We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time had during our stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Wall Township, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful time had during our stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our first time in St. Croix was a winner. The water was warm, clear, and very blue. We are water enthusiasts, so the water is our focus. Lots of snorkeling right off of the resort's beach. Lots of sea life. People were very friendly and helpful. Front desk staff could not do enough to help you. I love my new nickname "Danish". :) Sean and Robert were wonderful at the activities shack and miniature golf. Loved the Mahi wraps and coconut shrimp. The many flavors of rum weren't bad either. Thank you to Chrys for the lengthly description as to flavors and favorite drinks made from them. Cane Bay and Buck Island are truly worth a visit. Would surely like to return for another stay. Maybe longer next time. Thank you to all of the staff at Divi Carina Bay Resort. Loved your "island time".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We're so happy to hear that you had a marvelous time here on St. Croix and at the Divi Carina Bay! Thank you for the sweet but power packed review of your stay with us.

We share these reviews with the staff by posting them in the employee cafeteria. However, when you mention someone by name, we highlight their names so that they would quickly see how they made a difference to your stay. There's no better way to give Sean, Robert, Krys and all the other departments mentioned in your review.

Thank you for taking the time to post this! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    164
    93
    68
    32
See reviews for
123
223
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We just returned from staying here from 2/2-2/9 the place needs complete updating and is understaffed and the servers & bartenders are overworked,unhappy and are in no mood to help(Exceptions:EC,Marlon,Scott,Curt) if it wasn't for David,Rasheem,Celina and Owen at the Pizza place this trip would have been a complete disaster! Crazy when you think about it that you have to go to a pizza place to hear music and be treated like a guest and not a nusiance!We were on an incentive trip with 7 other couples all inclusive and we all have the same stories to tell,we actually had to leave the resort twice to go to dinner to get some descent service and food ( Duggans & Blue Water Terrace were great)And as others have said EVERYTHING closes at 10 pm you can't even get a spring water never mind a beer after 10 PM unless you go to the Casino which only has entertainment on Friday & Saturday Nites.Whatever you do if you do decide to go to this place do not try the "Rock Dinner" 6 of us made reservations one night sat there for an hour with only a glass of water offered to us then we finally had enough we left and went to the pizza place to eat and get a cocktail and stories we heard from other couples were worse sitting there for 3-4 hours and then the rocks not being hot enought to cook on.Also when we arrived our room was filthy and even our maid Mary D said to us the next morning when we pointed out the hairy counter tops and bathroom floors that SHE was disgusted we tipped her well and our room was clean for the rest of the week thank you Mary!!The last thing i want to mention is that 2 couples had mice in their rooms and they were relocated in the middle of the night to different rooms.If you haven't gone to other "All Inclusive resorts" before you will probably come away thinking that your trip/resort wasn't that bad,but if you have gone to other All Inclusive resorts you will leave this place longing for that other resort you stayed at before.. BELIEVE ME....Here we come Westin Aruba!!

Notice to management: Why not try having some music during the day at the bar by the beach and not shutting that bar down at 5pm and making everyone go to the lobby for a cocktail,most of your customers I met there were from cold weather states and travel to warm climates to be outside not trapped in the lobby inside and also try giving some of your quality employees some help so they are not over worked and stressed out i mean you have 2 servers trying to serve 15 tables at lunch time and 1 bartender cover a 40 foot bar and also having to make drinks for the servers...not fair to your customers or employees!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor walk out to the beach but that is where the mice were
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service, we are continually striving to best serve our customers. When our efforts fail to meet expectations, it is important that the matter be brought to our attention so that it may be corrected as soon as possible. Thank you for your commentary on your stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to hear when we are doing something right and when we could improve.

It behooves me to mention however that as we are located on an area of the island surrounded mostly by brush and hills we sometimes do have some wildlife visitors. As for this, we take preventive measure with respect to rodents by strategically placing boundaries as well as having regular pest control services to keep any animal out of the rooms. We encourage guests not to leave their doors open at night as most wildlife are looking for food and shelter this time of year. As far as housekeeping, this is one of the more consistent among the high ratings that we receive. All housekeepers are trained to clean the room in the same fashion and we wish that we had known of this so that we could have corrected the error of that particular housekeeper in order to maintain consistency.

We are sorry to hear that you found your stay with us to be a less than pleasurable experience and hope that you give St. Croix another chance. Your commentary and suggestions certainly were beneficial to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

There is no place on any Island that I've experienced that is similar to this.. The service and ambiance are unique .. It is lavish and decadent, and I stay here without guilt.. It is a true saying.. You get what you pay for..

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy to know that we provided an atmosphere that you felt comfortable in and still able to work. Thank you for choosing us for your business travels. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a great time. When we arrived we were very stressed due to traveling in a group of 11 that included a 3 yr old and 6 yr old. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. In very short order we were checked in and enjoying a cocktail and dinner. Patti, the Event Planner did an excellent job of organizing the wedding and making sure we had everything we needed. Marlin, the server was most friendly and helpful! I would acknowledge every person that works there but I don't have their names. The 6 yr old was sick with strep and they recommended and excellent doctor who saw him right away. They were very concerned ad asked about him throughout our stay. This is a very family friendly resort!
This is an older established resort. Updating is needed but that would not hold me back from traveling and staying there again! Thank you!

