We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location to Christiansted” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Hotel on the Cay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient location to Christiansted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here Christmas week and did like the location on Protestant Cay, a quick and easy ferry ride to the downtown area. The beach, actually part of the harbor was kept clean every day, but on the Friday that we were there the cruise ship people were using "our" beach. We were told to move our chairs to another less desirable part of the beach so the cruisers could use our area...not a request that went over well.. Supposedly the hotel was unaware of this policy.. The room was adequate and clean, although the hotel itself and premises are in dire need of general maintenance and upkeep. The area around the hotel had broken chairs and lawn furniture just thrown under bushes and shrubs. This could be a spectacular spot if LOTS of money were put into it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    163
    64
    34
    18
See reviews for
61
173
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent first two weeks of January at Hotel on the Cay on Protestant Cay, a quick and convenient 2-minute ferry ride from Christiansted.

The staff was friendly and Sara at the front desk is very helpful. Our waitress Marina provided excellent service from Harbormaster Restaurant. Conch meal and Cruzan Confusion best in town.

Room had updated bath, large flat panel TV, new king with nice linens & towels. Room was cleaned and linens/towels changed twice a week. Kitchenette with microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot and small frig allows for in-room breakfast and sandwich snacks. Great sandy beach for swimming and snorkeling. Spent most of day at beach.

Excellent meal at St. George Botanical Gardens hosted by St. Croix culinary students held twice a month. Great food at numerous restaurants in Christiansted and along Boardwalk.

The hotel is outdated in some respects but many upgrades have been completed and more are underway. Cable did not work the first week but was repaired by the start of the 2nd week. The WIfi service is spotty. It is not luxurious but is a charming vacation spot to rest and relax.



  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Hotel on small island 200 yards offshore. Convenient shuttle ferries guests to/from. Bulk of rooms are timeshare community. Spectacular beach with plenty of chairs loungers umbrellas and towels all go additional fee. It gets quite crowded on weekends. No lifeguards in sight. Room was small and unremarkable other than view. Air conditioner was very loud but needed to cut humidity. Coffeemaker in room, but coffee only available from front desk. Bed was a full size box spring and a 3 or 4 inch thick mattress. No way to make it comfy. Room door was a screen and jalosie shutters that looked like they had been "compromised" more than once. It has a restaurant that I'd never eat from. Birds regularly walk/fly in and out of the small kitchen area and scavenge on and around the tables. Decent beach side bar with good service and prices you'd expect from such a spectacular view of the bay and boardwalk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello Soapyjd,

Thanks for your review of our fantastic "diamond location" property. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our timeshare rooms and that you found the coffee service convenient. The hotel does provide complimentary beach towels as indicated at check-in and your in-room directory. This year we did replace the mattresses in rooms.

The restaurant that is onsite is independly owned and operated and the TA community would certainly appreciate a review of your experience in the appropriate location.

We wish you the best in your future travels and look forward to reading more contributions as your participation increases.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel sits on its own private island just offshore. Our vacation here was quiet and relaxing. The staff members were friendly and helpful starting with the boat captain and continuing to Sara at the front desk. Our room had been remodeled and included a little kitchenette, new bathroom, flat screen TV, king bed, thick beige towels and linens.

The hotel beach was where we spent our time sitting under a palm tree when we weren't swimming or snorkeling. It was kept clean and raked daily. Restaurants and shops are close by so a rental car was not needed.

If you want a clean beach in a beautiful location at a reasonable price, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I am absolutely enamored with this hotel. The location cannot be beat: you have your own private, semi-deserted island. Those who say the hotel is a bit run down are absolutely right, but I found it endearing...and a bit mysterious. I consider it a great deal for the price -- as long as you know what you're getting into. It's not a full-service, resort hotel, but I loved feeling like we had our own private island -- and for a great price!

Everything worked just fine in our room, which had a beautiful view. We didn't interact with hotel staff much, but when we did they were friendly and helpful. With a few renovations (say, maybe opening the upstairs bar sometimes, rather than using it as a storage area), I could see this hotel easily becoming the best thing any of the US Virgin Islands have to offer!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the last 3 nights of our stay in St. Croix. It is on an island in the middle of Christiansted harbor and you must take a 1 minute ferry to and from the hotel. We personally never had to wait more than 5 minutes or so for the ferry and they were kind enough to arrange a ferry ride for us at 6AM on the day we had to depart. The hotel is old and a little dated but our room on the second floor facing out towards the ocean seemed to have been recently updated. It had a nice flat screen TV, new towels, linens, and housewares. Our AC worked very well and we also liked having the option of opening our patio door and letting in the ocean breeze. The only negative of our trip came on Friday night when we had a few drunken revelers talking loudly outside of our door for a few minutes around 9PM and then later we could hear the LOUD music coming from one of the bars along the Christiansted boardwalk. Seriously it felt like the band/DJ was right outside our door. However, we slept on the bed furthest away from the door and it kind of faded out. Both of the other nights the hotel was very quiet at night. The hotel property contains a very nice beach which they comb every morning, large deck area for throwing get togethers, laundry facilities, bar, small convenience store, and enough open space to not feel crowded even when the hotel is full. The staff was friendly and accomodating. A nice feature in the front office was a computer set up for guests where they encouraged you to print off any boarding passes or documents you may need for your return trip. This is not a luxury resort just a typical St. Croix establishment that is low on frills but high on relaxation. I would say that Hotel on the Cay would be a great place for older folks looking to relax or families looking to retreat from the crowds after a day of excursions around the island. The hotel also seems to have a loyal following because we met several families, couples, and singles who told us they have been coming back to this place for years and years during the holiday season.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Jcaugh-

Thanks so much for the review. I am pleased to read that our trusty boat captains made sure that your wait was minimal and faster than our standards! You were also lucky enough to mingle with our very loyal timeshare owners that have supported our property for many years. They have so many stories to share with our hotel guests and are very helpful with providing 'insider' info about the best places to visit, eat and kick back a few beverages on the island.

Please come back and check out our progress. As you have seen and experienced first hand, we are introducing new in-room amenities for our guests. Take care and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband came here for are honeymoon. We really liked it because we are not found of crowed's and we like the small layed back atmosphere. However if you are in to big places that have things like a gym and a golf corse then don't come here because its more like comfortable camping. Very clean and comfortable though!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
amygport-

I appreciate the review. Congratulations on your recent marriage! We are pleased that you chose to stay with us. Each year we play host to many honeymooners and couples looking to tie the knot at our unique island paradise. We like to keep it simple as gyms and golf courses only lead to higher prices for all! Rather we focus on the fact of having a small 53 room on a private island with an amazing beach area, clean rooms with unparalleled views...many of which have a kitchenette! Golf courses are only a short drive from the hotel.

We do hope you come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.