We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Bad for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

First, this is not Sandals, so don't expect to be catered to. The resort was nice, but a little dated. The room was clean, but no frills. Rent a car because it is long way away from attractions. The service was lacking, but after reading the reviews it was what I expected. The service is that slow all over the island even at the drive thru of the Wendy's! I would stay here again. Marlon provided the best service by far, he is a waiter at the Dockside bar/resturant. The food was good, but it doesn't come quickly. The buffet at breakfast was a little old with the same stuff everyday. The Thursday night beach barbeque was outstanding! I would recommend it to anyone who visits St. Croix. The beach needed a little work, it could be raked and smoothed out. We had a strange week because normally the wind comes from the north and this side of the island is calm. We had wind all week, and it made the water choppy. We went adventuring and found Cramer Park not far away, on the the north east shore which the beach was nice, and there was showerhouses. No food or drink, so bring it with you. This is a family friendly resort and locals come to visit on the weekends, so it gets a little busy around the pool with kids, but nothing riduculous. The casino was nice enough with tables, and slots, not many video poker games though. The pizza joint was good, but slow. The putt putt golf course was nicer than the ones you pay to play at Myrtle Beach or Gatlinburg. I would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for an affordable vacation, even with the slow service eating out around the island is quite pricey. This was a nice place as a base of operations. My wife got sick, and did not make dinner one evening. Upon explaining to my waiter the situation, he went out of his way to make my wife a take out plate for her.

Go to Anchor Diving at Salt River Bay, and take the bio-lumecent night kayak tour with Ty, it was the most incredible experience. $45 a person.

The spa is busy, and you need to give them 24 hours notice. Come to find out people all over the island use the spa, and they are always busy.

In closing, I would recommend this resort to anyone who doesn't have ridiculously high expectations. Most of the negative reviews are from people who should of spent several thousand more and went to Sandals. If you want a nice place to stay, that you can eat and drink at with out paying $18.00 for Tacos at a beach bar, this is it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Assistant General Manager / Sales & Marketing at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Thank you for the objective review of your recent stay with us at the Divi Carina Bay Resort.
On a quick note, we’ve recently begun to renovate the rooms here on property (one wing at a time) and by the time you return to St. Croix and the Divi, you’ll be amazed at what’s taken place! The beach area is cleared of seaweed on a daily basis, but as you mentioned in your review, we were experiencing high winds and choppy seas during your stay…can’t stop Mother Nature!
Marlon is indeed a stand-out staff member, and he’ll be thrilled to read the review too. Surfside Spa is popular with both local residents and visitors alike, just as our restaurants and bars and we try to strike the perfect balance between the two. We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay on St. Croix, and would hope to be your island hosts once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    165
    97
    70
    34
See reviews for
126
229
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

This resort was fantastic. The staff went out of their way to make sure I had a great time. The restaurants had great food and service and the best pizza on island.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Assistant General Manager / Sales & Marketing at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Thank you for the kind review, from the point of a Businness Traveler. We're one of the few locales on this end of the island that receive strong mobile signals (AT&T / Sprint - sorry Verizon) and have recently upgraded our Internet Services, allowing the Business Traveler to stay in touch with what's important.

