We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect luxury... But it's also not so bad...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't expect luxury... But it's also not so bad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

OK, so first off, it is almost on the tip of the east side of the island and pretty remote. Takes about 30 minutes to get there but this side is breathtaking... The hotel is pretty blah and needs some major updating. We switched rooms because the first one was rusted all over the room... however, Shanique was great at putting us in a better room... as good as it was going to get... views are splendid from the balcony. Ask for the third floor and there is an elevator despite a previous review that said there wasn't one... It was strangely quiet and at first, this was a little uncomfortable when going to dinner... but as the week progressed, more people arrived and it felt a little more upbeat. What turned us off at the pizza place is that they were almost demanding a tip for the cook and a separate one for the bartender even though we only ordered 2 slices of pizza and were all inclusive. I know it's slow for business but don't talk about money... good service will get you your tips... and there were a few standouts that did provide great service. Cartesha was great! She really stood out and her willingness to go out of her way to accomodate us was really appreciated! And the gentleman at breakfast was always very pleasant and always smiling. Shanique felt like our personal assistant the entire trip, really nice girl and helped us anytime we asked! Some others could use to follow suit. Some seemed like they didn't want to be there... but we made the best of it and enjoyed ourselves because the food made up for any negatives we could have. The casino was great, we lost money but it was just what we needed for a little nightlife after lounging all day. Don't expect Vegas but everything you need is there. Also, if the pizza place is closed, grab food there after hours. The quick walk is refreshing but you can ask at the desk for someone to take you in a golf cart..This is the only Casino in the USVI and the Divi is the only all inclusive on the island.. we surely got our monies worth. If you don't ever like a dish, just ask for another or try every appatizer on the menu. Food is something no one should really complain about, it was great. We also recommend you rent a Jeep from Centerline. They come right to the hotel and it's almost the same amount for the 24 hours as it would be to get car service to drive you into town or even the airport, plus it allows you to explore the awesome island... super easy to get around, pretty safe and don't worry about driving on the other side of the road... it's really not a big deal... go see the two towns and drive through the rainforest.. beaches, Rum factories and just cruise the coastline. From the Divi, it's about 15 minutes of a beautiful ride up to Point Udall.. the eastern most part of the US... absolutely breathtaking. The Links put put mini golf is a little busted, the pool table is crooked and missing balls and the activities didn't happen because there wasn't enough people, but honestly, you can so do without these.. enjoy the sun and go for a cruise in the Jeep if you need something to do. Few more things, the little black ants in your room are harmless however, the small flies/fleas on the beach can bite you... I came back with tons all over me but they didn't get my husband..this is just a side note.. Overall, this is not a luxurious Nor a very professional(staff attire) hotel but we feel like we got our monies worth for an amazing trip, all inclusive and with a Casino across the street for the entertainment. It's really laid back and maybe could use some nicer uniforms for its staff and I would suggest the hotel do some updates especially around the bar and the pool area as well as the rooms and all these reviews will be 100% positive. Thanks for a good stay at the Divi... hope you take these suggestions and please recognize the mentioned staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found your trip to be an enjoyable one. We share all of the reviews we receive with our staff. However, when guests mention any staff by name in recognition of a great job, we highlight their names and post the comment in the staff cafeteria. Seeing your name on the board really makes a difference in your day and the type of service you provide. On their behalf, thank you for recognizing the hospitality that you received from Abel, Shenique and Cartesha.

Thanks again for sharing your review.

Sincerely,

Ycianda “E.C.” Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    170
    98
    72
    33
See reviews for
128
237
17
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Traveling for our honeymoon, we went to The Divi Carina Bay expecting to relax and have a fun trip.We got just that. Was a little disappointed that the pig roast did not take place. We also wished the Pizza restaurant was open daily. With that said, the beach was great. The rooms were clean (love the deck). The staff was great, Scott at the outside bar and Luna were awesome, they made you feel like VIP everyday. Owen at the pizza restaurant was also great, making jokes and pizzas at the same time. Overall, a great place to stay. Just don't walk in expecting luxury x10, and the casino to be MGM GRAND and you will be pleased. You CAN expect great service, nice staff and a great relaxing stay!!! WE WILL RETURN.

Room Tip: On the 1st floor you can walk from your sliding door onto the beach. HOWEVER, you will have to give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Congratulations to you guys once again and thank you for sharing a review of your honeymoon with us. We are pleased to discover that you not only enjoyed your stay but that you also enjoyed the hospitality of our staff. As a resort dedicated to good service, it is important for us to hear when we could use some improvement and when we are right on track. It seems that we really hit the nail on the head during your stay.

We share reviews with our staff to encourage them to continue providing excellent service. We greatly appreciate the pat on the back you've written.

Thanks again for sharing!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I travel quite a bit and have stayed at every level hotel,motel and resort you can name - I am currently writing this review from the beach on day 4 of our 7 day trip. It's our first trip to St Croix and we are having a wonderful time! Our room is very clean and always smells nice, our food has been delicious, our drinks are great and the beach is wonderful. We are scuba divers but decided the dive sites are too far away so we just snorkled, went swimming and enjoyed the sound of the waves. All the toys for water activity are old and these aren't the best beach chairs we've ever had - but really...the staff are very nice and try to accommodate any way they can. We rented a car and drove all around the island and were happy to have our ocean breeze when we returned. If you would enjoy a clean, quiet ocean view sandy beach vacation without all the fuss - then this is your perfect get away - September is a great time to come because no one is on the island! We did not use exercise or spa facility but the massages on the pier are tempting.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front - need you say more - there are few places in the world for any amount of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay...during your stay! We are happy to hear that things were going so well that you felt you should let others know. It really warms us to know how great you thought of our hospitality.

