We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of historic Christiansted” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Save Saved
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Pompano Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great view of historic Christiansted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

While the beach is okay and the view of historic Christiansted is good, one ought to think twice before booking or visiting this one. While the hotel/timeshare has been struggling with maintenance for years, they don't seem to be making much headway. Visitors must pay for the rental of lounge chairs for the beach. Visitors must pay $5 for the ferry trip to get there. The restaurant with marginal food has increased their price for a frozen drink to $10--highest price on the island. Have better luck booking or visiting another spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    128
    54
    30
    16
See reviews for
46
133
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Basically the place is a run down dump. The room doors are basically screen doors with slats. The screens and slats were falling out and you can see into the rooms. It's like not even having a door on the room. Since there are no real doors you can hear every thing going on in the rooms as you pass by and all the noise outside when you are in the room. We stayed for 5 days and they never cleaned the room once, I had to retrieve clean towels myself. The facility has a large fountain system that is dry and falling apart. They also make you take an inventory of silverware and dishes on a check list as if you planned on stealing the sub par flatware. Sliding deck doors didn't close or lock which is an issue due to the crazy high crime rate. They also hit you with a $95 a week energy charge. Why not just put that in room rate and cut the deception. They only could find one room key for us we had to share. Last and worst thing are the beds. The bedding is all ripped and tattered. The mattresses are so old and are smashed flat with all the springs poking into you. I couldn't sleep at all and now my back is killing me. Do not waste your money coming here. I wish we hadn't.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello ADDICT,

Thank you for the review. The readers of Trip Advisor appreciate candid responses. However those that are misleading and inaccurate, such as yours from a new TA user, greatly diminish the reputation of the contributor.

We're quite surprised to learn about your concerns since they were never voiced to management. The false claims of bath towels, doors and fountains...to name a few...are a pity to read. It is noteworth to let readers know that you were advised of the energy surcharge at time of reservation. We would have appreciated the opportunity to dicuss your concerns ~in person rather than misleading readers in an attempt to gain retribution and compensation from the hotel.

As a NEW MEMBER of the TA community (under an anonymous handle), we wish you many successful reviews and appreciate the opportunity to be the FIRST to respond to your feedback. May all of your local travels there in your neighborhood area be enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Who ever their photographer was is great in the art of deceiving you. This place is incredibly run down, the staff is quite rude, with the exception of the ferry drivers. The rooms are severely bellow average, and we stayed a week in the " secluded " honeymoon sweet. The room is in a building shared by two other owners, who have apartment like attachments. The room was dirty, and really felt disgusting just laying in the bed. One a/c didn't work at all.. Of course during a heat spell, and we had to endure it dripping our entire time. The room made our quiet honeymoon on our own tropical island into an adventure everyday. That's fine except when your paying top dollar for privacy. We ended up having to move out of our room into a "sweet" which ended up being in better shape than the honeymoon, minus the rock hard full beds and tacky motel bedding. The people at the bar / restaurant were extremely rude... And lazy as all. Getting attitude for a drink or fruit bowl in the morning... Really had us feeling ready to go home. Outside the hotel our vacation was awesome, just please think twice.. Make that three times before ever considering this place.

Room Tip: Look at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I wanted a quick getaway and something different. I looked on line and found this place BIG BIG MISTAKE ! When we arrive it looked nothing like the website. The landscaping is horrible, the rooms are ancient and the island itself sucks. The restaurant closed at 5 and the bar closed at 7. When we finally arrived to our room it was hot. The air conditioner didn't work properly , so I tried the ceiling fan and I thought it was going to fall out of the ceiling. We tried to make the best of the situation by going to buy some food all to find out the fridge doesn't really work either.The lady at the front desk tried to help by offering another room. So I went to look at the room and it was crazy that she felt comfortable enough to show it. Needless to say we had planned to stay 5 days we checked out on the 2nd day !!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello ,

Thank you for the review. The readers of Trip Advisor appreciate candid responses. However those that are misleading and inaccurate, such as yours, greatly diminish the reputation of the contributor. It is important to note that your original submission did violate TA guidelines.

We're sad that you made the decision to leave the hotel. A comprehensive review of your stay did not indicate a concern with what you mentioned. The thousands of guests that visit us each year enjoy the private island elegance. We would have appreciated the opportunity to dicuss your concerns ~in person rather than misleading readers in an attempt to gain retribution and compensation from the hotel.

