We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own private island” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Your own private island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you typically travel in the islands, you will be disappointed. Staff would consistently give conflicting info when we asked questions. I don't think anyone at the resort has any experience in the hospitality industry! They were very nice but not at all accommodating. Resort is clean but very remote. Beach is like your own private island. Pool is small and was crowded with kids. Entertainment every night was nice. Most fun was when we left resort. If you are ok with a beach chair and book for your entire vacation, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Go for 2nd or 3rd floor. Locals live on the beach and 1st floor rooms might not be safe. Request roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. We do have different activities that you could participate in while staying on property such as miniature golf, snorkel or kayak tours even a game of volley ball. The activities are mentioned both in the Daily Divi Melee and on the Divi Weekly Calendar. We are sorry if this information was not easily understood.

Nonetheless, we are glad that you were able to take away great memories of your vacation on St. Croix and we hope that you return soon.

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    165
    97
    71
    34
See reviews for
126
229
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed 7 days and had a great time!! The Snorkeling was really fun and the food was great!!! Rooms were clean and the staff were helpful and nice. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing a brief but well put review of your stay with us. We are happy to know that we were able to meet the needs of you and your family. Customer Service is the most important issue that we, in the Hospitality Industry are faced with, and one that we try to tackle to the best of our ability each day. By your comments you let us know that we are certainly on the right track.

Thanks again for positing your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balfron, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for 9 days and had a car for only 3 days. Pretty good but parts are worn and could do with some maintenance. Having read that wifi was only available close to the reception area we asked for a room with wifi but were in a room near the end of the property and had to go to the middle to use wifi or free in house public computers (2 available). Our room was very standard but we were told it was one of the modernised rooms and no alternative was offered; as the week passed wr realised the hotel was only about 60-75% full so there must have been vacant rooms.
The accommodation was acceptable and daily maid service was good. All the restaurants and bars were not open all the time but adequate with the staff very friendly and helpful. The pizza bar is good.
Even although it is all inclusive the price seemed high but the only time we had a problem was when we went to the casino and the barman wanted a 'tip' to mix a drink so we left and did not go back.
St Croix has a lot of closed properties including the oil refinery that was closed less than 2 years ago making 2,000 workers reduntant but there is hope with a new Morgans rum distillery just opened and the island has an excellent airport with fairly good connections.
Divi Carina Resort is somewhat isolated at the east end of the island however being all inclusive one tends to stay at the hotel where there are adequate facilites.

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room insist on getting a room near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as the variety in foods that we offer. We are working on renovating the resort bit by bit and are happy to know that this did not mar your ability to truly experience Carina Bay and St. Croix.

The island has certainly felt the impact of the Refinery Closure however we continue to make strides in areas that had long gone unnoticed. Thank you for taking the time out to see St. Croix and all of its beauty. And thank you for sharing your review with us. Hurry back!

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

With some TLC, Divi can be a jewel. But we still had a TERRIFIC time and the kids want to return soon! Great location on the east end of STX, right on the beach. Shout outs and thanks to Curt, Scott, and Marlon at Dockside Café and Bar; David at East End Pizza; Robert in Activities; Edmond in the lobby; and our daily room-service lady (didn’t get a name, Room 262, Mar 24-31). Desk staff seemed a little lost at times, but Courtney was a great help when we arrived. Food ranged from very average (bananas at breakfast, please) to very good (Italian and Caribbean nights, East End Pizza); Star Rox dinner is gimmicky and too much effort (the 9-year-old said, “I’m on vacation; I want to relax”). A great mix of friendly guests: families, singles, couples, nationalities. Property maintenance is an issue; everything seems to be wearing out: room fixtures (sinks, ceiling fans), pool deck (broken tiles), mini golf (though it’s a great layout). Divi is not a 5-star, but it’s a very comfortable easy-going resort that has a lot going for it. Temper your expectations and you’ll have a terrific time, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your vacation and for recognizing the hard work of our staff. We are continuously upgrading various areas of the resort, albeit a bit slowly and appreciate your observations. We're glad that this did not take away from the time you spent with us.

Thanks again for sharing your review. Don't take too long to return to St. Croix!

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St Croix, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family and I live on St Croix and finally decided to get away for the weekend at Divi Carina with some extended family that were visiting the island. One of the visiting party is handicapped and wheelchair bound and we had some teen and preteen children in our group.
Everyone had a fantastic time. The rooms were very nicely appointed and clean. The beds were comfortable. The 2 pools were nice and saw much of both kids and adults.
We spent time on the beach and participating in water sports.
The included buffet breakfast was also a big hit with everyone. Food was great.
All in all, we had a wonderful weekend and would stay there again for sure.
Thanks Very Much

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor above the watersports shack and loved the rooms and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your staycation! We're glad to hear that we were able to meet the needs of your family. We understand how difficult it could be traveling with such a diverse group, especially with someone who has special needs. We try to ensure that special needs persons have accommodations that allows them to have a spectacular time along with the rest of their group.