...and a great slice of pizza is a good thing too! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I was highly disappointed in this "resorts" accomodations and service staff. The rooms were unkept; we did not receive maid service daily over the course of our 7 day stay. One of the pools was broken for the duration of our trip and the only other pool available was across the highway at another Divi facility. There was no hot tub on site, as described on the Divi's website, and only 2 of the 4 advertised restaurants were availabe to us (with 1 of the 2 only open Sunday, Monday and Tuesday). The staff was down right rude, with the exception of Scott our bartender. The bar closed daily at 10pm, including weekend nights. Also, there wasn't nightly entertainment as advertised - only on Thursday night. Overall, this resort is sub par at best. I would definitely NOT reccommend to anyone looking for an all inclusive experience. It is also located on the far end of the island, so a rental car is highly advisable if you are going to stay here. We wound up leaving the Divi and re-locating to the St. Croix Marriott, which was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Assistant General Manager / Sales & Marketing at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
We’re sorry to learn that your recent stay with us was a disappointing experience. Our rooms are serviced each and every day by our Housekeeping Staff, and it’s unusual that we didn’t receive a complaint from you throughout your seven night stay that your room hadn’t been cleaned. Our Main Pool was in full operation during the time you’ve specified and most likely was being serviced when you noticed it. Our Timeshare units (Villas) are across a two lane street (in a residential community setting) less than a three minute walk from the Main hotel and is not a separate facility, as it lends itself to all of our resort’s guests. Our Hot Tub is located at the Villa Pool area, which is a small, private oasis, preferred by many of our clients.
Our four dining outlets are indeed operational, with the Starlite Grille serving breakfast daily, Dockside Café (adjacent to the pool and beach) is also open 7 days a week, serving Lunch and Dinner while East End Pizza & More is open five nights a week. There’s also the Carina Café located at the Carina Bay Casino that’s also a popular spot to cure the late night munchies is open Sun-Thurs. from 10am to 4am and is also open 24 hours on Friday and Saturday. We provide entertainment on Mondays with a live violinist playing for our dining guests, Tuesdays we host our Manager’s Cocktail Party with a live Steel Panist for the remainder of the evening, on Wednesdays is our ‘Sundaes on Wednesday’ ice cream social, that popular with guests and locals alike, followed by the ever popular Crab Races with Tito & Sue, followed by Karaoke with Dean Hodge. Thursday evening is our Caribbean Beach Barbeque that’s normally filled to capacity, Friday evening is our WII Dance Contest, while Brain McCullough plays guitar on Saturday at Dockside Café and Matt Vrba jams at East End Pizza every Sunday. Carina Bay Casino also offers live entertainment, with a variety of Local and Mainland groups performing on the stage every Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 10pm to 2am, and is one of the most popular spots on island. All entertainment and activities are listed in a Weekly Calendar of Activities given to every guest upon arrival in addition to the Divi Melee, which lists the specific Activities for that particular day that is distributed daily to each guest at breakfast.
We’re glad to hear that at least one staff member that was pleasant, but as mentioned earlier, had we been made aware of any staff member being so abjectly rude, the situation would have been nipped in the bud immediately. Yes, we are located on the far North Eastern shore of the island but this in itself is a great point of reference as we’re off the beaten trail, in a quiet, secluded area.
Overall, any member of our Management Team would have been at your disposal, had we been made aware of the difficulties that you’d experienced. We do hope that the remainder of your stay on island was pleasant enough and despite what you’ve described in your review of our resort, that you had at least one memorable moment, while on St. Croix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I love writing about my stay at the Divi. It was great!!!!. I am totally satisfied with the all inclusive, as the food was great (as always) and the variety was good. I was happy to see my St Croix family again. They are a great group of people, always smiling and always helpful. I already miss them. I would also like to commend the Gm Andreas for some of the improvements that have been made, and his friendly manner, and making you feel at home. I hope to see all you guys again next year. Once again thank you all for making my yearly vacation at the Divi a great and enjoyable time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Assistant General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2011
….thanks a million for the great review of your recent stay with us! A copy of the review was placed in the staff break room and everyone was ecstatic to have received such wonderful feedback from you. We’re trying our best to meet and exceed the needs of all our guests and feedback such as yours makes us strive to do even better! Just remember…click your flip-flops together three times while saying, “there’s no place like Divi, there’s no place like Divi” and we’ll see you again in no time! Thanks again for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler Pa.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

It was a great experience beginning with the location ,and physical beauty of the
hotel its self. The accomodations were more than I expected. Most importantly the Staff
was the best ,they made you feel like family. They couldn't do enough for us. Beginning with the G.M.Andreas, who was very engaging, and wanted to make sure we were having a great time, but it was Marlon, Scott, David ,Kurt, Abel, &Charthese to name a few that made this a vacation one to remember.All and all Iwish I could have spent month
in this Virgin Island Paradise. Sincerely, Jerry&Linda

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Assistant General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Thank you, thank you, thank you! That was a great review, and we're more than thrilled that you had such a great time with us during your stay here at Carina Bay. All the staff members mentioned recalled you vividly and send their greetings, but most of all we're all just glad that you had a wonderful vacation experience and fond memories of your St.Croix vacation.

We'll be on the look-out for your return trip, and remember...."what happens on St. Croix, stays on St.Croix!" See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Our experience was very nice, people/staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent,things were clean well situated on the beach property. The only downside that we had was tat the property needs a good bit of cosmetic maintenance and upgrading.
Other than that it was wonderful, looking forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Assistant General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Creating memorable vacation experiences is something that we try to do each day, and we’re glad that we succeeded with you! Chef Pastore and his staff have been very proactive and creative in preparing various styles of food to tantalize the palette; and we’re pleased you’ve enjoyed the fruits of their labors!

We’ve begun to renovate the rooms here on property (one wing at a time) and by the time you return to St. Croix and the Divi, you’ll be amazed at what’s taken place!

Thanks once again for the wonderful commentary and we’ll see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Divi Carina Bay.
Pros: Great for relaxing--not too crowded but not a ghost town either; all beach front rooms with beautiful views; food was better than I expected for all-inclusive; majority of staff were very friendly and helpful (like the below reviewer, we loved Marlon & Rhonda too!); manager Andreas was friendly and accessible; fun and low-key entertainment. It was perfect for us since we didn't want a hustle and bustle vacation.

Cons: rooms were outdated (but didn't really matter since we were hardly ever in the room); beach was a little bit too rocky, though beautiful; we did all-inclusive and kind of had to figure out everything for ourselves--it would have been helpful if front desk at check-in gave us a rundown.

Overall, we loved our stay here and will have fond memories for years to come of one of our most relaxing vacations!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Assistant General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you for the kind commentary! We’re elated to hear that you and the family thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, during your stay with us. I’m assured that Marlon and Rhonda will be thrilled to see their names in print too.

As a quick update, the beach area became rocky due to erosion that occurred in the month of November, when the island was bombarded with heavy rains and rouge waves. Mother Nature has been kind enough to slowly replenish the sand that was lost as we aren’t allowed to replenish it ourselves (local law).

We’re currently in the beginning stages of renovating rooms to lend the property an upbeat look and feel, and look forward to your next visit so you can see what we’ve been up to in your absence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.