We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older but well worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Older but well worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived at the Divi quite concerned by some of the reviews listed here. When we arrived, we were promptly greeted and given a good rundown of what to expect and what was available to be done. NO SALES PITCH!!! We were directed to our room, and when you opened the door you could smell a light odor of bleach. The tile floors are mopped daily and bleached clean, my wife even felt comfortable walking in the room barefooted. I won't bog down with details, but the Night Manager made our stay fantastic. She pays close attention to the guests and goes out of her way to make things special. The food was good, better than a lot of meals I have paid plenty for, but a little limited in selection. I will admit I would rather a smaller selection that is cooked well than a large selection that is horrible. Of all the employees there I only found one that was off putting, and he is only there for breakfast so we avoided him most of the time. Oh, don't miss the pizza place! You are on the far side of the island, so a car is not a bad idea if you want to do some exploring.

Room Tip: End rooms of the North wing can be noisy on Friday with the DJ at the Pizza Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay! Thank you for comments. They help us to know what is working and where we can improve.

We have a great time showing guests exactly what Crucian Hospitality is all about and are happy to hear that we were able provide a service that left you with warm memories of a fun time on St. Croix. Customer Service is the most important issue that we, in the Hospitality Industry are faced with, and one that we try to tackle to the best of our ability each day, and your observations are greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    167
    97
    71
    34
See reviews for
127
231
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barre, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The first night we arrived at the Divi we were taken back because the resort is old and does need to be updated. Working in the hotel industry, I understand that there are some hotels in a portfolio that are due for renovation. However, the service was OUTSTANDING and made the difference for us! The staff handled our issues in a professional manner and they were always greeting us on a first name basis with a BIG smile. The rooms were clean and spacious and the housekeepers were very friendly. We left the resort loving the hotel and the staff and will be returning in a few years. A shout out to Etsy (Night Manager), Catesha in the restaurant (so sweet!), Marlin, Scott, Curt, and everyone else who served our family! THANK YOU for making our vacation memorable.
The Goldsmiths

Room Tip: If you are using a timeshare be sure to specify the bed type you need prior to check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Tiffany!

Glad our Crucian Hospitality really made the difference in your stay! You guys were truly a wonderful group that partied as well as relaxed and enjoyed the best of both worlds.

Thank you for the review of your time with us! We try to make sure that every guests feels welcomed and as much a part of the Divi Family as we are. We're happy to know that we achieved that with you guys.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and will be awaiting your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundance, Wyoming, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I just took our first vacation together and spent 6 days at Divi on St Croix. We had a great time! The rooms are spacious and clean, slept great every night. The staff are all so friendly, we felt like we were staying with friends. They always greet you and want to hear about your day, what you have planned or what you did. They are great about adding little tidbits of island knowledge. When we arrived at the resort we were greeted right away by the person at the front desk, sorry, I didn't get her name, we were always too busy chatting! But she was there to greet us every morning when we came down for breakfast. She made us feel comfortable right away even though our room wasn't ready yet (we arrived early in the day and they were still cleaning). Between her during the day and E.C. at night we always felt at home. The food was delicious! We were never hungry as there was always something available to eat.The pizza at East End is a must! Sharon and the staff there will take good care of you. Sharon knows how to keep the party upbeat and fun and get people involved. The bartenders, Scott at Big Al's, and David at East End, were great at making new drinks to try. They figured out what you liked and just went from there. Thank you to all the staff, those I have already named, the gift shop ladies, the waitstaff, the cooks, etc. for making our stay so great!! Then there is the white sand beach, the water, all the activites and tours....wow....we can't wait to go back (plan to next year or sooner)!! It is a great place to make new friends, both in the staff and the other guests!! (Hello to Dana & Vince from Toronto!!)

Room Tip: We had a thrid floor room with a beautiful view!! If you want immediate beach access go with first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Mission accomplished!

Thank you for such a heartwarming review! We’re ecstatic to hear that you feel a part of our Divi Family and that the staff made a great impact on your stay! Seems like you tried just about everything Carina Bay has to offer and still had time to relax. As a resort dedicated to service, we are happy to know that everything we did during your stay with us certainly made a difference.