We try to bring a bit of the island's culture into the resort and that you guys decided to stay with us lets us know we are on the right track. Thanks again for posting.

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

All in all it was a great 30th Wedding Anniversary vacation for us. Our room and the whole resort is very very clean. The staff is friendly and the bartenders, Chris, Joel and Scott are the best! They really hustle and have really pleasant, fun attitudes. Special thanks to food server named Marion who was very friendly and accommodating.
David at the pizza shack is awesome! Friendly, fun guy who takes pride in his food. The pizza and salads are really delicious! There are a lot of people that were very pleasant and helpful to us but we can’t remember their names.

There were more pros than cons for us. (what we would have liked is clearer directions on how, what, where and when to do things at the resort. The first day was a bit confusing) Don't be afraid to ask questions at the front desk, they are very helpful and willing to assist you in any way. We had to take our luggage up to 3rd floor ourselves because no one informed us that a bell hop could have done that for us. Also it would be nice if the staff would communicate with the guests that if they do not wish to eat at the buffet that night, they have other options from the kitchen if available.

There were only a few things that really disappointed us.
We were there to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Our travel agent had informed them, it was on our paperwork, so it was a bit surprising when none of the staff even mentioned anything to us. We didnt expect anything but a "Happy Anniversary" would have been nice to hear.
The safe in our room was broken. The bell hop came to look at it and informed us that he would be back with another one. We waited almost 2 hours. Not a word. We really didn’t want to have to carry our money around with us but we didn’t want to waste our precious vacation time waiting around in the room so we went out by the pool. When we returned we noticed we had another safe but that one wasn’t working either. We called the front desk and I asked for a lock box. The girl (don’t remember her name) at the front desk was very nice and said she will personally take care of getting the forms for us to get a lock box. We never heard from her again. We decided to just forget about it. We didn’t want to be aggravated.
One of the reasons I chose this resort was because they offer an on site spa. I tried to make reservations for a hot stone massage and was basically given the run around. I was asked when I would like the service because they travel around to other resorts. I told the lady that I would be there for a week and whenever they can do it would be fine. She acted like she would really have to go out of her way to get someone there and I asked why because the hot stone massage is listed right on their menu. Again, I decided to “just forget it”. By the time I got off the phone with her I just didn’t want to do it anymore. Seemed like too much of a hassle. I met some ladies out by the pool and they also were very disappointed that they made it very hard to experience any spa services. We felt the advertisement for Spa Treatments is a gimmick.
They also offer a Hammock area near the beach which my husband would have loved to have taken advantage of . The brochure showed several hammocks-the pamphlet in the hotel room said to relax with a drink in a hammock. We went out to the Hammock area and saw only one hammock. Another couple was out there and the man went to sit in the hammock and it slid all the way down to the ground. So much for that. Again, we are easy going people and decided to just “forget it”
Everything else was very enjoyable, the people, the views the entertainment and the Island is an amazing place to experience. In order to really enjoy your stay at the Divi Carina, you must be flexible and understand when you go all inclusive that you are not going to get the food served to you as you would in a 5 star Hotel.
Also if you are not planning to rent a car, be aware that getting around the island is time consuming and make sure you plan your excursions ahead of time. It is difficult to do multiple excursions in one day if you are relying on the shuttles.

We will defiantly return to this resort and we are sure the first couple of days we are there will be much smoother because of what we learned.

Thank you Divi Carina Staff for a very relaxing wonderful vacation! Hope to see you again next year!

Room Tip: The quieter areas are behind building #2. We stayed on 3rd floor and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We're so sorry to hear that we missed celebrating your Anniversary with you. Nonetheless we are glad that our staff and hospitality were able to change things around and that things did not set you back from enjoying the time that you spent with us.

Thank you for sharing a review of the time you spent with us. We try to make each trip a special one and are glad to hear that you took away some spectacular memories. We are reviewing several areas of our services and property for improvement. Your comments let us know what we are doing right and where we could use some additional work.

Thanks again for posting and we hope to share your next anniversary celebration with you!

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a great time at this resort. The people are so friendly & helpful. The bartenders & waitstaff
are always happy to see you. Beach & pool areas are nice, always chairs available. The food is good although the all inclusive takes a little getting used to. The casino is very nice & the entertainment was top notch while we were there. If we go back to St Croix, we will book at Divi Carina.

Room Tip: the newer rooms are farthest away from the lobby. They have a couple of suites that are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. Though brief, you were able to capture all the things that make Divi Carina a place that so many others love, including yourself. As a resort dedicated to customer service, we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Thanks again for sharing your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.