We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Hotel on the Cay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Graham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have been to St Croix twice in the past 3 years, stayed at the HOTC both times. We are staying there again with 3 other couples from last year, again next month. It is a little dated, but appears to have a serious renovation plan constantly taking place for the whole facility, and the improvements are obvious. Most of the people we've talked to think that is one of the best beaches on the island (people from the cruise ships rent transportation to come across the island , and pay the $4 dollar ferry ride out to the beach - no ferry cost for hotel guests).

The ferry ride is only about 500 ft and take about 4 minutes, so thats no big deal. You can have breakfast or lunch right at at a small restaurant on the little island, or take the ferry to more than a dozen good restaurants less than 2 blocks away, a number of them are right on the water.

Our friends & us think that it is one of the best lodging deals on the whole island.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a decent view, though some are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    131
    54
    30
    16
See reviews for
46
136
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our first trip to St Croix. The HOTC was recommended by some friends who had stayed there previously. It definitly was not a 4 or 5 star accommodation, but is was very enjoyable. It does need some work but it is right on the ocean and anyone with ocean side experience knows maintenance is a constant. The staff was great to us. Thank you Miss Sara for helping with our reservation that somehow ended up booked a month earlier. When we return this will definitely be the place we stay. gripes? It would be a little nicer if the HarborMaster Bar and Grill were open a little later say 9pm for the grill and 11pm for the bar? I also think the Hotel should manage the bar and grill and the water sport shop. It would be a lot handier for the guests if everything was managed under one roof.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A nice day trip to the beach. The water was beautiful, the drinks were good and the food was very yummy. A nice relaxing day on the beach, a nice time swimming. A nice day out and the rum punch had some punch!

Room Tip: Was only a day trip
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've been going to St. Croix for more than 30 years. Since the first time my wife and I stayed at Hotel on the Cay, we haven't stayed anywhere else. A few years ago, the hotel had some pretty major problems with maintenance, but in the last couple of years a lot of work has been done on the property and it's now in pretty decent shape. And the location is still unbeatable anywhere. Seriously, it's like staying on your own private island with a few friends. The beach is maintained every day and is really nice, you can snorkel right off the cay and see a lot of marine life you would usually have to take a boat to a reef to look at, and even though the building is old and the decor a bit dated, the bathrooms have just been remodeled and I have never found the rooms to be anything less than spotless. The staff even put fresh flowers in the room when they cleaned when we were there last week. I have never had any problem with the staff - they have always been friendly and helpful. I have to wonder what might have happened when others on here report rudeness .... maybe they were really the problem themselves? I agree that the restaurant on the cay leaves a bit to be desired, but if you are in a hurry, or want really cheap food, you should go to McDonald's instead of a restaurant on a private island right on the beach. And if you want "fancy" food, there is a lot of that available at several nearby restaurants just a very short ferry ride away. In fact, a lot of the food within easy walking distance in Christiansted would be right at home on some of the food network "challenge" shows - you will not go hungry. This is really NOT a 5 star hotel - there is no room service and you have to carry your own bags. But if you want to stay somewhere that is older (and less expensive...) with excellent scenery, excellent water sports right at hand, AND share a small island with some endangered species, this might be a good place for you to visit.

Room Tip: Unless you like a lot of stairs, avoid the "HM" building. It's right at the top of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have been vacationing in St. Croix for many years and prefer this island over the "tourist traps". St. Croix is less crowded yet offers many things to do and see - if that is what you're looking for. Having stayed in a variety of hotels on the island, we have found the Hotel of the Cay to be the IDEAL location. This hotel offers a beautiful beach and amazing views. It is also like being on your own private island and with acesss only by ferry, we find it to be very safe for the entire family. The rooms are comfortable but, an advantage is that each rooms has a small kitchenette which is very convenient for families. Since it is just a short (2 minute) ferry ride to downtown Christiansted, there is access to numerous restaurants and shops. We have found that there is really no need for a rental car when staying at the Hotel on the Cay. The Hotel on the Cay staff can arrange for airport pick-ups and drop-offs for a nominal fee. If you prefer to the tour island, Christainsted offers cabs; tours; and rental cars and we taken advantage of all of these alternatives. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel facing east where you will have a view of the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It was our first trip to St. Croix and what a disappointment it was. It's such an amazingly beautiful place but the people are amongst the most rude I've seen and I've traveled the world. Unfortunately this did not stop at the hotel. From the time we checked in till check out the staff at this hotel was simply disgusting to us. The staff at the restaurant acted like we were inconveniencing them. "How dare us come here and spend our money and help the economy" seemed to be the attitude at this place. Our room was ok. At least the a/c worked. The day we checked out (check out is at 11) we decided to get some last minute rays by the beach (which is beautiful) we got to our room at 10:55 only to be yelled at by the housekeeper, literally yelled at, telling us check out was in 5 minutes. I was appalled we were out of the room by 11:10 this was incredible. I will say all the ferry captains were helpful nice and full of information. The lady at the guest shop was rude beyond belief. All in all this hotel is a great location on a beautiful beach but the treatment we received will unfortunately keep us from ever visiting this island again which is sad because after the refinery closed tourism is the main source of income.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello Wil R,

Thank you for the review. The readers of Trip Advisor appreciate candid responses. However those that are misleading and inaccurate, such as yours, greatly diminish the reputation of the contributor.

It is noteworthy to point out that your review of the Harbormaster Restaurant is not in the proper location. As they are operated independent of the hotel, readers would benefit from proper placement under their heading. In addition, we would have appreciated the opportunity to dicuss your concerns ~in person rather than misleading readers in an attempt to gain retribution against the fantastic staff and management of the hotel.

As a new member of the TA community, we wish you many successful reviews and appreciate the opportunity to be the first to respond to your feedback. May all of your local travels there in NYC be enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Finally got a chance to write a review. My wife and I stayed at the cay from Dec/21/12 to Jan/6/13. It was the best vacation we had in a long long time. We had a great room. Top floor over looking the bay. Watched the Roseway sail in many a night. Room had a newly renovated bathroom. New mattress and was clean. Sure its not the Taj Mahal. But for the price. I used my points from my condo in Las Vegas through RCI. With the exchange fee and utility fee. My total cost was 760.00 for 14 nights. How can u beat that deal. The staff were very friendly. Treated me and my wife greatly. The grounds staff were great. The staff at the bar. Everybody. And Tom got me the best deal ever on fresh lobster. He's done a lot at this property to improve it. We met people who have had timeshares there for 20yrs. And said u cant beat it. And things are a lot better then they were. The best beach and only one. Great diving. All around loved it. Will we return? u bet we will. All those people who knock this place. Have had the good life to long. Remember it's the Hotel on the Cay. Not the Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: Get the rooms over looking the bay. Not facing the beach. Never turned the ac on at all. Slept wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.