We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved St. Croix two years ago, we had to come back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Hotel on the Cay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved St. Croix two years ago, we had to come back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went to Hotel on the Cay in 2011 for our 25th anniversary, and had to return. We looked at other resorts and condos, but came back to HOTC for the value and the views.

While it is not the Buccaneer, (not affordable for us) it is a beautiful Caribbean vacation on your own island! The ferry captains were friendly and helpful for every ride we took to and from the hotel. We found all of the hotel staff to be gracious and helpful during our week there.

Our room had a very comfortable king size bed, a small table with chairs, LCD TV, mini fridge, microwave, toaster oven, and coffee maker. (I didn't know I could get coffee for it in the lobby) It was nice to make snacks or microwave breakfasts so that you don't have to eat all of your meals out. We also rented the grill one night for steaks and baked potatoes on their lovely, harbor view, terrace.

We like to snorkel, and it is great right in the harbor, or around coral on the north part of the Cay. The white sand beach is great for swimming, or sunning. Yes, it is busy when a cruise ship is in Frederiksted, but there are plenty of chairs and umbrellas for everyone.

We rented a car for a couple days, (Drive on the left side) but it is not necessary. The roaming taxis or the Vitran (bus) can take you between Christiansted and Frederiksted, and we felt perfectly safe on both of them. It was nice to have the rental to see the eastern end of St. Croix, and other places that are off the bus/taxi route. You can always set up a personal taxi with Rudy's for a day trip or tour.

Like others have mentioned, we did see stuff "disposed of" in the bushes around the island, and that could be cleaned up, but they were busy with landscaping projects the week we were there.

For Christiansted dinners, we love Paradise Cafe. Lunches at Luncheria or the Fort Christian Brew Pub (throw your left overs off the boardwalk to the Tarpin) are nice. The Purple Papaya and Victoria's were good souvenir stores; and Baci or Tropical Bracelet Factory had good prices for rum.

Wish we were still in St. Croix!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    131
    54
    31
    16
See reviews for
46
137
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

we have been going to the hotel for 10 years for presidents week. Staff is awsome and have
the island spirit... No Problem mon. always have a great time. only issue is some of the older
time share owners are rude and have bad attitudes. so we try to avoid them. its easy their old and slow.. we will be back this year lookforward to seeing staff , bartender and waitresses.
Maybe this year the old folks have better attitudes..

hfireisland

Room Tip: Harbor master rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was my third trip to Hotel on the Cay, but the first with kids. My husband and I had stayed here in 2006 and 2007 using his brother's time share (which he subsequently sold). This time we booked online and brought our two children (11 months and 3 years old) and my parents (both 73). We continue to think this hotel offers a great value for money option in St. Croix. (My husband lived in St. Croix in the 90s and we have stayed at other places, including the Buccaneer which is amazing but much more pricey). Every time we return here we are put off on the first day due to the age/run down nature of the place...but then we start to appreciate its beauty and uniqueness as a vacation spot!

-Beautiful beach right in Christenstead Harbor...crystal clear blue water, white powder sand and gentle waves...perfect for small children!
-Easy access to the restaurants and activities in town. Our kids loved taking the boat every day.
-Very friendly and helpful staff - they catered to all our needs as a family
-decent beach side cafe/bar for breakfast, lunch and pina coladas!
-Good sized, clean rooms with kitchenettes, which was great for kids, and new flat screen TVs. Also had a beautiful view.
-Recently renovated pool with great view of the harbor

Downside..
-Still a little run down. Our bathroom had not been renovated. But it was clean and the shower worked great. Also had a tub which was better for the kids.
-Lots of stairs. We were on the second floor which wasn't too bad, but with a baby, groceries, strollers, etc. it was a challenge at times.
-The cafe does not serve dinner so you are forced to go out at night which can be hard with little ones ready for bed. However, we made a few dinners in the room to spare the trip.

We had a great time and hope to return.

Room Tip: Request first or second floor of you have issues with stairs. Also request one with renovated bath i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here Christmas week and did like the location on Protestant Cay, a quick and easy ferry ride to the downtown area. The beach, actually part of the harbor was kept clean every day, but on the Friday that we were there the cruise ship people were using "our" beach. We were told to move our chairs to another less desirable part of the beach so the cruisers could use our area...not a request that went over well.. Supposedly the hotel was unaware of this policy.. The room was adequate and clean, although the hotel itself and premises are in dire need of general maintenance and upkeep. The area around the hotel had broken chairs and lawn furniture just thrown under bushes and shrubs. This could be a spectacular spot if LOTS of money were put into it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent first two weeks of January at Hotel on the Cay on Protestant Cay, a quick and convenient 2-minute ferry ride from Christiansted.

The staff was friendly and Sara at the front desk is very helpful. Our waitress Marina provided excellent service from Harbormaster Restaurant. Conch meal and Cruzan Confusion best in town.

Room had updated bath, large flat panel TV, new king with nice linens & towels. Room was cleaned and linens/towels changed twice a week. Kitchenette with microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot and small frig allows for in-room breakfast and sandwich snacks. Great sandy beach for swimming and snorkeling. Spent most of day at beach.

Excellent meal at St. George Botanical Gardens hosted by St. Croix culinary students held twice a month. Great food at numerous restaurants in Christiansted and along Boardwalk.

The hotel is outdated in some respects but many upgrades have been completed and more are underway. Cable did not work the first week but was repaired by the start of the 2nd week. The WIfi service is spotty. It is not luxurious but is a charming vacation spot to rest and relax.



  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Hotel on small island 200 yards offshore. Convenient shuttle ferries guests to/from. Bulk of rooms are timeshare community. Spectacular beach with plenty of chairs loungers umbrellas and towels all go additional fee. It gets quite crowded on weekends. No lifeguards in sight. Room was small and unremarkable other than view. Air conditioner was very loud but needed to cut humidity. Coffeemaker in room, but coffee only available from front desk. Bed was a full size box spring and a 3 or 4 inch thick mattress. No way to make it comfy. Room door was a screen and jalosie shutters that looked like they had been "compromised" more than once. It has a restaurant that I'd never eat from. Birds regularly walk/fly in and out of the small kitchen area and scavenge on and around the tables. Decent beach side bar with good service and prices you'd expect from such a spectacular view of the bay and boardwalk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello Soapyjd,

Thanks for your review of our fantastic "diamond location" property. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our timeshare rooms and that you found the coffee service convenient. The hotel does provide complimentary beach towels as indicated at check-in and your in-room directory. This year we did replace the mattresses in rooms.

The restaurant that is onsite is independly owned and operated and the TA community would certainly appreciate a review of your experience in the appropriate location.

We wish you the best in your future travels and look forward to reading more contributions as your participation increases.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel sits on its own private island just offshore. Our vacation here was quiet and relaxing. The staff members were friendly and helpful starting with the boat captain and continuing to Sara at the front desk. Our room had been remodeled and included a little kitchenette, new bathroom, flat screen TV, king bed, thick beige towels and linens.

The hotel beach was where we spent our time sitting under a palm tree when we weren't swimming or snorkeling. It was kept clean and raked daily. Restaurants and shops are close by so a rental car was not needed.

If you want a clean beach in a beautiful location at a reasonable price, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.