It was our pleasure spending time with you and we can’t wait for you to return. Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopez, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

January 4th was our arrival date. 2:30 pm and my car was there waiting. We enjoyed free rum drinks at the airport and then drove to the Divi. Hugs from the staff was our welcome and Edmund provided fishing gear that I left with him a year ago. Mrs. Anne Downs, who works out all of our rooming issues was also there and we were delighted to see her again. Some new faces at the front desk and in the activity shack warmed up to us on the first handshake. Andreas, the General Manager, shared his time with us, giving us the past year's history and his views on many of Divi's issues. We met with Kevin Jackson on our second day. As always, he took very good care of us as he has done since we began coming here seven years ago. David, from the Pizza Restaurant also greeted us with cocktails. This was shaping up to be a memorable vacation. In the next fourteen days we ate fabulous foods, drank the world's best rum, visited the many free beaches, worked on our tans, fished for some of the world's best gamefish, went to the casino, which is here on the Divi property, shopped for gifts for our family and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I did spend an hour in the fitness room at 7:30 am, every day before going to breakfast in the Starlight Grill. We came to the Divi, fully prepared for wonderful vacation and we were not disappointed. Leaving this paradise to return home was hard. We just had to take some of the island life home with us to last until we set out on our next Divi vacation. Many Thanks to all of you who make our vacations at the Divi the best we've ever had.
Allen Williams and Family

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
It was so great seeing you again this year! Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us. It's always an exciting moment when a guest returns and even better to know that we have met or exceeded the expectations of their last stay.

I remember the delight on your face when Edmond pulled out the fishing gear as well as when you were able to rekindle your friendship with so many staff around property. Seems that this year you had one fun filled adventure not just at the resort but around the island as well!

Thanks again for your spectacular review! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We love the USVI and wanted to visit St Croix as we previously visited St Thomas and St John. Staff at Divi are friendly, helpful and always smiling. We found the rooms to be clean and spacious and loved the view! The beach was ten steps from our terrace - a great spot to read, have a cocktail, or watch the sunrise or sunset. The food was excellent, good variety and the resort had different theme nights, which made it fun. We loved dining on the terrace by the pool, under the stars while the steel pan band played. The resort is quiet, not full of the hustle and bustle of larger resorts, but there are lots of activities to occupy if you wish. We rented a jeep for the week which offered us the opportunity to explore the entire island and not depend on the shuttle service and taxis. The hotel provided very detailed driving directions from the airport and there are excellent road signs - all good roads lead to Divi!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a main floor room - ten steps to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We’re so happy to hear that you had a marvelous vacation and you were able to take advantage of all that St. Croix and Divi Carina Bay has to offer. Driving on the left can be difficult for visitors who are accustomed to driving on the right so we’re glad to hear that our directions as well as the Divi signs along the way were easy to follow.

Thank you for giving us a great review! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeville, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am shocked at any review above a 3 star. To start off, just getting from the airport to the resort was a task, ever heard of road signs?? Once there, we checked in to find a halfway clean room with a spectacular view, but since there were no screens on the sliding glass doors, you really couldn't enjoy the breeze or the sound of the ocean. Let alone the fact that the beach is not really private. I think when you go to an "all inclusive" you don;t expect it to be open to the public. An then when we got settled to find that nothings open the gift shop closes at 5:00 and it is the hub of all the "sign ups" for dinners, spas (which never opened) and tours, The "Dockside/Al's Bar" depending on what brochire you looked at was supposed to be open every day till 5:00, but Curt the "super bartender with ADD" would close whenever he wanted and Krys the great gal at the Starlite was just trying to keep up with the guests at the bar and food orders, but she could make one hell of a Tropical Delusion, as could Scott. Tateesha was a sweet server who tried to help at the bar when she could and would take care of us whenever she was able to.
All inclusive eating meant you only ate when they put the food out, you couldn't eat anytime you wanted unless you at the microwaved nachos, but then you had to get that from the only bartender in the resort.
Getting a shower took twice as long as it should have because we would be dodging the scorching or the freezing water the whole time,while trying to see in the shower,as it was very drab and dark. Three light bulbs out on the vanity, and shower curtain that looked like a "blackout curtain". Filth is the only word to use, and DO NOT look at the celing fans in the "dining hall", unless that's your idea of clean. Almost all of the activities that were UPDATED DAILY never happened????? Why not change your brochure? I understand things change, but they updated it EVERYDAY WITH THE WRONG INFORMATION!!!! Yoga, fire dancers, spa, manicures, NOTHING. The hermit crab races were amusing..if you're 60 or above.
Food was awful and very overpriced and when we complained, every server laughed and just shook their head, "we know...." One even said, "You are very observant....most people think this place is awesome." Expecting seafood and fresh fruit.... but got smoked sausage, mac and cheese, chicken wings, flank steak, some mahi , and whatever was for lunch was for dinner or at least some was and the same type of mixed veggies, EVERYDAY!!
Mini golf course would have been nice if the fountains and ponds worked, it was like they didn't care if something wassn't working or try to impress and make you feel welcomed. No sense in not maintaining the property for the amount of money that we spent.
The East End Pizza Shack with David and his crew was the best part and unfortunatley they don't open until Wednesday's. They are very friendly and make you feel like a wanted guest. There was never an empty glass or beer bottle and was willing to entertain and just make us feel welcome. That staff needs to be running the resort inside. Kudos to David and the shack gang.
I could go one, but it is too depressing. Maybe Anthony from "Hotel Impossible" should take a visit to St. Croix and help them before it's too late.

