We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Best prices from these 7 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
East Liverpool, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The resort staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The resort is on the east end of the island and it is a $12 per person cab ride to get to the nearest city. If you go on a tour of the island, use Sweeney's tours. Have Sweeney stop at the Domino Club and watch the pigs drink beer. Best laugh for a buck. Snorkeling is great, get an excursion to Buck island. We went to the casino one night, it was OK.( We are not big gamblers). The bar poured good drinks and served some bar food for lunch. We went in November and there were not very many guests, some people staying there went to workshops at the University and we hardly ever saw them. The resort was well maintained.

Room Tip: We had no problems with our room. No cooking or microwave, small refrigerator with a sink and some g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Happy Holidays!

Thank you for sharing a review of your vacation with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed not only the Resort but other activities offered around the island. St. Croix in it's unique ecological diversity, is home to many different species. Some of the most entertaining animal entertainment are the Beer Drinking Pigs at the Domino Club and it's great that you got to see them.

Thanks again for sharing your review. Have a happy and prosperous New Year!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    167
    98
    71
    33
See reviews for
126
233
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Revere, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Boston - Dec 2013 - Great Room in 309, food was very good and love the Hot Stone Rock Dinners...themes every night and a Country Western Hoe-Down from Nashville that was great...weather was perfect every day with a little rain at night - don't miss out on an excursion to Buck Island and snorkel the marine park - it's a beautiful place and national monument...Our hats go off to Sharon at the front desk :-), Marlon, Scott, Carolla and Lois for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinners and Cocktails at the Bar overlooking that beautiful ocean, Robert at Activities is a wealth of info - Thank you and Merry Christmas to everyone...we had a great time and would love to come back some time - for that incredible breeze and ocean views - debra and paul

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Seasons Greetings!

Thank you for sharing a review of the time you spent with us. We are happy to hear that you were able to make great friendships with several of our staff. From your review it seems as though you participated in all the activities we offered during your stay.

It's always good to hear when you need to improve but it's awesome to hear when you really hit the nail on your head. Sounds like you really enjoyed your vacation.

Thanks again and all the best for the New Year!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Divi for a six days last February. This is a very nice resort for the specific set of travellers.

Beach - The beach was ok. If you are looking for a perfect beach or big waves this isn't the right place for you. There is a reef that surrounds the island that protects it and blocks out most waves. On the other hand - if you like to snorkel, we found the area great. We would get equipment each day. Walk down the beach about 1/2 mile and let the current carry you back as you snorkel.

Rooms were nice. We had an ocean side and it was nice to wake up each morning and see the ocean.

Food. Food was ok. It is a smaller resort so there isn't a lot of choices.

Staff. the staff was very friendly and always willing to answer questions or provide advice.

A nice resort for the right type of traveller.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean side room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Seasons Greetings!

Thank you for sharing a review of your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our time together. It was our pleasure sharing our Crucian Hospitality with you and your loved ones.

Thanks again for sharing! Enjoy the holidays.

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I visited St. Croix for our honeymoon and chose to stay at Divi. I can't say enough about how much we LOVE it there! From the amazing friendly staff, to the great meals all day long, the entertainment every night, to the incredible activities that are available and INCLUDED. We had a blast! If you want to relax and wind down you will be impressed with gorgeous beach and room views. If you want to explore then take advantage of the activities shack on the beach! We went snorkeling nearly every day, hiked the mountains to a breathtaking secluded beach, fell in love with paddle boarding, and even kayaked. The bartenders are great and so is the wait staff! I feel that they go out of their way to ensure that your stay is wonderful and that you will want to come back. Additionally, my wife and I are a lesbian couple, and choosing to stay in the islands was something we did very strategically as not all islands are friendly to gay couples. We never ever once felt uncomfortable at Divi! We were treated no differently than any other couple, and we felt at home there during our entire stay! We do recommend renting a car (get a Jeep!) as it is helpful if you want to go check out shopping and explore the island a bit. We cannot wait to go back to St. Croix and wouldn't stay anywhere but Divi! <3 Dawn and Mandy

Room Tip: If you want more privacy choose a top floor room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! Here at Divi we try to make sure that every vacation is a memorable one by welcoming each guest to become a part of our family. It warms are hearts to know that you felt as much a part of the Carina Bay Family as we do!

We share these posts with the staff so that they know how much their hospitality and the time they shared with you is appreciated. The genuineness of your comments really brought a glow to many around property.

Thanks again for sharing!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Preface: My best friend and I spent 4 days at the Divi recently, as a gift from our husbands to celebrate our 50th birthdays. It was our first stay at a resort of this type, and we had a blast!

Review: If you have come to St. Croix to shop, stoll the wharfs, and party the nights away, the Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Resort is probably NOT the place for you. However if you have come like we did, to get away from it all, to relax and commune with nature in paradise, to fall asleep to the sound of the waves lapping on the beach, to not have to worry about where to eat or how much it’s going to cost, then this resort is AWESOME, and highly recommended. Not that there’s nothing to do – far from it – but it is definitely aimed at the more active individual who would rather snorkel than shop, who’s content to hike, swim or play mini-golf rather than watching TV or spending massive time on the internet. There’s also a full service Casino on the property for those who are into that – not being gamblers or into that scene at all, we walked in, spent five minutes looking around, and walked out.