Room Tip: First floor is nice if you have little ones. The beach is right outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager On Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for you warm review of your stay with us! We were all worried about your son. No one likes to be sick much less to be sick on vacation. Plus your sons were completely adorable and would strike up a conversation with a perfect stranger as if that was just the thing to do. They were a joy to chat with and find out what they did for the day.

Patti, Troy, Bernadette and their crew work very hard to make sure that they live up to their policy of "Blissful Beginnings" and do a fabulous job at meeting everyone's needs.

Thank you once again for your review. We are happy to know that so many people made a difference to your stay! We share these posts with staff members but as you've named some on here specifically, we will be highlighting their names and posting the review in the staff cafeteria so that can see how much of a difference they were in making your vacation a memorable one. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've been to several islands in the Carribean and Bahamas and St. Croix is one of the prettiest islands I've viisted. The Divi definitely needs to be renovated, however, St. Croix is expensive, there aren't a lot of resorts on the island and Divi is the only all-inclusive. Despite having read the negative reviews about the facility before booking the trip, my first impression wasn't good , but by the next day I felt differently. The lobby and pool area looked fine but the counters and flooring in our room were well-worn and the mini-fridge in our room didn't work well. On the other hand, the beach was only steps from our 1st floor patio and that was awsome!
When we first got there, we went to the bar/snack area for a drink and a bite to eat. Lunch was over but they brought us a lunch menu. I ordered coconut shrimp and it was very good, but my husband waited at the bar for a 30 mins for a drink and both bartenders appeared to be upset about something. Dinner that night was the Italian buffet and the staff did not do a good job of keeping the buffet table stocked. The next evening, I spoke with Easey (spelling?), the night mgr. She apologized and explained that one of the cooks was in the ospital and someone else from the restaurant staff had called in sick too and the bartenders were trying to help out with food service. She said the hotel is being renovated a little at a time. The pool has been redone, but the hot tub is not working.
The next day things turned around nicely. The bartenders were in a much better mood and service at the buffets improved quite a bit. Overall the food was much better than the other two all-inclusives we've visited! The ROK dinner and seafood dinner in the Starlight lounge were also very good as was breakfast and lunch each day.
The staff and other guests were very friendly, and we had a great time overall! Bartenders Scott, Krys and Curt work very hard and the bar selection is great. Unlike some all-inclusives where you only get one choice of beer -- whatever is on tap, The Divi had a good selection of canned beer and the liquior was generous. My husband LOVED the pizza, although I never tried it. Waiter, Marlin, was also terrific and always smiling. The mocko jumbies and fire dancers were really good. As far as St. Croix goes, if you can "go with the flow," the Divi is a good value. I wish we could have stayed longer would back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your patience and understanding during that Italian Night and for letting us know how much of a team player you noticed the staff being at the time. Sometimes things happen that we cannot control but we try to keep things going as smoothly as possible and cannot say enough how wonderful it is when guests to take the time out and let us know; even better when we are allowed to improve on the issues that were presented to us.

Thank you as well for your review of not just the resort but the little island that we call home. Sounds like you were able to sample a little of everything else we had to offer and enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, on your next trip here, you would be able to taste our pizza!

Thanks again for your patience with and review of our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived at the Divi quite concerned by some of the reviews listed here. When we arrived, we were promptly greeted and given a good rundown of what to expect and what was available to be done. NO SALES PITCH!!! We were directed to our room, and when you opened the door you could smell a light odor of bleach. The tile floors are mopped daily and bleached clean, my wife even felt comfortable walking in the room barefooted. I won't bog down with details, but the Night Manager made our stay fantastic. She pays close attention to the guests and goes out of her way to make things special. The food was good, better than a lot of meals I have paid plenty for, but a little limited in selection. I will admit I would rather a smaller selection that is cooked well than a large selection that is horrible. Of all the employees there I only found one that was off putting, and he is only there for breakfast so we avoided him most of the time. Oh, don't miss the pizza place! You are on the far side of the island, so a car is not a bad idea if you want to do some exploring.

Room Tip: End rooms of the North wing can be noisy on Friday with the DJ at the Pizza Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay! Thank you for comments. They help us to know what is working and where we can improve.

We have a great time showing guests exactly what Crucian Hospitality is all about and are happy to hear that we were able provide a service that left you with warm memories of a fun time on St. Croix. Customer Service is the most important issue that we, in the Hospitality Industry are faced with, and one that we try to tackle to the best of our ability each day, and your observations are greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The first night we arrived at the Divi we were taken back because the resort is old and does need to be updated. Working in the hotel industry, I understand that there are some hotels in a portfolio that are due for renovation. However, the service was OUTSTANDING and made the difference for us! The staff handled our issues in a professional manner and they were always greeting us on a first name basis with a BIG smile. The rooms were clean and spacious and the housekeepers were very friendly. We left the resort loving the hotel and the staff and will be returning in a few years. A shout out to Etsy (Night Manager), Catesha in the restaurant (so sweet!), Marlin, Scott, Curt, and everyone else who served our family! THANK YOU for making our vacation memorable.
The Goldsmiths

Room Tip: If you are using a timeshare be sure to specify the bed type you need prior to check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Tiffany!

Glad our Crucian Hospitality really made the difference in your stay! You guys were truly a wonderful group that partied as well as relaxed and enjoyed the best of both worlds.

Thank you for the review of your time with us! We try to make sure that every guests feels welcomed and as much a part of the Divi Family as we are. We're happy to know that we achieved that with you guys.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and will be awaiting your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.