We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump, dead, don't stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Hotel on the Cay
Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dump, dead, don't stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lets start off with the rooms. We booked an ocean view room with a king bed, well then had the reservation but not the room...(insert seinfield joke here) we got a honeymoon suite in the building at the back... Wow looks like a room from a horror movie and the door would not lock. So we move at another room slightly better but cable doesn't work and the in room wifi doesn't work in most rooms. When mentioned o the staff they are all aware of the issues but are unable to change things.

The resturant is not run by the hotel it's leased private, service is slow, prices change with each order, open until 5 pm daily , so if you want dinner you'll have to go to the mainland.

Beach is in the harbour so don't expect much there either.

If your lucky you won't get bitten by the bugs in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello Cruzan13,

Thank you for the review. The readers of Trip Advisor appreciate candid responses. However those that are misleading, such as yours, greatly diminish the reputation of the contributor.

It should be noted that Hotel on the Cay is far from a 'dump'. In fact the unique location and staff help add to an amazing private island experience. Posting negative reviews with exagerated 'horror movie' statements in an attempt to gain retribution is simply tasteless.

We wish you the best in your local travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    132
    54
    31
    16
See reviews for
47
139
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Imagine a hotel, on its own sandy cay, with rooms that have balconies overlooking the water. Now imagine a hotel that balances out isolation with a 4 minute ferry to the town of Christiansted. Why this hotel receives bad reviews and why the cost to stay here is not double what it is currently is a mystery to me.

My wife and I had a blast staying here for a week. Our only caveat was sometimes (just once in a while) the ferries took time picking us up from Christiansted. But you know? We just set our dive equipment down, sat on the pier and put our feet into water that is clear enough to see the bottom of and waited. No worries!

Also, when you are at the bar on the beach (aka fitness center), order a calypso (aka rooom service)!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Yes the decor is a little out of date (late 70s era) and the gardens and pool area need some work but the rooms are very clean and the views to die for! We stayed at Hotel on the Cay for 4 days and couldn't have been happier with our little slice of paradise. The hotel provides a great central sanctuary from which to explore the beautiful island of St Croix. The hotel conveniently offers a free ferry back and forth from Christiansted (1minute ferry ride) until midnight 7 days a week....which is very convenient if you, like us, want to explore the town, eat with the locals and drink at the wonderful bars and restaurants along the main boardwalk. The ferry service is actually quite important as the hotel does not have a restaurant or bar of its own. There is a little cafe on the beach, not affiliated with the hotel, but it doesn't stay open in the evenings and the prices are pretty expensive. The service is pretty bad too. With this in mind I'd recommend taking your own supply of alcohol, cold drinks and snacks to the island and making the effort to try out some of the great local eateries at night (Singh's Roti House and Zeny's restaraunt are both fabulous for local fare. Twin City has the best coffee in town!!). If you don't feel like eating out, there is a little BBQ area at the hotel where you can cook up your meals if that's your preference.
If you stay at Hotel on the Cay, definitely make sure you hire some snorkeling gear from down on the beach and do a few laps of the island. There is a LOT to see including sea turtles, star fish and an abundance of fish - including huge barracuda! Would also highly recommend a day trip to Buck Island with Big Bear's Renegade tour. Well worth the price to see one of the world's most amazing marine parks.
So - to summarise - if you are looking for an all-inclusive resort style getaway removed from the day to day goings on with all the mod cons....then this is NOT the place for you. If you don't care about outdated aesthetics, want to get out and about and explore, be close to the action and can look after yourself definitely go to Hotel on the Cay. It offers, above all else, great value in a great location.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor with a balcony - preferably overlooking Christiansted that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went to Hotel on the Cay in 2011 for our 25th anniversary, and had to return. We looked at other resorts and condos, but came back to HOTC for the value and the views.

While it is not the Buccaneer, (not affordable for us) it is a beautiful Caribbean vacation on your own island! The ferry captains were friendly and helpful for every ride we took to and from the hotel. We found all of the hotel staff to be gracious and helpful during our week there.

