We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but wouldn't go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice but wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were hoping for the best despite some not so good reviews. We were told a certain price when we booked early and that we would get 10% off for doing so. When we arrived we were told that the price we paid was only a deposit and that our balance was $455 for our 17 year old in the same room. After arguing for a while we agreed to come back and further discuss the bill and were shown to our room at the extreme end of the hotel. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned and it was obvious we were shoved to the end for spite since the place was relatively empty. We refused the room and were put closer to the main lobby which was the only place to get an internet connection.The money problem was eventually solved but when we asked for an upgrade we were told the hillside suites were booked ,which they weren't, according to people staying up there.The beach was not swimmer friendly because of sea grass and rocks but we made the best of it by snorkeling. Snorkeling was enjoyable as when u swam out into the deeper areas, it was clear and even further was a reef in which you could see many fish.The Food was good despite having one restaraunt and the pizza place. They had a mini golfing course, and a driving range(clubs werent in great condition for range). The staff, except for the main desk mgr., tried their hardest to acommadate and were very nice, hard working people. Not worth an all inclusive price.

Pros: The view, most of the food, shops and bars downtown, the weather and very friendly people. Scott the bartender.

Cons: Same choice of breakfast every day, early closing of bars and restaurants

Room Tip: closer to the lobby for internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. However, we are glad to hear that you did find several things about our property and staff that made a difference in your stay and that the problem with the associated fees was rectified.

Customer service is the most important issue that we, in the Hospitality Industry, are faced with. It is something that we try to tackle to be best of our ability each day, and despite not being pleased with your stay, we do hope that the remainder of your vacation on island was pleasant enough and that you’d consider returning to St. Croix in the future.

Sincerely,

Ycianda “E.C.” Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    200
    120
    88
    44
See reviews for
159
289
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is really in need of repair and updating. The beautiful blue roofs you see in the pictures are faded to green now. The pool had big chunks out of the floor. There was a really grumpy person at the front desk on our arrival (really poor 1st impression). Most of the rest of the staff were very friendly, happy and helpful. The beach towels were pathetic. Super small and almost see through and you get one per person. Had to make resevervations for dinner every night and this was low season. Very few eating options although the food was really good. The pizza was fantastic. If you want a cocktail after 10pm you need to go to the casino which is not that close. They will take you there on a golf cart but this is not a secured resort and we didn;t feel comfortable walking there in the dark. We were surprised it wasn't secured. There is a mini fridge in the room but it isn't stocked with anything, not even water. Only 1 bar was open at any time during the day. Pool bar closed at 5 many days. On May 1 the implemnted a system in which you have to sign for every food and beverage item you order. It slows things down and it is very annoying It's an all inclusive...why do we have to sign for all our stuff!! I've been to lots of all inclusives and never seen this before. The beach is not as nice as it looks. Slightly rough (rocky and weedy beach). Bring water shoes. Wouldn't go here again. Whatch out for bugs. At night there are little tiny bugs you can't see but they bite. I probably have 50 bites from the last night there (the only day that wasn't windy) and we were only on the hotel patio not on the beach. Bring bug spray.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy the time that you spent with us but happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Customer Service is the most important issue that we, in the Hospitality Industry, are faced with and one that we try to tackle to the best of our ability each day, and your observations are greatly appreciated. In an effort to have an area that both children and adults can enjoy, the Casino is located just across the street. If for any reason someone would like to be dropped off or picked up to or from the casino, someone on staff or a security guard will take you over using our golf carts. Aside from the cars driving along the main road that separates the two establishments, it is pretty safe to walk to and from the casino.

Not every guest that stays at the resort is an All Inclusive guest. We have corporate as well as local and Beachcomber Club Members (the Casino membership club) guests as well and which may not have the All Inclusive Package. As a result, it would be hard for us to keep stocked fridges as we would have to have specific rooms dedicated to only these reservations. We have two bars in the main building; if one bar is closed we always have another bar open as well as the bar at the Casino or the Pizza Bar. The “no see-ums” are present all around the island and as you’ve noted, not present unless there is no wind. They are relative to what is more known as sand flies and normally come out around dusk. As we are very close to the shoreline, it would be very hard to miss them, yet we generally have a constant breeze as a result to being so close to the shore. These insects are a part of our wildlife here on the island and as we share space with them we try to be as eco-friendly as possible and confer with our pest control technician if it seems to be a lengthy period of no wind. Our bars as well as the Front Desk and The Links have OFF if you choose to use it. The Gift Shop also sells bug spray.

Again, we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay with us but we hope that you were able to take away some great memories of the island.

