We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I agree with JCNMD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Plymouth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“I agree with JCNMD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I agree with JCNMD, having just returned, our stay was fantastic. The staff were wonderful and food was great. I took the snorkeling tour with Sean and got the lay of the reef. We saw nurse sharks,baracuda,rays and an abundance of beautiful fish. Being a professional diver,one of the main attractions for me is to be able to explore the reef without having to get out on a boat. I went every day. The staff were always smiling and helpful and very hard working. Buck Island is a must..Absolutely beautiful...
I would go back in a minute....Mike R.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager On Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We’re so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Every now and again we get guests who enjoy diving and share their diving stories. It’s always amazing to hear how much divers enjoy the snorkeling tour that we offer and Sean is equally thrilled to hear you enjoyed it as well.

Customer service is a really important part of Hospitality and we work hard at making sure our guests feel at home while on vacation. We are grateful that our staff made a memorable impact on your trip to Divi Carina and St. Croix.

Thank you ever so much for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    167
    97
    71
    34
See reviews for
127
231
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

At first blush, St. Croix is the gawky, red-headed, befreckled step-sister of the Virgin Islands. Therein lies its charm. Slower paced, quieter, flatter and less pretentious than other islands, it is the perfect anodyne for the rat-race. Bring your loaded e-reader, lots of sunscreen and prepare to dilute your blood stream with some island rum.
The Divi Carina Bay is dear to my family's heart. The six of us have come to this property in St Croix since 1986 and have spent the last twelve Christmases in its most recent iteration.
Other than owning time-share (which I choose not to exchange), I have no personal or financial interest in the property; yet, this is my third review, all regarding our holiday weeks. For better or worse, I am a fan.
Under the capable, indefatigable leadership of Andreas Conniff, the property has improved every year. I gave it an Excellent five-dot rating this year but even Andreas will admit that progress is only as good as today's experience.
Physically, the resort's condition was only better when it newly re-opened in 2000. Work on the landscaping, the pool which was completely refurbished in October, the restaurants, and the rooms is a daily event. The Divi is a seaside resort; the sea is unforgiving.
Our daughter and son-in-law stayed in a room in the hotel; very comfortable, nicely laid out and appointed, clean and all rooms see and hear the ocean. A microwave and small refrigerator are useful amenities. The sugar-sand beach extends east and west beyond the confines of the hotel and early morning walkers can work off last night's meal. The waters are pristine. And, the southeastern exposure provides a constant refreshment courtesy of the Caribbean trade winds. (During the holidays, the "Christmas winds" pay a visit and wind and kite surfers rejoice; in the summer, sea grass can be an issue.)
Our time share unit - the villas - sits above the hotel a short downhill walk away. The porch provides a refuge for morning coffee as the sun arcs across the southern sky. The time-share units could use an interior decorator's touch as they have become spare over the years but are adequate for the purposes of eating, sleeping and relaxing on the aforementioned porch. I do covet a comfortable chair for the evening's reading.
Andreas has assembled a competent and diligent staff nucleus. Where to start? Ann Downs is the brains behind the time-shares and their exchanges; Sarah of the infectious smile at the front-desk could work for any of us; Edmond is the quintessential bell-captain who knows everyone and everything about the Divi; the Divi has its very own Tommy Star server in the charismatic Marlon Charles. The Tommy Star is the most prestigious award of the hospitality industry in the Virgin Islands. Sean at the beach shack is compulsive in keeping order on the beach; Chris, Curt and Scott behind Big Al's bar are the chemists that make Happy Hour happier; Anne Marie sees thats the towels are refreshed and the room spotless; and, the crew led by Dave and Rashim at the East End Pizza get the award for most improved franchise at the resort.
The dining choices are diverse. There is an all-inclusive option that provides food, drink and water sports without additional charge. Our lunch favorite on the pool patio is the jerk-seasoned salmon Caesar salad. The daily suppers have evolved over the past three years. The popular Caribbean buffet replete with steel drums and mocko jumbies remains along with the Italian and Seafood nights. New are the Star Rok dinner; the diner gets to "cook" his or her entree on a sizzling stone. The Pig Roast is a new beachside event and Meet the Cooks allows foodies to pick the brains of the chefs who create specialties from their home islands.
A caveat. The Divi does not pretend to be a five-star resort. A key to an enjoyable experience is to be patient - it's the islands, mon - and always respectful. Leave the attitude at home. Its an ideal place for families with young kids as the beach is very safe, no riptides and the like.
Its position on the far southeastern point of the island is a mixed blessing; it is private, even isolated. But cabs in St Croix are expensive. It is not a disadvantage to put down some roots for a week. Sweeney's Island Tours can take you around if you must sightsee. If you are staying two weeks, rent a car. The Divi has an arrangement with Centerline Car Rental so that they will drop off and pick up the car at the resort. Duggan's Reef, the Blue Water Cafe, the Southshore Grille and Ziggy's gas-convenience-diner (Eat Here and Get Gas; do try the Cubano) are a short drive away.
Admittedly, I am a fan - of St Croix and the Divi. And I will continue to come back to see how Andreas and his staff are doing. We stay in touch with Ann and Edmond throughout the year. And those famous crab-racers, Tito and Sue. They continue to provide the crustacean competition on Wednesday nights. Pick a crab, grab a rum punch but don't point! Tito has duct-tape and is not afraid to use it.

