We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barefoot Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel on the Cay to your Saves list
Hotel on the Cay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Barefoot Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is not the place to stay if you are expecting white glove service. However, if you are traveling with children, are a couple looking for a quiet relaxed beach vacation or don't want the hassle of needing a car, this is the place for you. The property is a five-acre island with about 50 rooms, each with a private entrance. There is a beach restaurant/bar which serves breakfast and lunch and each room has a kitchenette where a quick dinner can be made or heated. There are also a bbq grills which guests can share. The beach is steps from any room. We stayed for four weeks and there were days when we never left the island or wore shoes. When you feel the need to explore, there are some good restaurants in town or you can rent a car and tour the rest of the island. The hotel was once a five-star hotel; but was devastated by Hurricaine Hugo. It has slowly been coming back to it's original splendor with many renovations. There are hotels with better accomodations, but not location. It is definitely the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: There are no elevators; so, if you have a mobility problem, request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    133
    54
    31
    16
See reviews for
48
139
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

After reading some of the demeaning ratings I have to speak up. This is/was converted into time shares and is run superbly. It is 60 years old and not 5 stars. This is a place to go to be away from the hassle and crowds. The tiny island has it's own great beaches, beautiful gardens and plenty of places to take a loved one for privacy. The rooms ARE tiny, old and need reconditioning. But, they are clean and pleasant. If you want your parties, BMOC's and flash stay on St John's and pay three times the price. St Croix is really for middle income families that need a beach and day trips for the kids. Geddy A., Santa Fe, NM, USA

Room Tip: Ask for an outside view/patio looking out to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

As with most hotels, there is the good, the bad, the ugly.

Good
The location was right in the middle of the bay with amazing views of the town. You can hear the waves on the rocks as you drift off to sleep. They have their own beach...the only one in town. And the water taxi leaves every couple of minutes so you never have to wait. Each room has a frig, microwave, sink and toaster. Handy, because eating in town will cost you dearly. Bathroom was recently redone.

Bad
The furniture in the rooms is old. The walls are a little beat up. The sliding door didn't open easily. The grounds has a little trash here and there. The place was built in the 1950s, and shows it.

Ugly
Actually, there was nothing downright ugly.

We found out that many of the people staying there are timeshare owners who have been coming for decades. A very nice older crowd. Many of the people on the beach were middle aged with a few families with young children. Because it's an island (my guess 10 acres) it's as safe as you can get.

All thing considered, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the fort. Although you can't go too wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Thanks to our friend Michelle Pugh at Dive Experience we were able to book a week at Hotel on the Cay and it was perfect. We dove with Dive Experience which we could see at the dock right off the hotel. We were able to hang out on the only beach in Christiansted when we weren't diving or step into town easily. We loved it. Safe for the kids knowing where they were gave them the freedom to the have their own fun.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

If you're looking for tennis courts, golf, gambling, great night life, 5 star hotel go somewhere else. If you're looking for a nice laid back vacation, friendly people, snorkeling right off the beach, check out Hotel on the Cay. We were here the first week of December. The temperature never dipped below 75 even at night. There were moments of cloudiness, even a few brief moments of rainfall, but the weather was practically perfect. Because the peak season apparently doesn't begin until around Christmas, we only needed reservations for one restaurant and things were pretty quiet. We met a number of people who'd been coming to St. Croix and/or this hotel for years, so apparently others felt as positively as we did.

In regard to previous negative comments, the management seemed genuinely interested in eliciting feedback about the hotel and were very responsive to our requests. Everything seemed clean and there were repairs being made on several rooms. Michelle at water sports was particularly helpful, as was Sarah at the front desk.

We snorkeled practically every day; took a 1/2 day excursion to Buck Island w Caribbean Sea Tours and also a kayak trip on Salt River Bay with Virgin Kayak Tours. Both excellent. We rented a car one day to go out to Cane Bay, but other than than that, we had no need for a car. And that was nice! The ferry to Christiansted runs every 10 minutes--actually it seemed to cross more often than that--and after eating dinner on the boardwalk with a great view of the harbor it was a treat to return to the hotel that way.

There are nicer "looking" hotels on the island, but for proximity to "downtown", safety, convenience, and price, Hotel on the Cay can't be beat.

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing Christiansted was outstanding; never even used the a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West End, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We just returned home from our week at Hotel on the Cay. It's my understanding that it was built around 1959 and with Hurricane Hugo in 1989 and the owners at that time basically abandoning it........it's seen some tough times and that's obvious. With that being said, our room was smaller than expected, but clean and the mattresses were very comfortable and appeared to be new. They're in the process of total renovations of all the bathrooms and actually completed 7 during our visit. The rooms and other buildings are to follow with updates and renovations. The pool was very large and well kept though I'm not certain everyone knew it was there. Your room key opens the gate to the pool.
The staff was cordial and always helpful. The location, the beach and the views can't be beat!
Food is expensive and there is only one restaurant at the hotel itself. We made the taxi trip to Pueblo grocery and there's another grocery called Schooner Bay within walking distance of the hotel. I'd suggest taking a piece of roller luggage or the $2.50 cab for this one. We stocked up on rum, cheese, eggs, cereal, etc. for quick breakfasts or meals in our room.
Golden Rail was one of our favorite restaurants and the hotel offers a water taxi to get there on Sunday evenings. Our favorite deli/restaurant was Alley Galley!!! Huge, delicious sandwiches which we normally split and $3 pina coladas.....yum!!
Don't expect a 4 or 5 star hotel, but be aware that efforts are definitely being made to make significant improvements on this little gem.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have wonderful views especially on the Fort side and the ocean side. Ocean side al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011 via mobile

Upon entering our room my first thoughts were, "This place is a dump!". We were immediately checking for a different room. There were no other rooms available. We then considered moving to another hotel but we were just not familiar with the area.
The room seemed clean but in poor condition. The furnishings were extremely worn and dingy from years of use. The label on the box springs was faded, dirty and worn to the point it was unreadable. The sliding glass doors and screens were very difficult to open. The railing on the balcony did have large rust spots almost completely through the metal. There appeared to be mold growing on the ceiling by the air conditioning. Tiles on the floor and in the bathroom had been replaced with unmatched pieces and the caulking was terrible. It took a while to get hot water for a shower.

To be fair we did see that a number of rooms were being remodeled, and we did see things like new light fixtures on the grounds. On the other hand I also saw electrical panels rusted and partially coming out of the walls and also some of the grounds were overgrown and unkept. When I went to check out the pool it was locked up. The WIFI did seem to work pretty well and was free.

Some staff were very friendly and helpful while others were not. We asked for a second key when we checked in and never got it. There is no safe in the room and the lock boxes at the front desk are small. However after a few days I was no longer worried. The restaurant, which is on the beach, is more of a bar and grill for breakfast and lunch.
The food and service were average.

On several nights we had some noisy neighbors. The front desk shuts down after 11pm so I am not sure who you would call. To be fair I read somewhere that the hotel does not guarantee it to be quiet.

We also got ate up by bugs. It was so bad in our room that we put OFF on in the room and before sleeping.

I don't mean to slam the hotel because it looks like they are moving in the right direction. We had a good time on St Croix despite our experiences. I just want the reader to be aware there is at least one bad room still there.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on the Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.