We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid option away from the crowds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Save Saved
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Solid option away from the crowds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the last 3 nights of our stay in St. Croix. It is on an island in the middle of Christiansted harbor and you must take a 1 minute ferry to and from the hotel. We personally never had to wait more than 5 minutes or so for the ferry and they were kind enough to arrange a ferry ride for us at 6AM on the day we had to depart. The hotel is old and a little dated but our room on the second floor facing out towards the ocean seemed to have been recently updated. It had a nice flat screen TV, new towels, linens, and housewares. Our AC worked very well and we also liked having the option of opening our patio door and letting in the ocean breeze. The only negative of our trip came on Friday night when we had a few drunken revelers talking loudly outside of our door for a few minutes around 9PM and then later we could hear the LOUD music coming from one of the bars along the Christiansted boardwalk. Seriously it felt like the band/DJ was right outside our door. However, we slept on the bed furthest away from the door and it kind of faded out. Both of the other nights the hotel was very quiet at night. The hotel property contains a very nice beach which they comb every morning, large deck area for throwing get togethers, laundry facilities, bar, small convenience store, and enough open space to not feel crowded even when the hotel is full. The staff was friendly and accomodating. A nice feature in the front office was a computer set up for guests where they encouraged you to print off any boarding passes or documents you may need for your return trip. This is not a luxury resort just a typical St. Croix establishment that is low on frills but high on relaxation. I would say that Hotel on the Cay would be a great place for older folks looking to relax or families looking to retreat from the crowds after a day of excursions around the island. The hotel also seems to have a loyal following because we met several families, couples, and singles who told us they have been coming back to this place for years and years during the holiday season.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Jcaugh-

Thanks so much for the review. I am pleased to read that our trusty boat captains made sure that your wait was minimal and faster than our standards! You were also lucky enough to mingle with our very loyal timeshare owners that have supported our property for many years. They have so many stories to share with our hotel guests and are very helpful with providing 'insider' info about the best places to visit, eat and kick back a few beverages on the island.

Please come back and check out our progress. As you have seen and experienced first hand, we are introducing new in-room amenities for our guests. Take care and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    120
    53
    30
    16
See reviews for
45
127
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Me and my husband came here for are honeymoon. We really liked it because we are not found of crowed's and we like the small layed back atmosphere. However if you are in to big places that have things like a gym and a golf corse then don't come here because its more like comfortable camping. Very clean and comfortable though!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
amygport-

I appreciate the review. Congratulations on your recent marriage! We are pleased that you chose to stay with us. Each year we play host to many honeymooners and couples looking to tie the knot at our unique island paradise. We like to keep it simple as gyms and golf courses only lead to higher prices for all! Rather we focus on the fact of having a small 53 room on a private island with an amazing beach area, clean rooms with unparalleled views...many of which have a kitchenette! Golf courses are only a short drive from the hotel.