Room Tip: Third floor on the west wing of the hotel. Further you are from the lobby, the wifi signal fades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager On Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for such a marvelous review! We try to make sure that every vacation is a memorable one by welcoming each guest to become a part of our family. And for the past several years, you all have truly become an essential part of our Holiday Cheer. It warms are hearts to know that you feel the same.

We are pleased to know that the changes we have made thus far have contributed to giving you a different experience each time you visit. We’re doing our best, and are all too glad to see some the fruition of our efforts; but then too, we had some great guests to work with! Intrepid travelers that you are, you’ve definitively discovered the recipe for enjoying a Caribbean Excursion; “...A key to an enjoyable experience is to be patient - it's the islands, mon”! What wonderful advice!

You mentioned many of our staff members and how each person you encountered contributed to your stay; showing how much of an integral part of our little family you all really are. The genuineness of your comments and really brought a glow to many faces as we shared your post.

Thank you once again for the kudos! We are elated to have lived up to your expectations of Crucian Hospitality and can’t wait to see you guys again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I'm surprised the other ratings were as high as they were based upon the written comments. I chose this resort because of the relatively positive ratings without terrible written reviews. I was extremely disappointed and cannot recommend the Divi Carina Bay.

The resort is located in a quiet, eastern part of St. Croix and has a lovely view of the ocean and bay. However, the overall experience was not pleasant. We arranged this resort through an RCI exchange and the additional costs for this "all-inclusive" resort were not clear. I will take responsibility for that and not blame the resort. All-inclusive meant I had to pay over $150 PER PERSON, PER DAY to have all meals and drinks included. While meals on St. Croix are expensive, these meals were not anything spectacular.

We really only had three meals that were positive: the Star Rok dinner with a very hot stone brought to our table so we could cook our own food (The filet was delicious and hot, since it was cooked at the table); the seafood night with really nice seafood entrees; and the pizza at the East End Pizza Cafe. Generally, the food on the buffets was over-exposed to the elements (heat, bugs, etc.) and cold. We did prefer ordering off the menus, although the lack of servers made this a lengthy process.

Our room was dirty and musty smelling. We didn't have hot water twice (the pilot light had to be relit) and when we did have hot water, the shower would alternate hot and cold every 30 seconds or so. Our balcony door was jammed closed and it took two maintenance guys a couple of days to fix. The furnishings were run down, with one bedside stand missing a knob so we couldn't open one of the drawers. Room lighting was also very poor. The floor was very dirty--don't walk around barefoot.