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I worked for months with Patti, the wedding planner. She was just wonderful, however, we were very very disappointed in the overall experience of the hotel. For an all inclusive they have limited amount of things to choose from. For example, the pizza place is only open certain days and you are limited to one place for lunch every single day. The menus are sparse. If you are in St. Croix, you want to get out and experience how wonderful it is. It's not worth paying for an all inclusive hotel when you are eating the same thing over and over. In addition, the bars close early unless you go to the casion and spend money.
The day of my wedding I called the front desk to see if water could be delievered. They responded with you have to go out and get it. On any other occassion I wouldn't have minded, but I was in a robe and getting ready for my wedding and they couldn't send any service down with water.

At the reception prime rib to sever up to 35 people. We only had 20 people. At the end of the evening I asked if there was left over food, so I could give to family that lived on the island. The response was it was all gone, however, my husband saw them take the left overs back. Ironically, the day we decided to check out, the hotel insisted on feeding us lunch since they were disappointed we were leaving because we were not pleased with the resort. They served us prime rib. Not sure if that was the same prime rib from our wedding, but when you spend $3,000 on a meal and wedding it was very unprofessional.

Most all inclusives in the world have food avaialble 24-hours a day and drinks available 24-hours a day. Under no circumstance would I recommend this resort to any of my family or friends, as they'd get mad at me if they went to stay there and found the things I did. Advice to the resort is check out some other all inclusive resorts and see what else is out there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear that you had a not so pleasant time with us. Unfortunately, the restaurant hours of operation may have not been communicated correctly as there is not just one place that you can get lunch. Lunch is served daily at the Dockside restaurant and the Carina Café in the Casino is also opened for lunch with an additional menu that includes a soup of the day. Also, the bars at the Resort and the Casino are included in the All Inclusive package. Room service, however, is not included in the package and includes a service charge so it is suggested that you go to the restaurants to order. However, if guests do not mind the charge, servers would be happy to bring your food up to you.

We do not serve leftovers. Food is freshly prepared for each meal. Drinks are also available at the Casino 11am Friday and stays open through 4am Monday and as late at 3am the other days of the week.

Again, we are sorry to hear that you were displeased with what we had to offer but we hope that you were able to take away some great memories of the island.

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaville
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

After a slight delay flying into St Croix (thanks to Seaborne Air) we enjoyed the ride by van from the airport to Divi. Douglas our driver was interesting, informative and pretty cool guy. Check-in was smooth and the bell hop was great. Being all-inclusive sure made this a more relaxing time. The breakfasts weren't the greatest but tasty. Lunches and dinners were quite good and the restaurant staff waiters, waitresses and hosts were exceptional. The bar staff was really cool. Curt cool guy and a pretty darn good karaoke singer, Scott, funny and always ready with our Bloody Mary, White wine and Pineapple and Vanilla Rum, and Krys excellent and fun. We came to relax and boy this place did not let us down. The staff was great and always ready to help. The Casino was small but always had super entertainment and we even won a little cash.
The only drawbacks we felt were that the rooms should have a clock radio for music in the room also for the alarm. We also thought it would have been neat if there was music on the beach in areas and lastly I think there was a shortage of kayaks, only two 1 person kayaks were available .
We loved it and would certainly go again'

Room Tip: Get a second or third or even fourth floor room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you ever so much for sharing a review of your stay. When employees are mentioned for the great job or hospitality in posts, we highlight their names, print them out and post the comments in the Employee Cafeteria so that they could see it at the start or end of their shifts. So on their behalf, thank you for the kudos!

We're always happy to hear from our guests and it makes it even better to hear that they enjoyed the time that they spent with us. Your comments help us to identify things that we are doing right and areas that need improving. With that said, thanks again for sharing and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I'm an avid review reader before I decide on a trip and I definitely did my research on this property before I booked. My now fiancé (he proposed on this trip!) and I decided on the property even though there were a few bad reviews. Hopefully my breakdown will help you make a well informed decision....
We arrived to the resort slightly leery but after our swift check in and the welcoming attitude of the staff we were a little less anxious. After we found a clean room with a beautiful view of the ocean we were feeling much better! We walked down to get something to eat and there was food readily available and plentiful fruity drinks!
Ok...first the downfalls....the beach is not swimmer friendly because of the rocks and seagrass. The water is clear in spots though and if you bring water shoes you should be fine. I wish I could comment on the snorkeling but on the day we decided to go at the resort the guide couldn't go because be had a 'hurt' knee from the day before. Apparently the guide, Shawn, is reliable but we didn't have the pleasure of running into him so we never got to snorkel at the resort. Also, the resort was a bit remote but still easy to get to town. The spa services are also not readily available without advance notice.
Ok...pluses....We did a tour through Big Beard out to Buck Island though and if you are in St. Croix don't miss it!!! We also kayaked at the resort and that was fun. The food is good but not 5 star. The rok dinner was really neat and East End Pizza was awesome and the bartender David was amazing! We only had trouble getting drinks one night but the staff was always friendly and accommodating.
Overall it was the best deal on the island because of the all inclusive. Also, if you get a chance take the Tan Tan tour through the rain forest and to the tide pools....truly a once of a lifetime experience. Just wish it hadn't rained but nobody could control that. Watch your trips to the casino though...we got lucky and won a decent amount but everyone else we met lost each time they went.
If you aren't expecting the Four Seasons and you're laid back with an open mind you'll be very happy with your choice!