We do hope you come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If I were judging Hotel on the Cay on appearance alone, it wouldn't score so high. It is outdated and could use a few repairs. HOWEVER, that's where the negatives end. Stay there, and in no time you'll see how absolutely wonderful, friendly, gracious, considerate, and helpful (did I mention friendly??) they are!! Within a day, each of the staff learned not only the names of my friends and I, but also our favorite drinks and meals at the restaurant. The food at the restaurant was quite good and in my opinion, the drinks were the best on the island! The hotel was always very clean. Most of the rooms are time shares, and so they while the updates are slow going, they are indeed happening. This place has AMAZING potential, but what it has at the moment is also fantastic! It has a beautifully maintained beach (the only hotel in the area with a beach, let alone a private one. The location is close to the boardwalk where you will find many restaurants, shops, excursions and bars. The ferry to the boardwalk runs every few minutes until midnight and is free for hotel guests. After midnight the ferry is on call so you are never stranded. In fact, they keep a mental note of which guests have returned to the hotel and who hasn't, so you definitely feel they take an interest and are always looking out for you. My friends and I had such a wonderful time and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenham, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here the last week of October, first week of November. That is a wonderful time to visit. The hotel was not crowded and the beach was very enjoyable. They have plenty of chairs and little tiki huts to put your chairs out of the sun when so desired. The pool was being renovated so we could use it. Our room had the most gorgeous view, but it could do with some updating. The staff in the office was always helpful and accommodating. Rudi's taxi service is great, booked the trip with them to the grocery store, as well as our trip back to the airport. The waitress Jeannette at the bar/grill was very helpful. The beach was kept very clean....they had workers raking it daily. The water was sparkling clean and a pleasure to swim in. The ferry was terrific. They were there the minute you set foot at the docks and the ferry drivers all very pleasant and helpful. All in All I enjoyed a wonderful week at Hotel on the Cay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms are the 3rd floor facing the fort have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was nice. It had a small kitchenette with a sink, Microwave, Toaster Oven and Refrigerator. Plenty of room and a small balcony. It could use some updating. The hotel beach was great. Nice for sunning and swimming. The snorkeling around the beach and cay was awesome. Lots of fish to see.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were there last week. We had an enjoyable time. This is not a 5 star, but it is private, clean place to stay. The problems we noted were not directly the hotel, but the restaurant. The cook is down right rude. The all you can eat bar b q was canceled and we were very upset. We learned a cruise ship was coming in and the restaurant had a buffet. We asked to purchase a meal but the cook refused to answer us. Nearly 2 hours later we were notified that we could purchase a ticket. We were told only 2 plates, and we needed to make one trip up there. The cook stood watching us get our food. We paid for it, and we paid for our rooms but were treated second rate to the crusie ship passengers that were only there a day. We should not have eaten there the bbq was so dry we threw it out. The second problem was the boat driver. The man was so rude that we complained and found out another guest had also complained. We are from the south and my boys say thank you in fact all four of us said thank you and hello and he didnt answer. I do want to say that Julian Peirre drove the boat was so very friendly, he was always smiling. He was eager to help, and answer questions about the island. He even looked out for my son and i one night when it was dark and we wanted cake. He watched us while we went to a restaurant. He made up for the other guys rudeness for sure.
The rooms water was not working. They checked it but was not able to fix it. It was not a problem we used the sink in the bathroom. The a/c worked good, and the view was amazing. I wqill say there was a HUGE DOWNSIDE to the hotel. My 9 year old has rheumatiod arthritis and he uses a wheelchair sometimes. This place is NOT WHEELCHAIR FRIENDLY. Even on the bottom floor there are stairs just to get to the hotel. I am disabled and my 17 year old son just had brain surgery 3 weeks before but every time he needed the chair we had to carry it up and down the stairs and this is no easy task.

The water is incredible there at the hotel. It is very quiet and great for snorkling. First thing in the morning was my favorite time to go. The only complaint is the amount of baracudas in the water. THey did not attack us, but it is still scary knowing your kids are in the water and there is always a baracuda watching. It would be great if there were less of them.

We just returned home a week ago and are already planning our next trip. I would love to stay there again, but i think some of these issues need resolved. The wheelchair made it very hard. Also the rudeness of the boat driver and the cook might not be the hotel, but these compaines represent the hotel and it is a package deal being that your are isolated. Ihope this helps others.

Room Tip: 209 had a great view, and good a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We picked Hotel on the Cay through an online deal. It is very easy to get to: 20 minute cab ride from the airport, then a little ferry picks you up at the boardwalk. A quick 1 min ride and you're on Protestant Cay. We had several problems on check in: no reservation on file, first room had a short in the wall, second room had no TV or phone. Third and final room was fine but the floors definitely hadn't been cleaned. The staff were accommodating, but seemed entirely unsurprised by a potential fire hazard! As several reviewers have stated: the Hotel is going through long-term updates. Several rooms were being rehabbed during our stay (when meant construction sounds starting at about 9:30 each day). Our room, sadly, hadn't been updated yet. The kitchenette was absolutely fine. The bathroom worked fine but looked awful. Daily maid service was fine and efficient, but I don't think they sweep the floors. I'd suggest they stock a small broom and dustpan, as you do track in sand.

The hotel has a very nice little beach spot with plenty of chairs, although it's close to the "parking lot" for boats in the harbor. The Harbormaster Bar isn't much but it's good for a beer or bar food (and is not affiliated with the hotel). We took a look at the pool but didn't go swimming in it.

Aside from the check-in, interactions with the desk staff were pleasant and efficient. They were happy to arrange our cab back to the airport at the end of the trip. (I do recommend Rudi's Cab service, for both airport trips and his island tour.) We had no problems with ants but did see a few small roaches (probably disturbed by the construction).

Room Tip: Check the room thoroughly before you settle in. Crappy wifi throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words! We're glad that our courteous staff was able to find you a comfortable room to your liking. The arranged ride service from the airport to the hotel pick-up point (available for request right on our website) is the way to go and makes for a hassle-free travel experience. We do hope that you will come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.