and runs frequently. They also offer terrific tours. Fun entertainment on Tuesdays and Sunday and a weekly grocery store run. You don't need a car! The breakfast/lunch food and drink prices are extremely reasonable as well as delicious! It isn't gourmet but for comfort food it can't be beat. They made the best coleslaw I ever tasted! I wish that it was open for dinner, but with all the boardwalk restaurants so close by, it really didn't matter all that much.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN BERNARDINO,CA.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

The trip St Croix was the first trip for mself and wife.
We went there for a romantic getaway.
As far as Hotel on the Cay-Location,location,location.

Hotel is located near the center of activities;restaurants,shops, etc
I felt safe in the hotel and the surrounding area.

The hotel is located on an island separated from the remainder of the St Croix by the beautiful Caribeean Sea and adjacent is a harbor which houses several small vessels.

The room was clean though dated.

The staff was generally friendly and the captains who man the ferry to get you from shore to the hotel are all knowledgable concerning restaurants and acitivities in St Croix.

Word to the wise ;don't rent a car if you stay there. No parking and taxis are reasonable.

Additionally, bring insect repellent.Mosquitos are a bear in St Croix.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — NEED UPDATE
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

What can say, I am a frequent visitor to St. Croix and Hotel on The Cay, and I love it. True, it is a bit dated, the water pressure is low. Now, there is no parking but with a little of creativity you can find a spot up the road from the King Cristian Hotel just past Sonyas.But the location is perfect. Just a 1 minute ferry ride to the Christianstead boardwalk and lots of bars and places to eat.
It has the ONLY in town beach in Christianstead with a great view of the harbour. The bar has an excellent wait staff with cold drinks and this makes for a perfect day for liming around on the sand. The staff all the way from Sara at the front desk, the maids to the ferry drivers is excellent. You can rent BBQ utensils for $5 and use thire gas grill and have an outdoor BBQ over looking the mainland (the island of St. Crox)They treat you like family with hugs and treats from thier gardens. The restaurant has great food but closes early. A little too early in my opinion. But it is perfect for my late night tradition - a bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel rum on the beach with friends. If you want to be pampered and spoiled go to the Buccaneer. If you want a hotel that is clean, basic with a small refrigerator and a staff that treats you like family, this is the place.

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Disliked — the water pressure
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVINFORALILMOMENT
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

We were weary because of some of the reviews...but DONT LISTEN! We went for our honeymoon july 22-28. We loved it... the hotel needed some work yes, with the running water fountains or whatever and the pool itself...BUT why use the pool when your surrounded by beautiful water? We were there pretty much to sleep. Beautiful views...very clean. THey were there everyday cleaning our room. We snorkeled everyday. Even brought home a hugh conch shell that was right out there in the water. I have nothing but good things to say about st croix as well as hotel on the cay. IF YOUR GOING, def eat at the Bombay Club. Ask for Mikes special drink "Mikes Mai tai" and try the chicken picatta. Absolutely delicious. O and Parrots cove CRUZAN CONFUSION. Ahhh were ready to go back. Relax and enjoy the beautiful st croix...remember its just a place to sleep!

  • Liked — VERY FRIENDLY
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

Well where do i start... Ocean view not till they cut down the weeds, NO internet, NO Parking, NO water Pressure for shower, NO/Little Hot water, Air conditioner leaks all over the floor, Lights out all over the place dark walkways. well lets put it this way they need to spend a lot of money and do some MAJOR updates and upgrades. I would NOT recommend this hotel. I think that the Timeshare rooms may be better.

  • Liked — Not Much
  • Disliked — Most everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.