We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More crean plz” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Hotel on the Cay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More crean plz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The room Floor have a sand. Supose to do ir check in the room its clean, but not. The Floor it dirty. The pool never clean. Don't swim. Best practice snorkling. The staff in the restaurant and bar it not friendly. Very hard to get something. The food have a lot time to cook. Never smile never give you the thanks. Maria's in the Shop Very friendly and hopefull. I think, more motivation and engagement for the staff member. Not
the best People.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hello Ricky M,

Thank you for your feedback It is good to hear that you have enjoyed the variety of offering at the hotel. On the other hand we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay regarding room cleanliness. Rest assured we did inspect your room prior to arrival and the floors were free of debris. Also, the pool is cleaned daily and is maintained to professional standards to ensure enjoyment by all.

I believe it would be helpful to TA readers to also share a separate review under "Harbormaster Restaurant" listing as the restaurant is independent of the hotel and sets their own standards for service delivery.

We wish you the best in your travels and hope to welcome you as a hotel guest the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    133
    54
    31
    16
See reviews for
48
139
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first "timeshare" vacation and this is where we ended up. Its on a little island of its own. There is a free ferry that brings the hotel guests to and from. The beach is beautiful. Its close to many restaurants and shops. The staff is very, very nice. However, the hotel is in need of a severe overhauling. It needs a lot of TLC. The rooms are adequate. It was nice to have a fridge, microwave, and utensils. The bathroom was tiny. Questionable cleanliness. Hard mattress and pillows. It was just a place to sleep. Use Rudy's Taxi to travel around. Nice to have a hotel bar but we were unsure of the restaurant.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Both fun and functional, this seems to be the place to be centered in Christiansted. It has everything you need to just hang out - food & drinks, pool and beach - and the ferry is always ready to run you over to town - about a two minute trip - with virtually no waiting. Talking to Mary at the gift shop is a delight as is the entire staff at the bar and snack bar. Best of all, John the new manager, is one of the most accommodating hosts I have ever encountered. He arranged a quick, convenient and very good breakfast for our early morning dive group each day and talking to him about his past and background was even more interesting than reading the morning paper. How often do you get "Don't Stop the Carnival" anecdotes from a PHD candidate over bacon and bagels ? Our room was perfectly comfortable but for those looking for something a little more splendid, renovations and upgrades are in progress. John showed us an example of the new model and it really is quite nice. I'm usually happy with just a comfortable bed and a functioning shower but the new rooms should appeal to those with more discriminating tastes. I would definitely recommend staying here and would not hesitate to return. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hotel on the Cay and I think you would too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My sister and I with our families stayed over the 4th at the Hotel on the Cay. Yes the place does need upgrades, but John and Sarah are very welcoming and accommodating. My sister had problems with her room and they were moved immediately to another room and compensated for a night's cost. John made a grocery run for us when he went into town. The room kitchenettes make it a good place for families with children for saving money on food. Beach area has plenty of chairs. Ferry is always ready to take you for a 2 minute ride to the main land. Close to the boardwalk, shopping and tours. Big Beard's is fantastic for a day of snorkeling. All eating places, Rum Runners, Angry Nates, You are here, are good. If you want something a little more upscale, go to Savant; a short walk up Hospital Street. Avocado Pitt is much better for an afternoon ice cream or smoothie. Lunch took a long time to arrive and orders were mixed up.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and three floors of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I showed up here with my boyfriend on a holiday weekend without reservations after cutting a stay short at another unnamed place that I wasn't happy with. The manager John was very accommodating. He said they were short on rooms but personally showed us three and let us pick which one we'd like. He gave us a rate on the room even a few dollars less than the lowest price I saw online.

The room was clean and cool, but yes out dated as the other reviews mention. John showed us what all the rooms will look like once entire renovation is complete and they will definitely benefit from that update.

The ferry ride was actually a fun way to start and end each day. I looked forward to it.

The beach is nice, especially at night. We brought our own wine to the beach chairs around 10 pm a few nights and had the beach to ourselves. No mosquitos if you wait a while after sun goes down.

In relation to the other resorts, I really like the central location of this one. If you have a car parking isn't bad right across the street from the ferry drop off. We visited the other resorts and their beaches and I wS glad we weren't secluded and far out of the way like a lot of them were.

I would recommend this hotel to friend or family to stay at for the price, location, and comfort. Unless you want really high end luxury resort, this is a great place to stay and explore the rest of the island from.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our group of 4 older couples in their mid 60's just returned from our 4th 2 week golf trip at the HOTC, and were even more pleased than we were on previous trips. As usual, the whole staff was very congenial , while still being customer oriented. They have seemed to be in a continuous upgrading mode during all of our trips, but still took the time to fix those little quirks that will always pop up on a trip. The upgrades are very noticeable. The cleanliness, etc were more than what one would hope for when staying at a small hotel out on a small island.

This will likely always be our place to stay when visiting the island, and some of us are even considering purchasing timeshare units at the HOTC when they come available. None of us had any suggestions regarding how the staff could have improved things.

Room Tip: Most rooms have good views, but we like facing the beach on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our experience at HOTC was great. Being on the private island was an absolute luxury. We are timeshare owners, so we used RCI to book. Yes, the hotel could use some upgrades, but John is aware of that and is working on it. Bathrooms have all been updated. You won't find a more accommodating group of people! The views of Christiansted and the Caribbean are amazing! We met so many new friends! I'll map out the aspects of our trip and hope it helps you!

Beach - nice and clean. Plenty of chairs/umbrellas. Usually not very crowded at all. The water is amazing. It is the bluest water I have ever seen. The beach barbecue on Tuesday was fun - great food and entertainment.

Snorkeling - my first time ever and I am hooked. You have the convenience of using Michelle at Watersports which is located right at the hotel. She can even provide jet skis, kayaks, etc. We also did a Buck Island tour with Big Beard's. You have to do this. Andy and Michael are fabulous! You get a sailboat ride, snorkeling tour, lunch, and tons of fun in this day trip.

The water taxi crew were all amazing. They were always readily available to take you to the mainland. Very friendly and informative. Nice addition to staying at the hotel. You got the peace and quiet of being on your own little island, but you could be at a restaurant or pub in literally 3 minutes.

Restaurants - all very good. We ate at Rum Runners, Angry Nates, Harbor Master, Singh's, Savant, and Off the Wall in Cane Bay. A+ to everyone! Again, staff were so friendly.

Environment - we rented a Jeep, dropped the top, and just explored the island. They do drive on the left side of the road which was a change for us, but it was easily adjusted to. Point Udall is the easternmost point in the US with amazing shorelines. We encountered beer drinking pigs in the rainforest, beautiful Botanical Gardens, and the Cruzan Rum distillery was cool. We did Sweeny's Safari Tour - highly recommended. Andre and Ky were the best!

I could continue on for days about our experience in St. Croix. We will definitely be returning to this amazing island!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#5 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.