We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for. Don't pay for this!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Save Saved
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for. Don't pay for this!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place was so bad I can't imagine how it landed at number 6 on Trip Advisor. It's dirty, difficulty to access and there's no where to park. I went in the low season and literally had to park 0.25 miles away just to reach the small ferry to the island.

I got on the grounds and was so put out by the filthy man made stream running thru the middle of the place, and the thumping bass, and the raucous crowd at the tiki bar that I left. I couldn't get a refund and I still left.

If you can afford it don't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    128
    54
    30
    16
See reviews for
46
133
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
waynesville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We visited HOTC again in June for our 5 year anniversary. We were married there on the beach and will always have fond memories. Our group of 10 was not disappointed! You will not find a better hotel for the price in the Caribbean! ($79/night plus taxes and surcharges). Yes, the rooms are in need of an update, but the bathrooms were already updated and the new owners are working on that (new rooms on the way and the model we saw should be a welcome update!).
The rooms were clean, shower was hot and having a microwave, small refrigerator and broiler/toaster was a great added benefit. One couple in our group was placed on the Gallows Bay side and when no rooms were available on the harbor side, John placed them in a suite so our group could enjoy the extra space! (A big thanks to John!).
We took the pre-planned trip into town with "Rudy's" for $7 person and picked up enough supplies for breakfast and lunch for the week. We found everyone on the staff pleasant and helpful, especially Ryan in maintenance filing in for the week.
The ferry boats were always prompt and quick to take you back and forth. We went snorkeling off the beach and saw plenty of fish, turtles, rays and eels.
On the day a cruise ship invaded our paradise, we retreated to the pool area and had the place to ourselves.
In final, we welcome the changes but hope the price remains affordable! I don't thnk you could go wrong with your stay at Hotel on the Cay!

Room Tip: Top floor on the harbor side has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It wasnt a five star hotel, but the price was right and the location grand. The bed was horribly lumpy, They replaced my hair dryer in a timely manner.Bring your own coffee, filters (small round ones) and creamer. Mary has them in the little store on the dock. The view was spectacular ! It was odd.....it seemed 1/2 the staff went above and beyond and the other 1/2 acted like you were bothering them. We loved the ferry captains, most were wonderful guys.....and it was a quick trip to the boardwalk, across the harbor. You have to carry your own luggage from the ferry UP TO the hotel and then UP TO your room. A cart would be nice, maybe in the future they could do that. The pool was nice as was the beach, they kept it clean as its open to the public as well.The food was ok, nothing spectacular. I have food sensitivities and when asked, I was told they had no way of knowing what was in it ! Seriously ? However, the 2nd time I asked (a different server), she went right in and asked. Marina was a wonderful server, very kind, helpful and sweet. Mary in the store, on the dock was very helpful and knows a lot about the island. John, a ferry captain was knowledgable as well and very pleasant. Twin Cities Coffee in town is about the best , with some Vegan food to offer,and by far the best restaurant is Angry Nate's with a very eclectic, creative menu ! If you can, save a few bucks, go to the west end to Frederiksted and see Jennifer at Cruzin' Cowgirls.....I guarantee you will have an amazing beach ride on horseback, that you won't soon forget. Tell her Tina sent you ! And if you Scuba....def go to SCUBA.....for a great dive staff, nice boats and knowledgable staff. We rented a brand new Jeep for about $50 for the day......but unless you're going to the west end you really dont need one, most things are within walking distance. There is a nice quiet spot, most probably dont know about behind the hotel, which overlooks the ocean, great for yoga and meditation. Also the yoga studio in town is amazing !!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 315. I can't really compare it to the other rooms cause its the only one I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The room Floor have a sand. Supose to do ir check in the room its clean, but not. The Floor it dirty. The pool never clean. Don't swim. Best practice snorkling. The staff in the restaurant and bar it not friendly. Very hard to get something. The food have a lot time to cook. Never smile never give you the thanks. Maria's in the Shop Very friendly and hopefull. I think, more motivation and engagement for the staff member. Not
the best People.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hello Ricky M,

Thank you for your feedback It is good to hear that you have enjoyed the variety of offering at the hotel. On the other hand we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay regarding room cleanliness. Rest assured we did inspect your room prior to arrival and the floors were free of debris. Also, the pool is cleaned daily and is maintained to professional standards to ensure enjoyment by all.

I believe it would be helpful to TA readers to also share a separate review under "Harbormaster Restaurant" listing as the restaurant is independent of the hotel and sets their own standards for service delivery.

We wish you the best in your travels and hope to welcome you as a hotel guest the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first "timeshare" vacation and this is where we ended up. Its on a little island of its own. There is a free ferry that brings the hotel guests to and from. The beach is beautiful. Its close to many restaurants and shops. The staff is very, very nice. However, the hotel is in need of a severe overhauling. It needs a lot of TLC. The rooms are adequate. It was nice to have a fridge, microwave, and utensils. The bathroom was tiny. Questionable cleanliness. Hard mattress and pillows. It was just a place to sleep. Use Rudy's Taxi to travel around. Nice to have a hotel bar but we were unsure of the restaurant.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Both fun and functional, this seems to be the place to be centered in Christiansted. It has everything you need to just hang out - food & drinks, pool and beach - and the ferry is always ready to run you over to town - about a two minute trip - with virtually no waiting. Talking to Mary at the gift shop is a delight as is the entire staff at the bar and snack bar. Best of all, John the new manager, is one of the most accommodating hosts I have ever encountered. He arranged a quick, convenient and very good breakfast for our early morning dive group each day and talking to him about his past and background was even more interesting than reading the morning paper. How often do you get "Don't Stop the Carnival" anecdotes from a PHD candidate over bacon and bagels ? Our room was perfectly comfortable but for those looking for something a little more splendid, renovations and upgrades are in progress. John showed us an example of the new model and it really is quite nice. I'm usually happy with just a comfortable bed and a functioning shower but the new rooms should appeal to those with more discriminating tastes. I would definitely recommend staying here and would not hesitate to return. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hotel on the Cay and I think you would too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My sister and I with our families stayed over the 4th at the Hotel on the Cay. Yes the place does need upgrades, but John and Sarah are very welcoming and accommodating. My sister had problems with her room and they were moved immediately to another room and compensated for a night's cost. John made a grocery run for us when he went into town. The room kitchenettes make it a good place for families with children for saving money on food. Beach area has plenty of chairs. Ferry is always ready to take you for a 2 minute ride to the main land. Close to the boardwalk, shopping and tours. Big Beard's is fantastic for a day of snorkeling. All eating places, Rum Runners, Angry Nates, You are here, are good. If you want something a little more upscale, go to Savant; a short walk up Hospital Street. Avocado Pitt is much better for an afternoon ice cream or smoothie. Lunch took a long time to arrive and orders were mixed up.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and three floors of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.