We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was a dump” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve

Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve
Rte. 75 to Rte. 80, Christiansted, St. Croix
340-773-1460
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Bodies of Water, Historic Sites, Forests
Activities: Kayaking, Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dedicated in 1993, this national, ecological preserve and park features the largest remaining mangrove forest in the U.S.V.I., a submarine canyon, plus objects of cultural significance such as a prehistoric ceremonial hall and burial site.
New Boston, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This place was a dump”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was the only place we drove to(the area where you get to visit the site that Columbus landed at, as well at the Pirate bar near the boat docks) that we thought was a dump. Dirty and we felt nervous to be the only ones on the beach. The only place with litter, including lots of broken glass. Yucky. Skip it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    20
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, Usa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“History!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

What a beautiful place. You can almost imagine Columbus sending out his men. What an awesome place to see the bioluminescence.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and did the see-thru kayak tour, and it was really cool. We got a nice tour of the bay along with a good history lesson of the area. Our tour guide (Bryce) was top-notch. He seemed to know everything about all of the ships wrecks in the bay and the ecological and environmental issues its facing. Once it gets really dark (about an hour into the tour), the show starts. The plankton lights up when agitated, creating a starscape- type experience right under you. The place is kind of off the beaten path, so make sure to give yourself a little extra time in case you get turned around. Also, the see-through kayak tour accepts cash only for payment.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Columbus landed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband HAD to see where Columbus landed... It is so quaint and beautiful... He must have been amazed by the beautiful waters and beaches..

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Beach at Sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Salt Bay was a but hard to find but we found it the second day! It was majestic and beautiful. We were about the only people there. Lovely walk on the beach, seashells were fantastic, too! Calm beach and great views worth a quick visit if not Kayaking, which we have on our list for next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.