We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Save Saved
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overall a great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I went to St. Croix for my friend's wedding and bought the living social deal for 6 days. I wasn't sure what to expect since these deals can be a little questionable but since it was an awesome deal I really couldn't pass it up. I will have to say that the rooms are not what you would expect at a 5 star hotel but the views and location make up for it. It isn't a place where you would want to stay if you want to relax in your hotel room or order room service. It is an ideal hotel for people who want to experience the island. The rooms are a bit outdated. It isn't dirty but it isn't anything spectacular. I will have to say the only thing I was weary of was the dish soap that they provide the room with. I wasn't sure if it was supposed to be two colors or if the soap was just old. But that's my only real complaint about the room. The staff were friendly and helpful. we weren't sure how to get to the church for my friends wedding but our cleaning lady went around and asked other people for directions since she didn't really know herself which I thought was nice. The lady, Mary, at the gift shop was really helpful and gave us suggestions as what type of activities were going around the island. I really liked the fact that it was on it's own island and that our ferry was complimentary. Everything was in close proximity of the hotel so it was super convenient. You can head over to the boardwalk and eat at the restaurants around the waterfront OR walk down the street and go to local places. I had an overall excellent experience and the only reason why I gave it 4 stars was because I thought the hotel could be updated. This is an amazing location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    128
    54
    30
    16
See reviews for
46
133
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A lot of the people we met weren't as warm as we have found on other Virgin Islands. We stayed during April which I heard was the end of the season so maybe everyone was tired. There weren't really rude just not warm and inviting. The hotel was clean and nice enough but could be spectacular given their location. they sit on an island by themselves with a great beach and wonderful snorkling around the island (the best I found in the Virgin Island. Things were just a little worn down like a grand old lady that hadn't updated her style or changed her wardrobe in quite a while.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel on the cay is hands down the best location in christiansted. It is in its own island with the only beach in town , the protestant cay which has white sand clear blue waters and sometimes you can even see a school of fish, swordfish.etc. the grounds are not manicured but its clean. They could definitely improve the landscaping.
The rooms are regular hotel rooms with microwave dirty coffee pot and a toaster oven. The utensils are not complete so we had to give our inventory in the front desk. The front desk people are nice but nothing spectacular. They are not friendly and they are not rude.
The tuesday buffet is a waste of money. The sides were bland but the meat and fish was ok. The show is just one guy shaking and dancing on a stilt taking pictures with people then they dont even tell you that another show is going on on the little tiny stage the band is playing. Everybody crams around it to see a guy walk into broken glass. The kids dancing the limbo was the best part of the show and they were the guest.the ferry to christiansted is very efficient and its a nice rude over.
I just wish they maintained this property well probably they could charge more. Its such a waste because they have prime location and the views in the room is priceless.
I would recommend this to people who wants to get their moneys worth coz though the grounds are not well manicured they are clean. The room though they look rundown they are very clean. Just dont use the utensils coz they are yucky. Over all we enjoyed our stay because we overlook the aesthetic things and enjoyed the beautiful St croix and the beautiful perfect location of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank so much for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed the value and unique private island experience we provide!

As an area protected by the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Department, we are under tight control over our appearance. At time of the year (such as now), trees and bushes appear to be 'unmanicured'. Currently we have migratory white-headed pigeons on the island. We are prohibited from trimming the foliage until the migration is complete later this summer as to prevent disturbing them. (We hoped you snapped a few photos of this unique bird!)

Regarding the dinner show, kindly post your comments to the "Harbormaster Restaurant" listing in TA. The restaurant is completely independent of the hotel and they set their own pricing/activities including show schedule.

We appreciate your time and look forward to many more reviews as well as your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The location, a tiny private island in the center of picturesque Christiansted harbour, and its white sandy beach are by far the best features of this shabby budget property. Other high marks go to the friendly and helpful staff that addressed all requests (including emergency repairs in the room!) in a timely and cheerful fashion, and to the complimentary boat shuttle that ferries guests between the island and the boardwalk on an on-going basis from dawn to late into the evening. I understand that it runs on demand after midnight but I didn’t test it.

In spite of some token attempts to upgrade (large flat panel TV hanging on the wall) my room was lost in a 1980’d time warp and worst for the wear. The faded draperies, torn bead and cracked ceramic tile flooring were clearly original to the place, as were the outmoded bathroom fixtures and dripping faucets. The small balcony had a lovely view of the harbour, but the ancient “sliding” glass doors were a struggle to pry open. While there was WiFi on the property, was only reliably operational around the reception area and on the roof terrace - although I did find a hotspot (more like lukewarm actually) in the corner next to the front door of my room.

The beach had a bar/restaurant, apparently a separate concession (you couldn’t charge to your room) with inconvenient daytime only opening hours, mediocre food and even worst service. However, it seemed a favorite spot with the locals who held jolly, high-decibel family/friends gatherings there.

By the way – I was not much impressed with Saint Croix overall. In a nutshell, if you are looking for more than reasonably priced, basic shelter and a decent beach for your Caribbean holiday, keep looking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I must make it clear from the beginning. Nothing wrong with the property. Very good rooms excellent location. BUT the bar closes at 5pm. No restaurant for dinner (breakfast opens at 07.30) and the reception starts at 08.00. A hotel in a private island whith a priveleged location after 5pm becomes merely a motel with only available coin machines for sodas and water. I will go again nevertheless not only for the location but because the island itself is a real "wildlife reserve" with birds and iguanas.

Room Tip: Every room is the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks much for a great review. We've been working hard to earn the trust in TA members like yourself with continuous 'room renewals' and a focus on guest attention.

The on-site Harbormaster Restaurant is independently owned and operated apart from the hotel. They set their own operating hours, policies and prices. You will find a separate listing for them on TA where you can leave comments for others.

We appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

a short hop from Christiansted but on your own private beach-wonderful wild life-birds-iguanas-hermit crabs-and the ocean right at your feet
fresh flowers in the room were a wonderful surprise
beds very comfortable and the atmosphere was restful

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We purchased a 4 night stay on LivingSocial and the value of the promo was worth what we paid. The island was cute and clean and we enjoyed the ferry rides to and from the cay to main island. I would recommend tourists to stay at Hotel on the Cay. We felt safe in our rooms and I liked being apart from the hustle and bustle on the boardwalk where the other hotels were located.

Restaurant food in St. Croix is outrageously priced, but the Hotel on the Cay has a small kitchenette so guests can store their own food, if wanted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;