We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOT WHAT WE EXPECTED!!! Not a 5 Diamond resort,but nice and a lot of fun,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GOT WHAT WE EXPECTED!!! Not a 5 Diamond resort,but nice and a lot of fun,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Traveling for our honeymoon, we went to The Divi Carina Bay expecting to relax and have a fun trip.We got just that. Was a little disappointed that the pig roast did not take place. We also wished the Pizza restaurant was open daily. With that said, the beach was great. The rooms were clean (love the deck). The staff was great, Scott at the outside bar and Luna were awesome, they made you feel like VIP everyday. Owen at the pizza restaurant was also great, making jokes and pizzas at the same time. Overall, a great place to stay. Just don't walk in expecting luxury x10, and the casino to be MGM GRAND and you will be pleased. You CAN expect great service, nice staff and a great relaxing stay!!! WE WILL RETURN.

Room Tip: On the 1st floor you can walk from your sliding door onto the beach. HOWEVER, you will have to give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Congratulations to you guys once again and thank you for sharing a review of your honeymoon with us. We are pleased to discover that you not only enjoyed your stay but that you also enjoyed the hospitality of our staff. As a resort dedicated to good service, it is important for us to hear when we could use some improvement and when we are right on track. It seems that we really hit the nail on the head during your stay.

We share reviews with our staff to encourage them to continue providing excellent service. We greatly appreciate the pat on the back you've written.

Thanks again for sharing!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    154
    90
    66
    31
See reviews for
120
208
15
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yukon, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I travel quite a bit and have stayed at every level hotel,motel and resort you can name - I am currently writing this review from the beach on day 4 of our 7 day trip. It's our first trip to St Croix and we are having a wonderful time! Our room is very clean and always smells nice, our food has been delicious, our drinks are great and the beach is wonderful. We are scuba divers but decided the dive sites are too far away so we just snorkled, went swimming and enjoyed the sound of the waves. All the toys for water activity are old and these aren't the best beach chairs we've ever had - but really...the staff are very nice and try to accommodate any way they can. We rented a car and drove all around the island and were happy to have our ocean breeze when we returned. If you would enjoy a clean, quiet ocean view sandy beach vacation without all the fuss - then this is your perfect get away - September is a great time to come because no one is on the island! We did not use exercise or spa facility but the massages on the pier are tempting.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front - need you say more - there are few places in the world for any amount of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay...during your stay! We are happy to hear that things were going so well that you felt you should let others know. It really warms us to know how great you thought of our hospitality.

Again, thank you for taking the time out during your vacation to share a review of your stay.

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Divi Carina Bay is a great resort. It is an older complex. Rooms are spacious and offer everything you need for a comfortable stay. Great views of the bay and the reef. The staff is what makes this a great place to stay. They were wonderful with suggestions for tours away from the resort. We took the Big Beards catamaran tour to Buck Island and the Sweeny's points of interest tour. We hit the resort on a slow week and practically had the resort to ourselves. The food was wonderful. Theme nights for dinner, full buffet breakfast and a great dockside restaurant for lunch. We were on the all inclusive package and we got our monies worth. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with a great view of the water and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your vacation with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all that we, as well as the island, had to offer. We try to create an environment that allows for our guests to feel as much a part of the Divi Family as we do and it seems like with us this was achieved.

Thanks again for sharing and we hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Divi Carina Bay is definetly not up to the Divi standards of Aruba or St Martin.There isn't much good to say about this resort.There were about 17 people staying at this resort of over 200 rooms.Most of the staff were not friendly .No elevator and we had to drag our bags to the third floor-didn't see any bellman.All rooms did have a nice view of the water.It was clean but lacking in amenities-shampoo and soap were all there was in the bathroom and the water pressure in the shower was poor.We paid $150.00 per person per night for the all-inclusive-so not worth it.The food was not great..Breakfast was pretty much the same every day but you could definitely find something to eat.Abel was the only smiling face we saw there in the morning.Lunch was at the Dockside-sandwiches and a special every day,the pizza place opened at 6pm and was only opened Thursday through Sunday.Dinner was the worst-the steak was not like our New York Sirloin-very chewy,not much flavor.The roc dinner was cook it yourself-750 degree rock your table and you choose what you want to cook-beef,chicken,pork,or fish.My fish stuck to rock and in flipping it,I left most of it there.The lighting was pretty dark and you couldn't tell whether your chicken or pork were done-scary. The desserts were few and nothing special-the red velvet cake was offered a lot.Dinner at the Dockside on most nights were buffet -you ate on the same tables and patio chairs that you sat in during the day with your suntan lotion and sweat.My arms were stuck to the tacky chairs at dinner-no tablecloths-no ambiance at all.The bars opened sometimes as early as 10a.m. but were closing down by 9:30,and always by 10p.m..
The Casino was opened late and you could get a sandwich or drink there and we never saw a shuttle taking people up the hill to get there,so we walked.Most of the activities that were listed on your sheet in your package were not available.There were not enough bodies to play volleyball,bocce,horseshoes,or shuffleboard.The sand castle build off didn't happen,nor did the hole in one contest.Yoga on the beach was $10.00 and the hiking was $15.00.They advertised for a spa-but it was closed.They offered to call someone if you wanted a treatment.If it weren't for the 3 couples we met at the Divi and the sunshine every day, we would have been bored to death.This was one of the worst vacations ever and definitely not the cheapest.

Room Tip: Try to request one without ants or little bugs in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not find anything to be pleasurable about your stay. So many reviews point out how fantastic our staff, food and accommodations are. Some even mention staff by name and appreciated the slower pace of the slow season because they felt like they had the beach to themselves. We wished you would have notified management about your concerns so that they could have been corrected as soon as possible. As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service we are continually striving to best serve our customers.