Virtually all the staff at the Divi are super courteous, friendly, and committed to making your experience the best it can be. We arrived in the late afternoon, tired and stressed from our trip. After putting our bags in our room, we wandered off to find some food and ran into Marlon in the Docksider’s kitchen. He instantly recognized us as newbies, showed us where to sit, and introduced us to the best salad and mango-vinaigrette dressing EVER. I think my blood pressure dropped about 20 points just over that meal. We were regulars at Marlon’s tables for the rest of our stay.

After sleeping off our exhaustion for the better part of a day, we set off for the workout room for a brief warm up, and then stopped at the activities shack, thinking that we’d sign up for the afternoon kayaking tour. Robert, the activities director, warned us that while he’d be willing to do the kayak tour, the steady breeze of the day had made the water choppy and the going would be strenuous and not as much fun as normal. He was thinking of doing a snorkeling tour instead, so we signed up for that and were issued our snorkeling gear as well as a set of basic preparatory swims that we were to perform prior to the tour in order to familiarize ourselves with swimming with fins and using the snorkel. We immediately started our assignment. We found that the sea was warmer than the swimming pool, and as soon as we put our faces in the water, a new world opened up that we never would have guessed had existed right off the beach. We saw fish almost right away, fish we had never seen before, fish of different colors, different sizes, different personalities. We were hooked. We spent much of the next three days with Robert doing the snorkel tours as well as the 3 ½ mile hike & snorkel tour, and I’m sure I saw more species of fish and sea life in those three days than I have in the rest of my life! He was a great instructor and guide, and was also very willing to flex his schedule to the extent he could so we could fit in as many activities as possible for before we had to leave.

The friend I was travelling with is a devout Catholic, and one of her biggest worries going into this vacation was how she was going to get to mass at the church she had found online, as the resort was truly “in the middle of nowhere”. Edmond at the concierge desk made that more than easy. We told him where we wanted to go and when, and he scheduled the right cab for the job. Unlike some of the other taxi vans on the island, Stephen’s van was immaculate – perfect for going to church in! As we were going on Saturday night and spending an hour shopping as well, Stephen took us for a lap around Christiansted, showing us where to go and what landmarks to use to best get from the shopping district to the church. He also made sure all of us knew where we would be picked up and when, and it all went very smoothly – we got our shopping for the trip done, church was beautiful, and we got back to the Divi all per plan.

This had been a particularly long day, so after we arrived back at the resort we decided it was time to try one of the “house special” mudslides. As the day bar was closed, we strolled out to East End Pizza, an outdoor pizza / bar located on the resort property not far from our room. There we met Rasheem, whose eyes twinkled when we ordered our mudslides. He explained how his were a little different than everyone else’s… and he was right. Rasheem’s mudslides were just out of this world, easily the best heavily mixed drink I have ever had! The next day at lunch, we ordered mudslides from the main bar, and they just didn’t compare. We didn’t finish them, and went back to visit Rasheem again later on.

Overall, the Divi was the perfect resort for us. I can’t say enough about how nice or how accommodating the staff are. While the facility isn’t new, the rooms were bright, comfy and clean, each with a private porch overlooking the sea. We had a fabulous time and would love to return, either by ourselves or with our families!

Room Tip: All rooms face the water, but the higher floors have better views and private porches. The bottom f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing such glowing remarks about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Crucian Hospitality. It seems as though this was not just an ordinary trip for you but one where you took away many friends.

On behalf of the staff that you mentioned, thank you for the well deserved pat on the back. Too often you hear about improvements and not to many "at-a-boy"s. By your remarks, I'd say we are right on target with providing great service.

Once again, thank you for sharing. These reviews help others to decide if this is the place they would want to visit. Your detailed remarks are certainly filled with excitement as well as rest and relaxation.

Until we meet again...

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Recently had the opportunity to stay at this spacious and very clean hotel. The view from the room is dramatic. You are faced with the crystal clear blue waters of the Caribbean Sea from your bed, from the balcony. Staff is wonderful and very helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed the meals and look forward to another stay at this serene and wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. You will have to decide a lower or upper floor. I prefer upper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing a brief but glowing review of your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Divi Carina Bay and St. Croix. Reviews help us to know where we need to improve and what we are doing right. By your review, we seem to be on the right track with guest satisfaction.

Thanks again for sharing. Until we meet again...

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the Divi for 7 days, just recently. Very quite. Too quite. Been at other Divi's and more things to do. One day it rained and absolutely nothing to do . No board games around pool no cards nothing was offered. Found that the Carribean water by the beach at the resort was very seaweedy and shelly. Suppose to be 2 pools, but 1 pool is across the street and very tiny. Hot tub was empty and not working. Food was excellent along with the staff. The staff kept you entertained with their great personalities. Casino was large and clean. Pizza hut was in the parking lot. Not centralized with the resort. But great pizza and staff was terrific. Our room was very nice. A lot of the activities that were listed on the daily flyers did not happen. Entertainment at night was great but at 10:00PM resort was shut down. Will not return, but will miss the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay. We appreciate all comments and suggestions as they help us to improve on our standards as well as the activities offered. Thank you for your glowing remarks on our staff. We are glad that you were able to enjoy their hospitality and build good memories of your trip to St. Croix.

We are sorry to hear that you were not able to participate in the various activities offered around property. However, daily activities, as advertised, request that you meet at the Beach Shack or sign up. As most of our guest enjoy that there isn't someone in their face trying to get them to do something, we try to find a good balance between the activities we offer and getting guests involved.

Thanks again for sharing!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#5 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.