We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would we stay anywhere but unit 215!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sugar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Why would we stay anywhere but unit 215!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This is our 2nd year for Theatre on the Beach. We took our two adult children and our two year old grandson . Where do I start? Leslie the owner is wonderful and responsive. The condo have been totally remodeled and is perfect. There were actually toys that thrilled our grandson and kayaks to thrill everyone else. Easy drive to different beaches....cabs a pain for exploring.
Let's put it this way....we plan an April vacation here at Theatre on the Beach.....please don't move here Leslie. We love St Croix, we will be looking for an open April vacation again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St._Croix_Local, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Here at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, the name of the game is making our guests have a wonderful time. It's so gratifying for our staff to know that they have succeeded! Many thanks for sharing your Sugar Beach experiences with the travel public as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    31
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
54
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Wonderfully equipped condo on beautiful beach. The owners have provided a truly lovely setting to just RELAX and enjoy the virtually private beach (either on the sand via the hammock and beach chairs or from the patio with such comfortable furniture and breezes), the TV and movies, and whatever folks do with time to relax and excellent wireless. They also have a great write up of activities that the island has to offer - we visited the west end, did stand up paddle boarding, SCUBA diving (they have it for non-certified divers now, did you know?), the sailboat, snorkle and lunch barbeque cruise, golf, horseback riding and a rum plant tour (complete with rum drink tasting). We ran out of time before we ran out of things to do. We did breakfasts and a couple of lunches and dinners in, and ate out the rest of the time. Totally awesome and relaxing vacation - so glad we went! Note - this is a condo, and not a hotel, with all of the advantages of home in a vacation setting!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St._Croix_Local, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
It was great to hear that you so enjoyed your condo at Sugar Beach and that you were able to enjoy so many of the available activities on St. Croix. Hope to see you again soon and Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harper Woods, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I rated Sugar Beach Resort with a low score because #1 - it is NOT a resort. It is a condo complex.
Had their site or any other travel site prepared us for what to expect we would have been prepared. Maid service is once a week - which meant we had to wash our towels - would have been ok if they supplied laundry soap. You must empty your own trash and take it to the dumpster. We asked the front desk for toilet paper and were told they would see if they could find some - they never did. We had to take it from the pool restroom! And, no, they had no laundry detergent. Oh, our one day of maid service came the afternoon before we were leaving. There was no soap, shampoo and one hair dryer for a three bedroom unit. (again, had we known we would have been prepared) The ocean, although pretty, is not a pace to swim. It is full of turtle grass and very shallow for along way out. FYI -The security guard told us we should not walk outside of the resort after dark. All of that being said - the condo was nice - but this is not a resort with any services whatsoever.

Room Tip: Read all the reviews carefully - my trip was with adult family members
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St._Croix_Local, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are extremely sorry to learn that your experience at Sugar Beach did not measure up to your expectations and we appreciate the feedback.

I have studied our website and you are correct that, although there is enough information in there to infer it, I don't think we make it clear enough that Sugar Beach is offering fully equipped condo units rather than hotel rooms to our guests. I will push to have this modified.

Even more upsetting was the input that you did not receive some of the services you were entitled to. This looks like a serious failure at the front desk and we will thoroughly investigate and correct as required.

The reasons that we (as well as the IRS!) consider Sugar Beach to be a resort condominium rather than a residential complex are as follows:

* Over 95% of our units are actively rented and only 3 owners live here.

* Our property is directly on the beach and the balconies of all units face the sea.

* Every unit has WIFI which is free to our renters.

* We offer kayaks and zyaks for use by our guests.

* We have a large, free form, professionally managed pool, as well as 2 tennis courts on property.

* Our staffing includes grounds and building maintenance personnel (who groom our beach and 7 acre property continually).

* Finally, Sugar Beach has a front desk which offers knowledgeable concierge service every day during business hours.

