We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Denver, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beautiful Resort for our Honeymoon. We spent 8 glorious days and it was fabulous. Thank you "KC" for making us feel welcome. Sarah, the reservationist was wonderful and so friendly. Thank you to Esmerelda for handling our reservations for everything we wanted to do. The massage on the beach was so relaxing.
Chris and Curt could not have been better bartenders and so friendly. We had a great time with them. Marlon....wow... so outgoing and fun.
We enjoyed every moment at your resort and could not have chosen a better honeymoon spot.
Our room view was breathtaking. The staff was wonderful.... The snorkeling was great and the coral reef was fantastic, especially to someone like me who had never snorkeled before.
Thank you again for a most memorable honeymoon and we cannot wait to return.
Kathy and Steve McKee

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you!! We were all bowled-over by your review and truly appreciate the kind and truthful commentary rendered on our staff members!

Everyone here gets a kick outta’ Newlyweds, and each staff member mentioned recalls the two of you with huge smiles on their faces! Just to let you know, Marlon was the recipient of the 2012 Tommy Star Award for Restaurant Associate of the Year! The award was issued by the Virgin Islands Hotel Association and covers the entire territory.

We’re simply thrilled that you had a memorable stay while on St. Croix and we were happy to have been your host, thank you once again for acknowledging those members of our staff that stood-out, and we look forward to celebrating the 1st year Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    177
    100
    76
    33
See reviews for
130
246
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zanesville, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My mom, sister and I stayed here in the middle of oct. We had a great time! Everyone was REALLY NICE!! Sean was a Fabulous snorkel guide and is up for any outdoor activities. Scott was the Best bartender. He is a golfer too, so if you want to golf. (talk to Scott) Joy was very Helpful at the front desk.( Any questions ask her) We felt like it was our own private resort. We were there before the busy season. If you want busy and lots of people don't go when we went. The friendly atmosphere with the small amount of people was unbeatable tho. Would go back :)

Room Tip: we had ocean front 303 i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you, thank you, and thank you! What a wonderful review! We're more than thrilled that you had such a great time with us during your stay with us at Carina Bay.

Each of the staff members mentioned by name recalled all of you vividly and send their greetings, and we’ll make sure that they’re acknowledged for their efforts in making your stay a memorable adventure. But most importantly; we're all just glad that you had a wonderful vacation experience and fond memories of your St. Croix vacation.

Thank you once again for the wonderful review and we'll be on the look-out for your return trip to St. Croix and the Divi Carina Bay All-Inclusive Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I just spent a week there for our five year anniversary and belated honeymoon, it was Wonderful! The staff was so friendly and helpful and really made our stay excellent. The room was great, food amazing and the beach beautiful. I can't say enough nice things about the staff, David, Rasheem and Celina were so fun to hang out with at the pizza place plus made some of the best pizza and drinks. David had some great advice of places to visit on the island and even took the time to get us a better map and marked the places. Rasheem always had a smile and has one of the best laughs I have heard, he made me always feel so happy and I ended up laughing till my sides hurt! Celina made amazing food and would stop to talk also and share some places or a funny story. Scott, Curt and Krys took great care of us also and would remember what we were drinking and took the time to answer all of our questions about the island, funny stories and great conversations. Everytime we passed any of the staff members they always had a smile, said hello and asked if we needed anything. Your manager EC was great! She was always walking around, talking to guest asking if she could help and took the time not only to get to know everyone but also share a laugh. We did take some time at the casino and this would be my only place for improvement, we found the staff at the cafe to be rude and in need of some better service training. The rest of the casino staff was polite, it was really just limited to the cafe. Thank you so much for a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Assistant General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Congratulations on having spent a seemingly WONDERFUL anniversary celebration during your stay on St. Croix, at the Divi Carina Bay Resort! Thank you for such a generous review of your stay with us!

All the staff members mentioned in your review recalled both of you vividly and sends their greetings, but most of all we're all just glad that you had a wonderful vacation experience and fond memories of your St. Croix excursion.

Thank you once again for the wonderful review and we'll be on the look-out for your return trip to St. Croix and the Divi Carina Bay All-Inclusive Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful location. Buck Island is a must. It was by far the best snorkeling my husband and I have ever experienced. The onsite dive shop also offered transportation across the island to go dive the wall. It is a haul but the dive will be worth the drive. The furnishings are a bit dated but the room was comfortable with a balcony overlooking the beach. The resort is in need of repair. There is peeling paint and crumbling dry wall in many locations. Also closed bars and hot tubs. There are only a couple dining options at the resort so you may find yourself getting tired of the menu offerings. There were not many guests there and we were wondering how long the resort could continue to operate. If you want a first rate all inclusive head to St. Lucia or Jamacia

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst. General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Having reviewed your commentary on your stay with us during the month of July, we’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for notifying us of your observations four months later. As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service we are continually striving to best serve our customers. When our efforts fail to meet expectations, it is important that the
matter to be brought to our attention so that it can be corrected as soon as possible.

This is the first opportunity that we’ve had, to hear of the issues that you faced while staying with us, and it’s unusual that for such severe conditions faced, that it wasn’t brought to our attention immediately. As you can tell from the wide range of reviews made during and after your stay that things have seemingly picked-up tremendously; but we nonetheless thank you for your observations.

We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that you experienced while with us. Customer service is the most important issue that we in the Hospitality Industry are faced with, and one that we try to tackle to be best of our ability each day, and despite not being pleased with our resort, we do hope that the remainder of your stay on island was pleasant enough and that you’d consider returning to St. Croix in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stay away from this Resort. My wife and I was there in August. For an all inclusive, no variety in the food. The same old after 1 nite. Same as Breakfast and Lunch. Some of the staff have a serious attitude problem. The beach was very small and the water was not the best we had ever swim in. The bright spot is Chris the bar tender and even she couldn't get me drunk enough to forget all the money we spent. The best is when we went into the town of Christiansted. There is a little food and bar right on the ocean and the food and drinks was way better then the Divi. The folks in town are very friendly. My recommendation is to stay somewhere else.