The common facilities were less than desirable, also. While the main pool near the ocean was nice, the fitness room was unfit. The equipment was in poor condition and caused more physical problems (aches and pains) than I could handle. There were no disinfectant wipes to clean the equipment before/after use and the water jug was not in its proper place and exposed to dust, bugs, etc. The advertised jacuzzi was across the road and was empty and cracked. No one could use that equipment.

The staffing for the restaurants and bars was insufficient, despite the fact there were likely only about 75 guests at the resort the whole week we were there. Often, drinks took 15-20 minutes to get from the one bartender. Dinner one night took almost 2 hours and it was only marginal in quality and very, very slow in service. The only thing special about that dinner was the wait, especially long.

While I enjoyed the beautiful weather on St. Croix, there really isn't much to do and there aren't many accomodation options. My advice, avoid this particular resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager On Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Having reviewed your commentary on your recent stay with us, we’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for notifying us of your observations and disappoints. As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service we are continually striving to best serve our customers. When our efforts fail to meet expectations, it is important that the matter to be brought to our attention so that it can be corrected as soon as possible.

Our Executive Chef and his staff of several Lead Cooks have been diligent in providing a vast array of dining choices for our patrons and to date has received outstanding reviews from many of our clients.

We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that you experienced while with us. Customer service is the most important issue that we in the Hospitality Industry are faced with, and one that we try to tackle to be best of our ability each day, and despite not being pleased with our resort, we do hope that the remainder of your stay on island was pleasant enough and that you’d consider returning to St. Croix and the Divi Carina Bay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The view from the room was amzing. They said there is free wifi but thats only if your room is close to the main lobby. The resort completely shuts down at 10pm the latest forcing you to the casino if you're looking to have some drinks at night. Had an issue with some bugs in our room. Food was good. Trips to town are worth it. Go to Buck Island, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager On Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to submit a review on your recent stay with us.

All of our rooms offer Internet Access either via Wi-Fi or a T-1 line which can be found in the room. However, connectivity would depend on the internet traffic at the time you may be trying to log on.

We do hope that you enjoyed your time while on St. Croix and that you were able to create some lasting memories of your island excursion. Thank you once again for selecting the Divi and St. Croix.

E.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel is located in a quiet part of the island. The beach is beautiful. The food was good. I agree with CNandRP about being confused when reading positive reviews. However, many reviews emphasized the bad attitude and complacency of the Food Waiters which I highly agree.

The Chef Annie delivered Excellent food and she is quite friendly. I was glad to run into her so I could share my appreciation. The bartenders - Curt and Krys were good. The East End Pizza food and service BOTH EXCELLENT with amazing service by Dave, Sharon and their cooking staff (5-Star). Edmond the Bellman was cheerful and helpful. Thank you Edmond. I saw the Hotel Managers only twice. I would expect they would visit with guests more often and solicit feedback.

Housecleaning was Excellent. The Hotel showed some wear. I was very surprised all other resorts were completely full during the Holidays, however Divi was not even at 50% capacity with the new rooms with 0 guests to fill. IMO - the service is holding this resort from full capacity.

I would recommend when you arrive with the expectation to "take care of yourself". Do not ask for anything special food related. Just go to the buffet and eat and do not ask for anything special. And, more importantly do not expect anyone to ask "May I Help You?"

Room Tip: I liked our location which was close and central to all of the amenities. Room 168
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst. General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to submit a review on your recent stay with us here at Carina Bay.

The accolades rendered upon Edmond, the members of our Housekeeping, and Food & Beverage staffs are greatly appreciated, especially as F&B is the selfsame department that our wait staff is connected to and we’re sorry that this departmental area provided you with such subpar service.

Our General Manager and I are readily available to speak with our guests at any time as we roam the property during our daily routines, in addition to our Manager on Duty who is also available throughout the evening and makes it a point to converse with our guests on a nightly basis.