Room Tip: Stay close to the lobby for wifi and if you have Verizon you haze NO service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi Mellissa!

Thank you for sharing a review of your vacation turned into celebration. Congratualtions once more! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be welcoming and rooms clean.

Just so you know, we are situated on part of the East End Marine park which encompasses an approximate 60 square mile long reef. The St. Croix East End Marine Park Program was created as an intention "to protect and manage the natural and cultural resources of this area." For these reasons, we share space with many wildlife to include some local deer which on occasion can be seen grazing at the drive range over by The Links Miniature Golf Course.

It's always good to hear when we are doing things right and when we can improve. We're happy to hear we are on the right track. Thanks again for sharing your experience and of course checking out that ring you got!

Sincerely,

Ycianda "E.C." Granville
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 35th Wedding Anniversary with another couple that we frequently travel with. After looking at the pictures of the hotel and reading the reviews I did not have high expectations of what the resort was going to be like. We wanted to go to St. Croix and for the most part we go to All-Inclusives. We stayed for 1 week and it was during their slow season. The service was not adequate for the most part in the restaurants. The breakfast buffet was average and we were able to order omelettes and eggs any way you want them. We never once got what we ordered. There was only one restaurant open at a time and sometimes it was a buffet. The pizza place was excellent and the service from David was also great. There was only one of the two bars open at a time and they closed at 10 pm. You were able to go across the street to the casino but were unable to bring drinks out, so therefore there was no nightcaps by the pool or your balcony. The place was dead by 1015pm. However, Curt, Scott, Kris, and Marlon were terrific at the pool bar and surrounding area. The water sports and activities were minimal. There was only one Sunfish and it was in need of repair. My husband and his friend had to fix it in order to be able to take it out. They were the only ones who used it all week. They have a snorkeling tour that I went to sign up for and Shawn said he wasn't doing it because he was "all banged up from the night before." He would draw me a map on where to go. He also said you had to be careful of the current and there were sharks in the water. Snorkeling was then out for me. There was a lot of preparation for the Taste of St.Croix and the guests that were there had to suffer somewhat because of it. We made friends with three other couples and they all felt the same way. For the money we spent here, we could have went someplace that was a lot better on another island. We definitely lowered our standards by staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms farthest away from the lobby did not always have hot water for a shower. Rooms in need of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasurable experience during your stay with us. We try to provide as many activities as possible and put the information together in what we call the Divi Melee or on our Divi Weekly Calendar so that you may plan your stay appropriately.

The Taste of St. Croix is a part of a weeklong of activities called The Food & Wine Experience where celebrity chefs such as Paula DeSilva participate as judges or even participate in competitions against our local chefs. The Food & Wine Experience was founded by the St. Croix Foundation in an effort to get our local culinary experts to showcase their skills. From experienced cooks to culinary students and other restaurants, many participate in the Taste of St. Croix where they are judged on the best of the best. Every year since this culinary explosion began, we have been the host. We understand that the preparations for the Taste of St. Croix may seem intrusive on our guest’s vacation and try to move as quickly as humanly possible to get the function ready. With some 2,000 people on property that night, we focus on making sure we are presenting a safe environment for both the attendees and our guests as well as ensuring that everyone understands their role in the event for that night.

Although you expressed your displeasure with staying here, we sincerely hope that you were able to take away some great memories of your vacation and are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be helpful as well as made friends with fellow guests.

Regards,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very nice rooms indeed, great beach, fine pool area.
Excellent breakfast; restaurant staff extremely friendly and helpful (we travelled with a small child).
Located a bit away from everything, which can be both good and bad. Peace & quiet, but if you don't have your own vehicle, everything from shopping basic groceries (including water) to finding alternatives to the hotel restaurants is very difficult.
Theres a burger bar at the nearby casino but they don't allow children inside, and the food is horrible.
Snorkeling on-site ok-ish but not great either.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us how your vacation went. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of what St. Croix and Divi Carina Bay had to offer. Though brief, you certainly painted a great picture of relaxation and hospitality.

Thanks again for sharing and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
7.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
6.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#2 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.