We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Wedding and Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Bay Village, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Wedding and Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a great time. When we arrived we were very stressed due to traveling in a group of 11 that included a 3 yr old and 6 yr old. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. In very short order we were checked in and enjoying a cocktail and dinner. Patti, the Event Planner did an excellent job of organizing the wedding and making sure we had everything we needed. Marlin, the server was most friendly and helpful! I would acknowledge every person that works there but I don't have their names. The 6 yr old was sick with strep and they recommended and excellent doctor who saw him right away. They were very concerned ad asked about him throughout our stay. This is a very family friendly resort!
This is an older established resort. Updating is needed but that would not hold me back from traveling and staying there again! Thank you!

Room Tip: First floor is nice if you have little ones. The beach is right outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager On Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for you warm review of your stay with us! We were all worried about your son. No one likes to be sick much less to be sick on vacation. Plus your sons were completely adorable and would strike up a conversation with a perfect stranger as if that was just the thing to do. They were a joy to chat with and find out what they did for the day.

Patti, Troy, Bernadette and their crew work very hard to make sure that they live up to their policy of "Blissful Beginnings" and do a fabulous job at meeting everyone's needs.

Thank you once again for your review. We are happy to know that so many people made a difference to your stay! We share these posts with staff members but as you've named some on here specifically, we will be highlighting their names and posting the review in the staff cafeteria so that can see how much of a difference they were in making your vacation a memorable one. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    170
    98
    71
    33
See reviews for
127
236
17
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've been to several islands in the Carribean and Bahamas and St. Croix is one of the prettiest islands I've viisted. The Divi definitely needs to be renovated, however, St. Croix is expensive, there aren't a lot of resorts on the island and Divi is the only all-inclusive. Despite having read the negative reviews about the facility before booking the trip, my first impression wasn't good , but by the next day I felt differently. The lobby and pool area looked fine but the counters and flooring in our room were well-worn and the mini-fridge in our room didn't work well. On the other hand, the beach was only steps from our 1st floor patio and that was awsome!
When we first got there, we went to the bar/snack area for a drink and a bite to eat. Lunch was over but they brought us a lunch menu. I ordered coconut shrimp and it was very good, but my husband waited at the bar for a 30 mins for a drink and both bartenders appeared to be upset about something. Dinner that night was the Italian buffet and the staff did not do a good job of keeping the buffet table stocked. The next evening, I spoke with Easey (spelling?), the night mgr. She apologized and explained that one of the cooks was in the ospital and someone else from the restaurant staff had called in sick too and the bartenders were trying to help out with food service. She said the hotel is being renovated a little at a time. The pool has been redone, but the hot tub is not working.
The next day things turned around nicely. The bartenders were in a much better mood and service at the buffets improved quite a bit. Overall the food was much better than the other two all-inclusives we've visited! The ROK dinner and seafood dinner in the Starlight lounge were also very good as was breakfast and lunch each day.
The staff and other guests were very friendly, and we had a great time overall! Bartenders Scott, Krys and Curt work very hard and the bar selection is great. Unlike some all-inclusives where you only get one choice of beer -- whatever is on tap, The Divi had a good selection of canned beer and the liquior was generous. My husband LOVED the pizza, although I never tried it. Waiter, Marlin, was also terrific and always smiling. The mocko jumbies and fire dancers were really good. As far as St. Croix goes, if you can "go with the flow," the Divi is a good value. I wish we could have stayed longer would back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your patience and understanding during that Italian Night and for letting us know how much of a team player you noticed the staff being at the time. Sometimes things happen that we cannot control but we try to keep things going as smoothly as possible and cannot say enough how wonderful it is when guests to take the time out and let us know; even better when we are allowed to improve on the issues that were presented to us.

Thank you as well for your review of not just the resort but the little island that we call home. Sounds like you were able to sample a little of everything else we had to offer and enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, on your next trip here, you would be able to taste our pizza!

Thanks again for your patience with and review of our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived at the Divi quite concerned by some of the reviews listed here. When we arrived, we were promptly greeted and given a good rundown of what to expect and what was available to be done. NO SALES PITCH!!! We were directed to our room, and when you opened the door you could smell a light odor of bleach. The tile floors are mopped daily and bleached clean, my wife even felt comfortable walking in the room barefooted. I won't bog down with details, but the Night Manager made our stay fantastic. She pays close attention to the guests and goes out of her way to make things special. The food was good, better than a lot of meals I have paid plenty for, but a little limited in selection. I will admit I would rather a smaller selection that is cooked well than a large selection that is horrible. Of all the employees there I only found one that was off putting, and he is only there for breakfast so we avoided him most of the time. Oh, don't miss the pizza place! You are on the far side of the island, so a car is not a bad idea if you want to do some exploring.

Room Tip: End rooms of the North wing can be noisy on Friday with the DJ at the Pizza Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay! Thank you for comments. They help us to know what is working and where we can improve.

