We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just enjoyed a relaxing two week vacation at the Hotel on the Cay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Save Saved
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
1 review
“We just enjoyed a relaxing two week vacation at the Hotel on the Cay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel sits on its own private island just offshore. Our vacation here was quiet and relaxing. The staff members were friendly and helpful starting with the boat captain and continuing to Sara at the front desk. Our room had been remodeled and included a little kitchenette, new bathroom, flat screen TV, king bed, thick beige towels and linens.

The hotel beach was where we spent our time sitting under a palm tree when we weren't swimming or snorkeling. It was kept clean and raked daily. Restaurants and shops are close by so a rental car was not needed.

If you want a clean beach in a beautiful location at a reasonable price, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    128
    54
    30
    16
See reviews for
46
133
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I am absolutely enamored with this hotel. The location cannot be beat: you have your own private, semi-deserted island. Those who say the hotel is a bit run down are absolutely right, but I found it endearing...and a bit mysterious. I consider it a great deal for the price -- as long as you know what you're getting into. It's not a full-service, resort hotel, but I loved feeling like we had our own private island -- and for a great price!

Everything worked just fine in our room, which had a beautiful view. We didn't interact with hotel staff much, but when we did they were friendly and helpful. With a few renovations (say, maybe opening the upstairs bar sometimes, rather than using it as a storage area), I could see this hotel easily becoming the best thing any of the US Virgin Islands have to offer!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the last 3 nights of our stay in St. Croix. It is on an island in the middle of Christiansted harbor and you must take a 1 minute ferry to and from the hotel. We personally never had to wait more than 5 minutes or so for the ferry and they were kind enough to arrange a ferry ride for us at 6AM on the day we had to depart. The hotel is old and a little dated but our room on the second floor facing out towards the ocean seemed to have been recently updated. It had a nice flat screen TV, new towels, linens, and housewares. Our AC worked very well and we also liked having the option of opening our patio door and letting in the ocean breeze. The only negative of our trip came on Friday night when we had a few drunken revelers talking loudly outside of our door for a few minutes around 9PM and then later we could hear the LOUD music coming from one of the bars along the Christiansted boardwalk. Seriously it felt like the band/DJ was right outside our door. However, we slept on the bed furthest away from the door and it kind of faded out. Both of the other nights the hotel was very quiet at night. The hotel property contains a very nice beach which they comb every morning, large deck area for throwing get togethers, laundry facilities, bar, small convenience store, and enough open space to not feel crowded even when the hotel is full. The staff was friendly and accomodating. A nice feature in the front office was a computer set up for guests where they encouraged you to print off any boarding passes or documents you may need for your return trip. This is not a luxury resort just a typical St. Croix establishment that is low on frills but high on relaxation. I would say that Hotel on the Cay would be a great place for older folks looking to relax or families looking to retreat from the crowds after a day of excursions around the island. The hotel also seems to have a loyal following because we met several families, couples, and singles who told us they have been coming back to this place for years and years during the holiday season.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Jcaugh-

Thanks so much for the review. I am pleased to read that our trusty boat captains made sure that your wait was minimal and faster than our standards! You were also lucky enough to mingle with our very loyal timeshare owners that have supported our property for many years. They have so many stories to share with our hotel guests and are very helpful with providing 'insider' info about the best places to visit, eat and kick back a few beverages on the island.

Please come back and check out our progress. As you have seen and experienced first hand, we are introducing new in-room amenities for our guests. Take care and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Me and my husband came here for are honeymoon. We really liked it because we are not found of crowed's and we like the small layed back atmosphere. However if you are in to big places that have things like a gym and a golf corse then don't come here because its more like comfortable camping. Very clean and comfortable though!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
amygport-

I appreciate the review. Congratulations on your recent marriage! We are pleased that you chose to stay with us. Each year we play host to many honeymooners and couples looking to tie the knot at our unique island paradise. We like to keep it simple as gyms and golf courses only lead to higher prices for all! Rather we focus on the fact of having a small 53 room on a private island with an amazing beach area, clean rooms with unparalleled views...many of which have a kitchenette! Golf courses are only a short drive from the hotel.

We do hope you come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If I were judging Hotel on the Cay on appearance alone, it wouldn't score so high. It is outdated and could use a few repairs. HOWEVER, that's where the negatives end. Stay there, and in no time you'll see how absolutely wonderful, friendly, gracious, considerate, and helpful (did I mention friendly??) they are!! Within a day, each of the staff learned not only the names of my friends and I, but also our favorite drinks and meals at the restaurant. The food at the restaurant was quite good and in my opinion, the drinks were the best on the island! The hotel was always very clean. Most of the rooms are time shares, and so they while the updates are slow going, they are indeed happening. This place has AMAZING potential, but what it has at the moment is also fantastic! It has a beautifully maintained beach (the only hotel in the area with a beach, let alone a private one. The location is close to the boardwalk where you will find many restaurants, shops, excursions and bars. The ferry to the boardwalk runs every few minutes until midnight and is free for hotel guests. After midnight the ferry is on call so you are never stranded. In fact, they keep a mental note of which guests have returned to the hotel and who hasn't, so you definitely feel they take an interest and are always looking out for you. My friends and I had such a wonderful time and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenham, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here the last week of October, first week of November. That is a wonderful time to visit. The hotel was not crowded and the beach was very enjoyable. They have plenty of chairs and little tiki huts to put your chairs out of the sun when so desired. The pool was being renovated so we could use it. Our room had the most gorgeous view, but it could do with some updating. The staff in the office was always helpful and accommodating. Rudi's taxi service is great, booked the trip with them to the grocery store, as well as our trip back to the airport. The waitress Jeannette at the bar/grill was very helpful. The beach was kept very clean....they had workers raking it daily. The water was sparkling clean and a pleasure to swim in. The ferry was terrific. They were there the minute you set foot at the docks and the ferry drivers all very pleasant and helpful. All in All I enjoyed a wonderful week at Hotel on the Cay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms are the 3rd floor facing the fort have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was nice. It had a small kitchenette with a sink, Microwave, Toaster Oven and Refrigerator. Plenty of room and a small balcony. It could use some updating. The hotel beach was great. Nice for sunning and swimming. The snorkeling around the beach and cay was awesome. Lots of fish to see.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.