HRW

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst. General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We look forward to and appreciate all commentary submitted to Trip Advisor. The glowing remarks rendered on our bartender, Kris and will be passed along to them accordingly.

After having read your commentary, we realize that you experienced a less than pleasant meal experience for which we apologize. However, we’re sorely puzzled as to not having received any complaint from you during your stay, regarding food service and variety.
…as an All-Inclusive property, we are well aware that foodservice is an element of the industry that can’t be ignored. We are constantly changing our menu selections in all outlets, to provide our clientele with a variety of choices within the outlets.
Catering to a predominately American audience, it’s expected to provide food items reflective to such, which is why just about every restaurant on island offers Caribbean, Continental and International cuisines. After sampling the local Island Cuisine, many look forward to items they’re familiar with such as Hamburgers, Hotdogs, Philly Cheese Steak or any other “comfort food”.
We possess four dining outlets, with the Starlite Grille serving breakfast daily, Dockside Café (adjacent to the pool and beach) is also open 7 days a week, serving Lunch and Dinner while East End Pizza is open five nights a week. There’s also the Carina Café located at the Carina Bay Casino that’s also a popular spot to cure the late night munchies, and is open Sunday-Thursday from 10am to 4am and is also open 24 hours on Friday and Saturday. We’ve themed night dinners at the Starlite including Lobster Fridays Rok dining, Meet the Cooks, Italian Night and the Mexican Buffet.
In closing, we are constantly attempting to improve ourselves, to meet the goal of providing a Memorable Guest Experience for each of clients. In perusing many of the recent reviews on this site during the selfsame time of your stay, it’s obvious that we’re happy to say our efforts are coming to fruition.
We do thank you for having selected our resort and the island of St. Croix, and hope that you’d consider visiting the island once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I just spent the week at the Divi for our one year anniversary and we had such an amazing time. The staff was fantastic and we give BIG shout outs to Scott, Chris (sorry not sure if I spelled her name right), David and Rasheem. They always had a smile on their faces, laughed with us everyday and made us feel as comfortable as you do at your local places back home. I also have to give a shoutout to EC - thanks for your help with our boarding passes :-) EC walked around and checked on guests constantly. I really have to say that the ALL staff went out of their way to make our stay a pleasure. The hotel was clean, the food was surprisingly good (usually all inclusives are subpar, but it wasn't), and the staff was great. I know previous reviews mention problems with the pool, but it was clean and beautiful everyday and that's where we spent most of our time.

One downfall is that the bars on the resort close at 10pm which forces you to go to the casino if you want to continue to have a drink and hang out. Unfortunately, the casino was not a very comfortable atmosphere to hang out in. We are not big gamblers and would have preferred to enjoy having a drink outside at Big Al's bar with the friends we made while we were there. The resort was so beautiful at night with all the lights - we didn't want to sit inside a dark casino.

Overall, everything was great and my only suggestion would be they keep the bars on the resort open later so people can really enjoy the wonderful resort atmosphere.

Room Tip: Choose the Luxury Premium Room. It's a few more bucks, but it's well worth it - it has hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst. General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks a thousand fold for such a great review of your stay with us! All of the fabulous staff members listed will of course have a copy of your letter placed into their files, because they accomplished what we attempt to do every day, and that’s to provide our guests with a Memorable Vacation Experience!

As “the Season” has begun to kick-in, we’re reviewing the operating times of our outlets (particularly the bars) and will hopefully be able to keep them open for a longer duration. Needless to say, you’ve contributed greatly to the cause!

Thank you once again for such a great review, and we look forward to seeing you for the 2nd year anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Divi Carina Bay Resort is a decent beach resort and the only "All-Inclusive" option on St. Croix. Rooms are clean and decent, the staff is friendly enough (Edmund is great, always ready with a smile and eager to help). Offrings are a bit limited compared to larger all inclusive Caribbean resorts. Shopping and other activities require a taxi "shuttle" (not included). Two restaurants plus a pizza shack (in the parking lot? bit of an odd choic of locale, but it's on the way to miniture golf across the street, also not included).

There is a spa on-site, pretty small with very limited offerings, usually not open (??). Basic watersports activties on the beach, which is nice, but snorkeling is not very good unless you go a distance across the bay the reef (good collection of fish close by under the pier/dock if you don't want to make that swim, but careful of the concrete and rubble down there). Other water excursions require a cab ride or rental car. Haven't been to casino yet. Seems a little small, but other folks say it's nice.

All in all, we're having fun, but the place could use some improvements to be a true all-inclusive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for the observations made during your recent stay with us.

We’ve made the effort to provide as many diversions as possible for our guests to enjoy while on island. With the small size of our property, we’re able to offer several themed dinners, in-house events and entertainment. As an all-inclusive guest, you're entitled to use of the miniature golf course, tennis courts and all watersports activities at no additional charge.

Virgin Islands law prohibits hotel properties from providing free transportation (shuttles) services, hence the use of taxis and a large inventory of rental cars at several agencies throughout the island. We encourage visitors to go off property and take advantage of all lthe island has to offer.

Surfside Spa is available by appointment and had an inquiry been made for services, we would have been pleased to make the arrangements. East End Pizza’s location is perfect, as its close proximity to the miniature golf course/driving range and tennis courts makes it a focal point for patrons utilizing those areas.

We once again appreciate your comments and observations, and hope that you had a memorable stay while on St. Croix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.