We have a great time showing guests exactly what Crucian Hospitality is all about and are happy to hear that we were able provide a service that left you with warm memories of a fun time on St. Croix. Customer Service is the most important issue that we, in the Hospitality Industry are faced with, and one that we try to tackle to the best of our ability each day, and your observations are greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The first night we arrived at the Divi we were taken back because the resort is old and does need to be updated. Working in the hotel industry, I understand that there are some hotels in a portfolio that are due for renovation. However, the service was OUTSTANDING and made the difference for us! The staff handled our issues in a professional manner and they were always greeting us on a first name basis with a BIG smile. The rooms were clean and spacious and the housekeepers were very friendly. We left the resort loving the hotel and the staff and will be returning in a few years. A shout out to Etsy (Night Manager), Catesha in the restaurant (so sweet!), Marlin, Scott, Curt, and everyone else who served our family! THANK YOU for making our vacation memorable.
The Goldsmiths

Room Tip: If you are using a timeshare be sure to specify the bed type you need prior to check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Tiffany!

Glad our Crucian Hospitality really made the difference in your stay! You guys were truly a wonderful group that partied as well as relaxed and enjoyed the best of both worlds.

Thank you for the review of your time with us! We try to make sure that every guests feels welcomed and as much a part of the Divi Family as we are. We're happy to know that we achieved that with you guys.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and will be awaiting your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundance, Wyoming, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I just took our first vacation together and spent 6 days at Divi on St Croix. We had a great time! The rooms are spacious and clean, slept great every night. The staff are all so friendly, we felt like we were staying with friends. They always greet you and want to hear about your day, what you have planned or what you did. They are great about adding little tidbits of island knowledge. When we arrived at the resort we were greeted right away by the person at the front desk, sorry, I didn't get her name, we were always too busy chatting! But she was there to greet us every morning when we came down for breakfast. She made us feel comfortable right away even though our room wasn't ready yet (we arrived early in the day and they were still cleaning). Between her during the day and E.C. at night we always felt at home. The food was delicious! We were never hungry as there was always something available to eat.The pizza at East End is a must! Sharon and the staff there will take good care of you. Sharon knows how to keep the party upbeat and fun and get people involved. The bartenders, Scott at Big Al's, and David at East End, were great at making new drinks to try. They figured out what you liked and just went from there. Thank you to all the staff, those I have already named, the gift shop ladies, the waitstaff, the cooks, etc. for making our stay so great!! Then there is the white sand beach, the water, all the activites and tours....wow....we can't wait to go back (plan to next year or sooner)!! It is a great place to make new friends, both in the staff and the other guests!! (Hello to Dana & Vince from Toronto!!)

Room Tip: We had a thrid floor room with a beautiful view!! If you want immediate beach access go with first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Mission accomplished!

Thank you for such a heartwarming review! We’re ecstatic to hear that you feel a part of our Divi Family and that the staff made a great impact on your stay! Seems like you tried just about everything Carina Bay has to offer and still had time to relax. As a resort dedicated to service, we are happy to know that everything we did during your stay with us certainly made a difference.

It was our pleasure spending time with you and we can’t wait for you to return. Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopez, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

January 4th was our arrival date. 2:30 pm and my car was there waiting. We enjoyed free rum drinks at the airport and then drove to the Divi. Hugs from the staff was our welcome and Edmund provided fishing gear that I left with him a year ago. Mrs. Anne Downs, who works out all of our rooming issues was also there and we were delighted to see her again. Some new faces at the front desk and in the activity shack warmed up to us on the first handshake. Andreas, the General Manager, shared his time with us, giving us the past year's history and his views on many of Divi's issues. We met with Kevin Jackson on our second day. As always, he took very good care of us as he has done since we began coming here seven years ago. David, from the Pizza Restaurant also greeted us with cocktails. This was shaping up to be a memorable vacation. In the next fourteen days we ate fabulous foods, drank the world's best rum, visited the many free beaches, worked on our tans, fished for some of the world's best gamefish, went to the casino, which is here on the Divi property, shopped for gifts for our family and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I did spend an hour in the fitness room at 7:30 am, every day before going to breakfast in the Starlight Grill. We came to the Divi, fully prepared for wonderful vacation and we were not disappointed. Leaving this paradise to return home was hard. We just had to take some of the island life home with us to last until we set out on our next Divi vacation. Many Thanks to all of you who make our vacations at the Divi the best we've ever had.
Allen Williams and Family

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
It was so great seeing you again this year! Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us. It's always an exciting moment when a guest returns and even better to know that we have met or exceeded the expectations of their last stay.

I remember the delight on your face when Edmond pulled out the fishing gear as well as when you were able to rekindle your friendship with so many staff around property. Seems that this year you had one fun filled adventure not just at the resort but around the island as well!

Thanks again for your spectacular review! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We love the USVI and wanted to visit St Croix as we previously visited St Thomas and St John. Staff at Divi are friendly, helpful and always smiling. We found the rooms to be clean and spacious and loved the view! The beach was ten steps from our terrace - a great spot to read, have a cocktail, or watch the sunrise or sunset. The food was excellent, good variety and the resort had different theme nights, which made it fun. We loved dining on the terrace by the pool, under the stars while the steel pan band played. The resort is quiet, not full of the hustle and bustle of larger resorts, but there are lots of activities to occupy if you wish. We rented a jeep for the week which offered us the opportunity to explore the entire island and not depend on the shuttle service and taxis. The hotel provided very detailed driving directions from the airport and there are excellent road signs - all good roads lead to Divi!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a main floor room - ten steps to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We’re so happy to hear that you had a marvelous vacation and you were able to take advantage of all that St. Croix and Divi Carina Bay has to offer. Driving on the left can be difficult for visitors who are accustomed to driving on the right so we’re glad to hear that our directions as well as the Divi signs along the way were easy to follow.

Thank you for giving us a great review! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#5 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.