Again, thank you for taking the time out during your vacation to share a review of your stay.

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Divi Carina Bay is a great resort. It is an older complex. Rooms are spacious and offer everything you need for a comfortable stay. Great views of the bay and the reef. The staff is what makes this a great place to stay. They were wonderful with suggestions for tours away from the resort. We took the Big Beards catamaran tour to Buck Island and the Sweeny's points of interest tour. We hit the resort on a slow week and practically had the resort to ourselves. The food was wonderful. Theme nights for dinner, full buffet breakfast and a great dockside restaurant for lunch. We were on the all inclusive package and we got our monies worth. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with a great view of the water and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your vacation with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all that we, as well as the island, had to offer. We try to create an environment that allows for our guests to feel as much a part of the Divi Family as we do and it seems like with us this was achieved.

Thanks again for sharing and we hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Divi Carina Bay is definetly not up to the Divi standards of Aruba or St Martin.There isn't much good to say about this resort.There were about 17 people staying at this resort of over 200 rooms.Most of the staff were not friendly .No elevator and we had to drag our bags to the third floor-didn't see any bellman.All rooms did have a nice view of the water.It was clean but lacking in amenities-shampoo and soap were all there was in the bathroom and the water pressure in the shower was poor.We paid $150.00 per person per night for the all-inclusive-so not worth it.The food was not great..Breakfast was pretty much the same every day but you could definitely find something to eat.Abel was the only smiling face we saw there in the morning.Lunch was at the Dockside-sandwiches and a special every day,the pizza place opened at 6pm and was only opened Thursday through Sunday.Dinner was the worst-the steak was not like our New York Sirloin-very chewy,not much flavor.The roc dinner was cook it yourself-750 degree rock your table and you choose what you want to cook-beef,chicken,pork,or fish.My fish stuck to rock and in flipping it,I left most of it there.The lighting was pretty dark and you couldn't tell whether your chicken or pork were done-scary. The desserts were few and nothing special-the red velvet cake was offered a lot.Dinner at the Dockside on most nights were buffet -you ate on the same tables and patio chairs that you sat in during the day with your suntan lotion and sweat.My arms were stuck to the tacky chairs at dinner-no tablecloths-no ambiance at all.The bars opened sometimes as early as 10a.m. but were closing down by 9:30,and always by 10p.m..
The Casino was opened late and you could get a sandwich or drink there and we never saw a shuttle taking people up the hill to get there,so we walked.Most of the activities that were listed on your sheet in your package were not available.There were not enough bodies to play volleyball,bocce,horseshoes,or shuffleboard.The sand castle build off didn't happen,nor did the hole in one contest.Yoga on the beach was $10.00 and the hiking was $15.00.They advertised for a spa-but it was closed.They offered to call someone if you wanted a treatment.If it weren't for the 3 couples we met at the Divi and the sunshine every day, we would have been bored to death.This was one of the worst vacations ever and definitely not the cheapest.

Room Tip: Try to request one without ants or little bugs in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not find anything to be pleasurable about your stay. So many reviews point out how fantastic our staff, food and accommodations are. Some even mention staff by name and appreciated the slower pace of the slow season because they felt like they had the beach to themselves. We wished you would have notified management about your concerns so that they could have been corrected as soon as possible. As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service we are continually striving to best serve our customers.

As with any other All Inclusive destinations, you will find that some things are not included. However, these do not limit you from other things that are included such as playing miniature golf, life size chess, or the nightly entertainment. Most other activities are group activities which sometimes we don’t get enough participants in order to start the game. Additionally, all activities are based on if the weather allows for the activity to take place for example if it’s too wavy we would not do the snorkeling tour. Request to the Front Desk would have solved the matter of getting someone to give you a ride to or from the Casino.

Again, we are sorry to hear that you were so displeased with your stay.

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey shore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our 4 day stay here was wonderful. The decor of the rooms are a little dated but spotless, great views of the water and the staff went out of there way to accommodate all our needs. The breakfast that was included was terrific. They had a wide variety of choices from fruit to order any way you want eggs and new and additional items were added every day. The caribbean night dinner was awesome and although the weather wasn't the best when we were there we had a great time. It is in a great location on the island. This resort is a great value that you should consider when coming to St. Croix.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay at Divi Carina Bay Resort. We are happy to hear that you found everything to be pleasing. It's always great to hear when we could use some improvement and when we are right on target. From your review, it seems that we certainly are on target.

Thanks again for sharing your review!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on August 28, 2013. The room was gorgeous it looked exactly how it did online. The staff was excellent, very personable and friendly. I do recommend getting the all inclusive package because the food is a bit pricey. But it's worth it everything I had to eat was great. My beach wedding was perfect. The staff had it setup exactly as we had discussed. It just so happens they had a band the evening I got married so we had an impromptu reception as well. I really recommend staying here if your planning to visit St. Croix.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for sharing a review of your trip to St Croix and the Divi Carina Bay Resort. We are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are always thrilled to be part of such a special occasion and no wedding would be complete without the traditional bride & groom dance. Luckily, yours was to a live band singing some Bob Marley with tuns of strangers cheering you on. What a great night! Congratulations to both of you!

Thank you for choosing to share your special moments with us. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.