Surprisingly so, the resort was hosting a Full-House during your stay. Between the various activities at the resort and on the island as a whole, it really didn’t seem as though there were many people in-house. Throw in the fact that the resort is relatively spread-out, lends itself to the sense of quiet serenity that so many of our clients enjoy.

We do apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that you experienced while with us. Customer service is the most important issue that we in the Hospitality Industry are faced with, and one that we try to tackle to be best of our ability each day, and despite not being pleased with our resort, we do hope that the remainder of your stay on island was pleasant enough and that you’d consider returning to St. Croix in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I are halfway through our visit at the Divi and are completely confused when reading through recent positive reviews. Several people have mentioned that the staff have made their vacation, for us it has been the complete opposite... We are having a good time in spite of the staff. In our experience with the staff members at the bar, at the restaurants, and at the front desk we have largely been ignored and rarely greeted with a friendly face. We have heard staff vocalize how unhappy they are to be working and how eager they are to leave and they will often act inconvenienced if you ask for anything such as a table to eat at or clean towels. Several times today my boyfriend, after trying to make a concerted effort to be friendlier to the staff members to see if that would help, would greet them with a "hello, happy new year! how is your day... only to be ignored. Getting a drink can be an exercise in patience as the bars (only one open at a time) seem to be understaffed and I have waited 15-20minutes on several occasions to get a drink.
The only exception to this would be the staff at the pizza place. They were very fun and we are eager for it to open back up.

Other than that, it is a nice little resort. The beach, although small, has never been crowded and we have never had trouble finding open chairs in the sun. The water is calm and absolutely beautiful.
We have been doing dives with the Cane Bay dive shop. They have been great to work with but do keep in mind that a rental car is a must have to travel around to the dive sites.
St Croix has been a great place to visit and I highly recommend it as a vacation spot. Overall, because of the customer service, I would look at another resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst. General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Having reviewed your commentary on your recent stay with us, we’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for notifying us of your observations and disappoints. As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service we are continually striving to best serve our customers. When our efforts fail to meet expectations, it is important that the matter to be brought to our attention so that it can be corrected as soon as possible.

We’re sorry to learn that your recent stay with us was a disappointing experience. Had any member of our Management Team been made aware of the issues perceived, the situation would have been taken care of immediately.

We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that you experienced while with us. Customer service is the most important issue that we in the Hospitality Industry are faced with, and one that we try to tackle to be best of our ability each day, and despite not being pleased with our resort, we do hope that the remainder of your stay on island was pleasant enough and that you’d consider returning to St. Croix in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Divi last week and had a great time. My boys took advantage of all the snorkling, kyaking, paddle boats, golfing, etc. They also had a great time eating as there was something for everyone. Our favorite lunches were off the menu at the Dockside Cafe. Everyone on the staff at the resort was very polite and helpful, Kevin Jackson (Asst Manager), Andreas (General Manager), Robert (at the golf range), Beatrice and Cartesa (Servers), Shelly and Carmen (Gift Shop). They were all family oriented and made sure that my older special needs son felt safe to wander the property. Thanks Divi! Debbie Causey

Room Tip: Watch the Sunrise! It is worth getting up early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst. General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you, thank you, and thank you! We're more than thrilled that you had such a great time with us during your stay with us at Carina Bay.

We’re truly pleased that you found our staff members to be outstanding Customer Service Representatives and their efforts will be acknowledged during our next All Staff Meeting! But most importantly; we're all just glad that you had a wonderful vacation experience and fond memories of your St. Croix vacation.

Now, just to let everyone in cyberspace know, the Causey Family was adopted by the entire staff of the resort! Your family was the best and I’m so sorry that I didn’t get to see you prior to your departure…Mom, Dad, my little brothers, “Brian the Golf Pro” and “Rasta Matt” were the greatest!

Thank you once again for the wonderful review and we'll be on the look-out for your return trip to St. Croix and the Divi Carina Bay All-Inclusive Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.