Our room had a very comfortable king size bed, a small table with chairs, LCD TV, mini fridge, microwave, toaster oven, and coffee maker. (I didn't know I could get coffee for it in the lobby) It was nice to make snacks or microwave breakfasts so that you don't have to eat all of your meals out. We also rented the grill one night for steaks and baked potatoes on their lovely, harbor view, terrace.

We like to snorkel, and it is great right in the harbor, or around coral on the north part of the Cay. The white sand beach is great for swimming, or sunning. Yes, it is busy when a cruise ship is in Frederiksted, but there are plenty of chairs and umbrellas for everyone.

We rented a car for a couple days, (Drive on the left side) but it is not necessary. The roaming taxis or the Vitran (bus) can take you between Christiansted and Frederiksted, and we felt perfectly safe on both of them. It was nice to have the rental to see the eastern end of St. Croix, and other places that are off the bus/taxi route. You can always set up a personal taxi with Rudy's for a day trip or tour.

Like others have mentioned, we did see stuff "disposed of" in the bushes around the island, and that could be cleaned up, but they were busy with landscaping projects the week we were there.

For Christiansted dinners, we love Paradise Cafe. Lunches at Luncheria or the Fort Christian Brew Pub (throw your left overs off the boardwalk to the Tarpin) are nice. The Purple Papaya and Victoria's were good souvenir stores; and Baci or Tropical Bracelet Factory had good prices for rum.

Wish we were still in St. Croix!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

we have been going to the hotel for 10 years for presidents week. Staff is awsome and have
the island spirit... No Problem mon. always have a great time. only issue is some of the older
time share owners are rude and have bad attitudes. so we try to avoid them. its easy their old and slow.. we will be back this year lookforward to seeing staff , bartender and waitresses.
Maybe this year the old folks have better attitudes..

hfireisland

Room Tip: Harbor master rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was my third trip to Hotel on the Cay, but the first with kids. My husband and I had stayed here in 2006 and 2007 using his brother's time share (which he subsequently sold). This time we booked online and brought our two children (11 months and 3 years old) and my parents (both 73). We continue to think this hotel offers a great value for money option in St. Croix. (My husband lived in St. Croix in the 90s and we have stayed at other places, including the Buccaneer which is amazing but much more pricey). Every time we return here we are put off on the first day due to the age/run down nature of the place...but then we start to appreciate its beauty and uniqueness as a vacation spot!

-Beautiful beach right in Christenstead Harbor...crystal clear blue water, white powder sand and gentle waves...perfect for small children!
-Easy access to the restaurants and activities in town. Our kids loved taking the boat every day.
-Very friendly and helpful staff - they catered to all our needs as a family
-decent beach side cafe/bar for breakfast, lunch and pina coladas!
-Good sized, clean rooms with kitchenettes, which was great for kids, and new flat screen TVs. Also had a beautiful view.
-Recently renovated pool with great view of the harbor

Downside..
-Still a little run down. Our bathroom had not been renovated. But it was clean and the shower worked great. Also had a tub which was better for the kids.
-Lots of stairs. We were on the second floor which wasn't too bad, but with a baby, groceries, strollers, etc. it was a challenge at times.
-The cafe does not serve dinner so you are forced to go out at night which can be hard with little ones ready for bed. However, we made a few dinners in the room to spare the trip.

We had a great time and hope to return.

Room Tip: Request first or second floor of you have issues with stairs. Also request one with renovated bath i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here Christmas week and did like the location on Protestant Cay, a quick and easy ferry ride to the downtown area. The beach, actually part of the harbor was kept clean every day, but on the Friday that we were there the cruise ship people were using "our" beach. We were told to move our chairs to another less desirable part of the beach so the cruisers could use our area...not a request that went over well.. Supposedly the hotel was unaware of this policy.. The room was adequate and clean, although the hotel itself and premises are in dire need of general maintenance and upkeep. The area around the hotel had broken chairs and lawn furniture just thrown under bushes and shrubs. This could be a spectacular spot if LOTS of money were put into it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.