We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our St. Croix experience went from bad to worse - thank you Sugar Beach!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sugar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Adventure Package
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Locust Grove, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our St. Croix experience went from bad to worse - thank you Sugar Beach!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed at Sugar Beach from July 18-20. We were there on our honeymoon. The weather was terrible, so we decided to come home. It was raining so hard that we could not see to drive! We were told that there was a 3 night minimum, which is standard and we did not have a problem with that. When we arrived on the 18th, it was after hours. we called the after hours number and a security guard met us with the key. He never asked our name, to see identification, all we told him was what suite number we were in. That made us feel VERY secure!!! We stayed in Theatre on the Beach. The suite was very clean, however, the air did not work well at all. Because of the rain, wind, storms, etc., we could not sleep with the windows/doors open. It was muggy and hot in the room the entire time we were there. Becuse of this we could not sleep at all. There was also tons of ants - everywhere - including the beach. The condos were outdated. I would use the term "resort" loosely. There were no activities as one would think at a resort. Also, when booking the room, we used card A to reserve the room. With most places, once you reserve the room, upon checking in they ask how you want to pay (as did the place we are now staying). We planned on paying with card B. Since we never officially checked in, we werent asked how we wanted to pay. We explained this to the lady at the front desk when checking out and she assured us all would be fine. However, it wasn't . They actually charged card A the entire amount and refunded the difference to card B. They should have just released the hold on card A and charged card B the difference. We now have a negative balance on card A because of this. Now instead of enjoying the rest of our honeymoon, my husband is now trying to get this situation taken care of. Thank you Sugar Beach for making our St. Croix experience a miserable. This is a honeymoon we will never forgot!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stx, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
This review makes several good points, and as we apologize for the bother, we are also doing our best to address each and every one of them. Unfortunately, we had a tropical storm that hung over St. Croix for several days during this guests stay. And weather like that is hard on both people, insects - and on air-conditioning units. We totally understood that they wanted to leave, and there was no penalty. (We have even offered them the opportunity to return - hopefully when the weather is better). And once we knew there was an issue with the air-conditioning, it was immediately repaired. As for the issue with the confusion with the credit card, we do apologize. That was definitely our fault, and we will try hard to not make that mistake in the future. At least it is now completely cleared up. The security question is extremely interesting, and as it turns out the major issue for this guest. St. Croix has far fewer tourists than other islands - and we don't have the security issues that plague places on other island and on the mainland. Unfortunately, these guests took our relaxed atmosphere as a lack of control, but nothing could be less true. We knew they were coming, they were welcome guests. And the security guard notified the front desk that they had arrived as expected, so there was no need for the guests to repeat that step. We do apologize for the confusion our relaxed attitude caused however. As for the ants, they clearly were also trying to escape the rain and ant traps were called for - and that solved that problem. While we can not control the weather, and ants are a common problem on all tropical islands - both the air-conditioning and ants in the condo issues would have been resolved immediately had the guests but let us know. But late is better than never, so thank you for letting us know what things needed fixing - and again, we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    26
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
40
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Very nice place- we stayed in unit 215- "Theatre on the the Beach". Very well stocked with everything we needed- it was home away from home. The pool was amazing, we had great internet access and was close to town. The kayak was nice and the beach was relaxing. GO HERE!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Just returned late last night from St. Croix, USVI - which is a great place to visit especially if you enjoy water based activities. We were in # 113 at the Sugar Beach Condos and I would not recommend this resort to anyone! The condo was on the first floor with direct access to the beach - which would have been great if it was a sandy beach. However, it was full of pebbles and not possible to walk on the beach or into the beautiful ocean without sandles or aqua shoes unless you have feet made of leather. Once you got beyond the pebbles there were long sea grasses - no sandy bottom here. This was our second week on the island and, at this point, we had already been to several beautiful sandy beaches (Shoy, Rainbow, Butler Bay, Carambola - to name just a few) - this is definitely not one one them. During our week we saw only two groups of people even attempt to spend time in the water - they did not last long. The condo we stayed in was older and had a mildew smell that improved slightly when the air conditioning was on. The entire unit was in desperate need of updating and repair. The dishwasher did not do a good job so we ended up washing dishes by hand. The bedspread was bleach spotted with dirt spots that obviously had not come out when washed.. The worst thing however, were the roaches!! Every morning I could expect to find at least 2 of them in the bathroom. Even closing the drain did not help. There was also one we spotted in the kitchen and another in the living room. On two occasions the roach was 2-3 inches long!!! I realize that on a tropical island I should expect to find large bugs but the week prior we stayed outside of Fredericksted (Mill Point Villa) and did not see one roach. My daughter and her husband also stayed at Carambola - no roaches. The only good thing about this rental was the pool - very clean and inviting. It seemed pointless to complain as we feft that this probably was the best they could offer. After all, isn't the point of a rental association to show its best side? . When we checked out no one even asked about our stay. St. Croix is a beautiful place that we plan to visit again but we will not be staying at the Sugar Beach Condos.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stx, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Thank you so much for saying nice things about St. Croix - we agree - it is a beautiful island. And the reviewer does make some excellent points - air conditioning and dishwashers should work, units should not smell, and of course there should not be roaches. Please don't think that mentioning problems is a complaint - it isn't - it is a way to make us be better. Once we knew of the issues, the air conditioning and dishwasher were repaired, and the roach problem addressed. We have also arranged to get the bed spread replaced. In addition, the owner of this specific condo has been asked to do a complete upgrade. Thank you so much for the opportunity to improve - we definitely appreciate the input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILWAUKEE
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Theatre on the Beach! Even the name doesn’t say it all!