As a NEW MEMBER of the TA community (under an anonymous handle), we wish you many successful reviews and appreciate the opportunity to be the FIRST to respond to your feedback. May all of your local travels there in your local area be enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from a week at our timeshare at hotel on the cay. We were very happy here because we love the sun and beach. The snorkeling here was great, my husband saw some amazing things( sea turtle, stingray,lots of colorful fish). The island is lovely, the ferry back and forth quite easy and enjoyable. Never had to wait at either side. The hotel room was fine, new small bathroom with shower only. comfortable bed and enjoyed the balcony every morning. No safe. The outside of building does need alot of cleanup, they are remodeling alot of rooms. Always kept beach area spotless, with lounge chairs and grass hut to use for guests. Pool was green did not use, but the ocean was all we needed. The restaurant on site is expensinve for food, not really for beer. Had a "quest changing room" which was NOT nice, used quickly. We would return for the location. The food in st croix is amazing!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in October 2013 and we loved it. It is not a 5star all inclusive resort but it had everything we needed and more. Our room and beds were just average but it was clean and comfortable and had a beautiful view from the deck. We also felt safe. The hotel grounds are teaming with life(small lizards, hermit crabs, endangered birds, and even iguanas!) and there is awesome snorkeling surrounding the hotel. It was charming and a fun experience to stay here. The lady at the water equipment rental shop was really friendly and helpful in getting us snorkeling and kayaking equipment. The pool was decent with a nice sundeck but we didnt even use it since the crystal clear ocean was right there.There is also a small store that sells the bare essentials and she was really knowledgable and took the time to tell us all the ins and outs of the island. The ferry drivers were friendly and the ride only took 2 minutes and ran every 10 minutes til midnight. The town of Christiansted is very quaint and charming. Not a lot of nightlife this time of year but there were some great bars and restaurants along the boardwalk. We recommend "rum runners" for dinner, they have amazing steak and seafood and they have a beautiful view and a nice bar. We also loved "you are here" bar where they served amazing pizza and they let us watch the Seahawks on Monday night football. they even stayed open later to let us finish watching it. Some of the highlights of our trip were riding horses through the rainforest and on the beach with "Paul and Jill's" and snorkeling at buck island with "island adventures." Both activities were so fun and beautiful and well worth the money.
In all honesty there were a few things that could have been better...some of the slats in the door of our hotel room were warped and you could see into our room from the outside which we didn't notice til 3 days of staying there. I saw a few other doors like that but not all of them. We just simply hung a towel over the door but still. There was some noise from construction but i expected that since we got such a good deal on the room rate. There is no elevator which was fine for us but maybe not for people who don't do well with stairs. The restaurant at the hotel(which is not affiliated with hotel on the cay) it was just regular bar food nothing to write home about and the waitresses had some sort of attitude. I felt like they hated that they had to wait on another stupid tourist and they weren't friendly. My arms and legs were covered in bites even with bug spray so beware. Overall I'd come back again because hotel on the cay is a gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here in October 2013 and while we enjoyed the view from the hotel beach and balcony, the hotel is in the middle of a major renovation. They start jack hammering around 8am and work throughout the day. It's quite noisy and messy. The room was decent - the kitchenette and mini refrigerator were nice additions. There is no in-room safe if you want to store valuables; however they do offer safety deposit boxes at the front desk. There is no elevator, so beware if you have a lot of luggage - it's a hike to the third floor. The restaurant was closed during our visit and the drinks at the bar were a bit watered down. The beach was nice, but bring bug spray - the "no-see-ums" are vicious. The ferry ride was enjoyable each day - the ferry captains are quite nice and knowledgeable about Christiansted. I would rate this Average once the renovation is complete.

Room Tip: The west side rooms heat up in the afternoon when the sun sets - the views are great but it feels li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello SmartyPants,

Thanks for the contribution. Indeed we are refreshing a few more of the bathrooms during daylight hours. Guests near the affected areas are being accomodated in rooms away from the renovation to minimize inconvenience. We have also noted this on our website.

You are correct that we do not have an elevator. However a gently sloping pathway in the middle of our botique hotel means just three steps to the third floor!

The on-site Harbormaster Restaurant is independently owned and operated apart from the hotel. They set their own operating hours, policies and prices. You will find a separate listing for them on TA where you can leave comments for others.

We appreciate your time and look forward to your return visit to our fantastic island paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.