We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Save Saved
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Piscataway, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't beat the location!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have been vacationing in St. Croix for many years and prefer this island over the "tourist traps". St. Croix is less crowded yet offers many things to do and see - if that is what you're looking for. Having stayed in a variety of hotels on the island, we have found the Hotel of the Cay to be the IDEAL location. This hotel offers a beautiful beach and amazing views. It is also like being on your own private island and with acesss only by ferry, we find it to be very safe for the entire family. The rooms are comfortable but, an advantage is that each rooms has a small kitchenette which is very convenient for families. Since it is just a short (2 minute) ferry ride to downtown Christiansted, there is access to numerous restaurants and shops. We have found that there is really no need for a rental car when staying at the Hotel on the Cay. The Hotel on the Cay staff can arrange for airport pick-ups and drop-offs for a nominal fee. If you prefer to the tour island, Christainsted offers cabs; tours; and rental cars and we taken advantage of all of these alternatives. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel facing east where you will have a view of the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    123
    54
    30
    16
See reviews for
46
130
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It was our first trip to St. Croix and what a disappointment it was. It's such an amazingly beautiful place but the people are amongst the most rude I've seen and I've traveled the world. Unfortunately this did not stop at the hotel. From the time we checked in till check out the staff at this hotel was simply disgusting to us. The staff at the restaurant acted like we were inconveniencing them. "How dare us come here and spend our money and help the economy" seemed to be the attitude at this place. Our room was ok. At least the a/c worked. The day we checked out (check out is at 11) we decided to get some last minute rays by the beach (which is beautiful) we got to our room at 10:55 only to be yelled at by the housekeeper, literally yelled at, telling us check out was in 5 minutes. I was appalled we were out of the room by 11:10 this was incredible. I will say all the ferry captains were helpful nice and full of information. The lady at the guest shop was rude beyond belief. All in all this hotel is a great location on a beautiful beach but the treatment we received will unfortunately keep us from ever visiting this island again which is sad because after the refinery closed tourism is the main source of income.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello Wil R,

Thank you for the review. The readers of Trip Advisor appreciate candid responses. However those that are misleading and inaccurate, such as yours, greatly diminish the reputation of the contributor.

It is noteworthy to point out that your review of the Harbormaster Restaurant is not in the proper location. As they are operated independent of the hotel, readers would benefit from proper placement under their heading. In addition, we would have appreciated the opportunity to dicuss your concerns ~in person rather than misleading readers in an attempt to gain retribution against the fantastic staff and management of the hotel.

As a new member of the TA community, we wish you many successful reviews and appreciate the opportunity to be the first to respond to your feedback. May all of your local travels there in NYC be enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Finally got a chance to write a review. My wife and I stayed at the cay from Dec/21/12 to Jan/6/13. It was the best vacation we had in a long long time. We had a great room. Top floor over looking the bay. Watched the Roseway sail in many a night. Room had a newly renovated bathroom. New mattress and was clean. Sure its not the Taj Mahal. But for the price. I used my points from my condo in Las Vegas through RCI. With the exchange fee and utility fee. My total cost was 760.00 for 14 nights. How can u beat that deal. The staff were very friendly. Treated me and my wife greatly. The grounds staff were great. The staff at the bar. Everybody. And Tom got me the best deal ever on fresh lobster. He's done a lot at this property to improve it. We met people who have had timeshares there for 20yrs. And said u cant beat it. And things are a lot better then they were. The best beach and only one. Great diving. All around loved it. Will we return? u bet we will. All those people who knock this place. Have had the good life to long. Remember it's the Hotel on the Cay. Not the Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: Get the rooms over looking the bay. Not facing the beach. Never turned the ac on at all. Slept wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrolia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is the only beach in Christiansted, so it is the best Hotel choice, in my opinion. It is as others have stated, a three star, that could use some sprucing up, but they are constantly working on it. It is clean and staff are friendly, the beach is very well kept and never too crowed. The 2 minute ferry service is always prompt and accommodating, not to mention very friendly. A few issues with room maintenance, but in a older hotel you can expect some issues, however more attention should be paid to the larger issues such as non functioning patio doors, or leaky air conditioners.
Overall we were very happy with our accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lets start off with the rooms. We booked an ocean view room with a king bed, well then had the reservation but not the room...(insert seinfield joke here) we got a honeymoon suite in the building at the back... Wow looks like a room from a horror movie and the door would not lock. So we move at another room slightly better but cable doesn't work and the in room wifi doesn't work in most rooms. When mentioned o the staff they are all aware of the issues but are unable to change things.

The resturant is not run by the hotel it's leased private, service is slow, prices change with each order, open until 5 pm daily , so if you want dinner you'll have to go to the mainland.

Beach is in the harbour so don't expect much there either.

If your lucky you won't get bitten by the bugs in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello Cruzan13,

Thank you for the review. The readers of Trip Advisor appreciate candid responses. However those that are misleading, such as yours, greatly diminish the reputation of the contributor.

It should be noted that Hotel on the Cay is far from a 'dump'. In fact the unique location and staff help add to an amazing private island experience. Posting negative reviews with exagerated 'horror movie' statements in an attempt to gain retribution is simply tasteless.

We wish you the best in your local travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Imagine a hotel, on its own sandy cay, with rooms that have balconies overlooking the water. Now imagine a hotel that balances out isolation with a 4 minute ferry to the town of Christiansted. Why this hotel receives bad reviews and why the cost to stay here is not double what it is currently is a mystery to me.

My wife and I had a blast staying here for a week. Our only caveat was sometimes (just once in a while) the ferries took time picking us up from Christiansted. But you know? We just set our dive equipment down, sat on the pier and put our feet into water that is clear enough to see the bottom of and waited. No worries!

Also, when you are at the bar on the beach (aka fitness center), order a calypso (aka rooom service)!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Yes the decor is a little out of date (late 70s era) and the gardens and pool area need some work but the rooms are very clean and the views to die for! We stayed at Hotel on the Cay for 4 days and couldn't have been happier with our little slice of paradise. The hotel provides a great central sanctuary from which to explore the beautiful island of St Croix. The hotel conveniently offers a free ferry back and forth from Christiansted (1minute ferry ride) until midnight 7 days a week....which is very convenient if you, like us, want to explore the town, eat with the locals and drink at the wonderful bars and restaurants along the main boardwalk. The ferry service is actually quite important as the hotel does not have a restaurant or bar of its own. There is a little cafe on the beach, not affiliated with the hotel, but it doesn't stay open in the evenings and the prices are pretty expensive. The service is pretty bad too. With this in mind I'd recommend taking your own supply of alcohol, cold drinks and snacks to the island and making the effort to try out some of the great local eateries at night (Singh's Roti House and Zeny's restaraunt are both fabulous for local fare. Twin City has the best coffee in town!!). If you don't feel like eating out, there is a little BBQ area at the hotel where you can cook up your meals if that's your preference.
If you stay at Hotel on the Cay, definitely make sure you hire some snorkeling gear from down on the beach and do a few laps of the island. There is a LOT to see including sea turtles, star fish and an abundance of fish - including huge barracuda! Would also highly recommend a day trip to Buck Island with Big Bear's Renegade tour. Well worth the price to see one of the world's most amazing marine parks.
So - to summarise - if you are looking for an all-inclusive resort style getaway removed from the day to day goings on with all the mod cons....then this is NOT the place for you. If you don't care about outdated aesthetics, want to get out and about and explore, be close to the action and can look after yourself definitely go to Hotel on the Cay. It offers, above all else, great value in a great location.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor with a balcony - preferably overlooking Christiansted that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.