Room Tip: No screens on doors, floors never mopped, no blankets on bed, soap very small and "outdated&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager On Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for the opinion on your recent stay here at Carina Bay. Having read your commentary on the hotel, I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for notifying us in writing of your observations during your recent stay with us. As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service, we are continually striving to best serve our customers. When our efforts fail to meet expectations, it is important that the matter be brought to our attention so that it may be corrected as soon as possible.

Let me take this opportunity to address some of the commentary rendered. Housekeeping has one of the highest ratings on our reviews by other guests. Although the doors lock automatically when you close them, every room door has both a dead bolt for added security as well as an eyelet so you can look out if you do not want to just open the door. The Links Miniature Golf Course and Driving Range has been opened every day since just before Christmas. The Fire Dancers can only perform outdoors and are subjected to the changes in the weather. At times, the weather does not allow for the show to go on and we must cancel.

Our four restaurants are the Dockside Restaurant, Starlite Grille, East End Pizza and Carina Café. Each day we offer a different buffet menu for lunch and themed dinners at night. The Rok dinner is a great experience that many guests rave about. We offer a Caribbean Beach Barbecue which is a Western Barbecue with a Caribbean spin. Our menu on that night changes each week however it does have your standard barbecue chicken and pork ribs amongst many other traditional Caribbean dishes such as Kalaloo or Goat Water as well as Stewed Goat or Oxtail. We apologize if this was not conveyed correctly. Carina Café is a Bistro that is open from 11am to 3am to meet any late night cravings. If at any time someone would not like to walk to or from the Casino, he/she can request a ride by alerting someone at Resort Front Desk or a Casino Security Guard.

We do offer Spa services however this is by appointment only and appointments must be made 24 hours in advance. Our massage therapists are only here for appointments and many guests have raved about their treatments. Perhaps you were unaware of this, however, all dining, entertainment and activities information is listed in a Weekly Calendar of Activities given to every guest upon arrival. In addition to that we put out the Divi Melee, which lists the specific Activities for that particular day at breakfast.

Even though you experienced a less than pleasurable stay with us, we sincerely hope that you were able to salvage a few memorable experiences while on St. Croix, and would consider visiting the island once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is clean and the view is spectacular, it also helps that the ocean is 10 steps from the balcony (terrace)... As far as everything else, the food is average, the service is slow.... this is not an "all inclusive" we've grown used to... Hot and cold water come at will (mostly one at a time), and there is no nightlife...If all you care about is the island beaches, it works, if you want luxury, you are in the wrong place

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms on the first floor are the best as you can walk off your terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay with us! As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service we are continually striving to best serve our customers.

Our Executive Chef and his staff of several Lead Cooks have been diligent in providing a vast array of dining choices for our patrons and to date has received many outstanding reviews. Each day we offer a different buffet menu for lunch and themed dinners at night. The Rok dinner is a great experience that many people raved about. We also have different entertainment at the Resort and at the Casino every night.

Thank you once again for your review and we'll be on the look-out for your return trip to St. Croix and the Divi Carina Bay All-Inclusive Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.