As with any other All Inclusive destinations, you will find that some things are not included. However, these do not limit you from other things that are included such as playing miniature golf, life size chess, or the nightly entertainment. Most other activities are group activities which sometimes we don’t get enough participants in order to start the game. Additionally, all activities are based on if the weather allows for the activity to take place for example if it’s too wavy we would not do the snorkeling tour. Request to the Front Desk would have solved the matter of getting someone to give you a ride to or from the Casino.

Again, we are sorry to hear that you were so displeased with your stay.

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey shore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our 4 day stay here was wonderful. The decor of the rooms are a little dated but spotless, great views of the water and the staff went out of there way to accommodate all our needs. The breakfast that was included was terrific. They had a wide variety of choices from fruit to order any way you want eggs and new and additional items were added every day. The caribbean night dinner was awesome and although the weather wasn't the best when we were there we had a great time. It is in a great location on the island. This resort is a great value that you should consider when coming to St. Croix.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay at Divi Carina Bay Resort. We are happy to hear that you found everything to be pleasing. It's always great to hear when we could use some improvement and when we are right on target. From your review, it seems that we certainly are on target.

Thanks again for sharing your review!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on August 28, 2013. The room was gorgeous it looked exactly how it did online. The staff was excellent, very personable and friendly. I do recommend getting the all inclusive package because the food is a bit pricey. But it's worth it everything I had to eat was great. My beach wedding was perfect. The staff had it setup exactly as we had discussed. It just so happens they had a band the evening I got married so we had an impromptu reception as well. I really recommend staying here if your planning to visit St. Croix.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for sharing a review of your trip to St Croix and the Divi Carina Bay Resort. We are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are always thrilled to be part of such a special occasion and no wedding would be complete without the traditional bride & groom dance. Luckily, yours was to a live band singing some Bob Marley with tuns of strangers cheering you on. What a great night! Congratulations to both of you!

Thank you for choosing to share your special moments with us. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at the Divi for our honeymoon... We booked the stay and paid and then started reading all of the reviews and I will admit I started to panic and had our honeymoon doomed before we even arrived.. BUT let me just say.... I was blown away in the good way!! Our trip was SO great!! First off the staff is made up of some of the greatest people we have ever met.... I don't know WHY people complain about the staff... We only had one unpleasant incident with one waitress (and she wasnt even our waitress) but the next time we saw her she was great and she waited on us a few times while we were there. We always had Abel for breakfast and he is SO sweet! We loved Morris for dinner and Marlon for lunches! E.C. the night manager is awesome! She always checked in during dinner with everyone to see how their stay was going. The food was good...It made me laugh when I heard people bash Italian night....There WAS salad and bread and all kinds of sauces...... It was great... You picked what you wanted and they cooked it up for you. ROK night was fun as was the BBQ night! The pizza was AMAZING! We had the jerk chicken pizza and my husband fell in love with it..I cant get him to ever eat pizza at home. We loved Luna and Scott at the pool bar!! Luna is a blast!! Try her Green Iguana drink.. You wont be disappointed! And Scott's drinks are fantastic!!
We also loved Robert at the activities shack!
We never had a problem with the air conditioner not working...(It was fantastic and cool!) the safe worked perfectly and the door locked perfectly...as for feeling "unsafe" We never felt that way walking around at night and the signs instructing you to lock your doors and such should just be common sense..So for people to say it made them scared.. dont you lock your doors at home?....
.I am HOPING that the people that claimed that there was no hot water realized that the its not the same as it is in the states,, You dont turn the handle all the way for hot on the Islands......... You just barely turn it on to get hot water....
The last reviewer that complained about he WIND (ok..really??)... the wind was amazing and what kept it from being way too hot! The breeze was my favorite part!
The ladders were not falling off of the pool and yes it was a little cracked... But like I told my husband when he started to grumble about it... Its a swimming pool.. not a walking pool and I also pointed out to him.... It is a year round resort..... Im sure it is hard to find time to close down the pool to drain it and patch it... because I am sure that would cause a bunch of complaining as well.. its sort of a lose/lose situation...
Also. I read someone complain about the Island dancers needing an update????..... Thats the POINT... they are traditional Island dances...
The last day we were there the pool was taking over by a large group of about 15 young local boys that were loud and rowdy and obnoxious and pushing each other and running and knocking people off their rafts to the point that there wasnt ONE paying guest in the pool.. they ran them all off.We brought it to the attention of the staff and they said there was a wedding and they were relatives of the bride and groom that lived on the Island... but the bride and groom werent even there with them..... But that is the only negative we had!!
We are already planning to return! We love it and like my husband said.. We truly feel that we made friends for like at the Divi!!

Room Tip: I cant see how their could be a bad location... I would recommend 2nd floor... Also if you are one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay with us. The best part of any vacation is leaving with friends and we are happy to hear that you were able to build a friendship while you were here.

We appreciate that you took the time to address some of the other things that other reviewers have remarked on negatively especially on the Cultural Night. Every Caribbean island has their own culture complete with traditional dances and folklore. We know that many guests choose to stay on property instead of venturing out to town and so we try to bring some of our culture to our guests. We are uniquely Caribbean American and try to provide our guests with the experience of what it means to be uniquely Caribbean American. In fact, many locals come out to the festive night in appreciation for teaching our culture to others.

Thanks again for sharing a review of your stay. We certainly are very happy to hear that you did not allow the negative reviews to impact your stay and that you were able to build great memories. Awaiting your return...

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.