What a wonderful escape! Truly a home away from home. Every conceivable convenience was there, from spices in the kitchen to laundry soap to movies to please all. AC was available, but the breezes off the ocean were usually enough to keep cool. The linen closet had plenty of bath towels and beach towels to fill all our needs. A dish washer and washing machine completed the “package”. Housekeeping would do a touch up mid week if we had wanted, but we didn’t see the need.

We had space for our family of four and a friend we were traveling with. Five adults fit quite comfortably without feeling crowded. Multiple bathrooms were a luxury.

Most meals were eaten on the balcony so we could enjoy the view and the lovely breezes. When we chose to eat out we had many places to chose from, one within walking distance and more just a short drive away.

The condo has the feeling of seclusion; even the beach had a personal feel to it. We were able to snorkel and kayak right in our own “back yard” using the supplied "toys", so had the convenience of not having to buy or rent them.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Sugar Beach condos is at a wonderful location. Right on the beach. Staff very friendly, and helpful. Pool is great, very, very clean, and large. The unit that my husband and I stayed in was large, and decorated very nicely. Four poster bed and all. But upon arrival, STAY AWAY from Budget car rental located at the airport!!! We had reserved a car before had, and when we arrived we where told, that Budget did not accept debit/Visa, or Master card, or any other debit card for vehicle!!! Well with this economy, we have gotten rid of all credit cards, and NEVER had a problem with reserving a vehicle with this card! And where NEVER told by Budget Rental when we made the reservation of this policy, Buy the way the women at Budget car rental at the counter said they would rent the vehicle to us for an additional 25.00 per day charge, non refundable. That would have boost the cost of the rental 175.00 per week!!! What a scam!!! We said no way, and walked over to Avis car rental three windows away, and guess what? No problem with our card, or rental, and for only a few dollars more!!! Never deal with this co. again!! Oh and by the way, if you you are a nerves person, about driving on the left-side of the road, get a cab!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed at Sugar Beach Condos May 1-8, 2010. We had bid on an on-line auction for a studio, so we got a good price. The A/C stopped working on the 2nd day, and the staff were very nice about upgrading us to a 1-BR. No complaints about the place or the staff at all. Nice to have a full kitchen, to save $ on some meals.
Beach is ok, snorkeling so-so unless you want to swim out to the reef (too far for us).
Good central location--you can get to the East End or the West End in 45 mins at most (20 mph speed limit). Only 5 mins from the main town of Christiansted.
Buck Island is a good side trip, as is the Bioluminescent Bay kayak trip on a moonless night.
We hope to return to St. Croix, and would stay at Sugar Beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I travel to Stx frequently and have stayed at several hotels, however this one in particular gives me the most relaxation ever. Maybe its the wind blowing at a consistent pace, or the light sound of the waves chop, it could even be the view from your walk out balcony (floor level twice)...whatever it is I always enjoy my tranquility and return back home looking like I spend the entire weekend at the spa. The beach isn't completely swimmer friendly but is beautiful nonetheless. Of the rooms I have stayed in which by the way are adorably decorated they have always been clean and well kept. This is your destination for relaxation!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: 3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach is a condominium resort on St. Croix, USIV with studio, one, two, three and four bedroom units - all directly on the beach! We welcome you to stay in your own private condo - complete with balconies, fans, air conditioning, beautiful furnishings, and your very own kitchen. The resort also offers complementary WiFi in all condos, 2 tennis courts, hammocks and lounge chairs on the beach plus kayaks and Zayaks (glass bottom snorkel sleds). Sugar Beach is ideal for Active Travelers looking for accommodations in the middle of the action with a "home" base to come back to at the end of the day. The choices of island activities are endless - days can be filled with diving and snorkeling, kayaking, nature hiking, horseback riding, golfing, sailing, jeep tours through the rain forest and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Condominiums Hotel St. Croix
Sugar Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.