Once again, we appreciate your input and will make every effort to implement all improvements indicated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

that´s beautiful nice weekend place like the beach great for walk go to nice resturant nice bar night club the town beautiful like right horse go to the boat go to dinner in the beach beutiful afternoon

Room Tip: las suites en las esquinas son mas grandes y soleadas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St._Croix_Local, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you so much for posting this review. We're extremely glad you had such a good time and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Theatre on the Beach, Unit 215, the week of March 22. The condo was stunning. It has been completely gutted and remodeled with beautiful upgrades, and is every bit as beautiful as the listing photos. The property was spotless and well maintained with all of the amenities we needed for cooking, cleaning and relaxing. There was everything we needed for snorkeling and the kayaks were an added treat. There was a beautiful breeze off the sea the entire time we were there, and we never needed to turn on the AC. The beach and pool were never crowded, and we never had difficulty finding a lounge chair. The pool and grill area have also recently been renovated, and were extremely clean and inviting. Leslie, the owner, was extremely helpful and answered all of our e-mails and questions in a timely manner. The property itself was beautifully maintained and the beach cleaned and raked daily. Sharon, Michelle and Francis in the office were extremely friendly and helpful. Any concerns we had were addressed in a timely and efficient manner. We did rent a car, but we used Big John's Taxi a couple of times, and would recommend it. We enjoyed the Breezez restaurant, which is right next door, as well. The service was good, and the food was well prepared and reasonably priced. We ate at the Avacado Pit, Brew Pub, Angry Nates and Rum Runners in Christiansted. We were very happy with the food, and service in all of them. We took the day trip to Buck Island which was wonderful, and chartered a fishing boat for a 1/2 day ($400) through the rental shop on the corner by the Avacado Pit restaurant - Captain John - he was great. We did do the bioluminescent kayak tour in Salt River, and were somewhat disappointed. Two hours was too long, and we did not think it was as stunning as advertised. It was a wonderful week, and we would not hesitate to recommend this property to a friend or relative. Only wish there was a nonstop flight from Chicago to St. Croix.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your review will no doubt be useful for future travelers. We will be sure to pass your kind comments along to the staff, especially those who you were kind enough to remember and mention by name. We are so pleased that you found a particular unit that you like. Sugar Beach does offer a variety of sizes for accommodations – studios, one bedrooms, two bedrooms and even four bedrooms, all just steps from the beach. We do hope to be able to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We found many good things with this resort and some reservations with other things. we have traveled all over the caribbean so feel we have a lot of comparisons. We are beach lovers and have decided this is not really a beach/swim island. yes, we were right on the beach and enjoyed the peaceful views of the beach and ocean. But, the beach is pebbly with ground up shells, and not a good swimming area. We did drive to Buccaneer for beach experiences. Our condo was outdated but clean and well equipped. (unit 209) Mattresses needed to be replaced as well as sofas. Both were lumpy and well used. This condo is probably built in late 50s/ or 60s. We have stayed in much nicer condos on our travels. The owners at this complex are sooo friendly and readily included us. if you like using a pool rather than the beach you would love the beautiful pool here with lounges and cookout area. Because we love the beach we probably will not return. if you want warmth, hospitality and pool useage this is the place for you. A nice place just not for our wants/needs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and sharing feedback about your vacation experience. A new management team has recently come on board at Sugar Beach and we are working on making each of the units outstandingly attractive and comfortable in their appearance and amenities. We appreciate your kind words about our pool area and the friendly atmosphere. Perhaps we might be able to welcome you back to our peaceful Sugar Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We wanted to find a nice resort style accommodation without the "big resort" atmosphere of large crowds, dining halls, beach bars with overserved loud and annoying patrons, etc. Sugar Beach proved to be the place for us!

The resort was well kept, very private and offered incredible accommodations for our family, the kids really loved their twin loft and our second story patio deck with incredible views of the beach extending outward to incredible colors of the ocean and the distant view of Buck Island. It was a first for the kids who snorkeled the beach area observing small fish and a very young sea turtle.

We wanted an active trip and spent many days driving about the island exploring finding something new and exciting daily. When we needed down time the pool, tennis courts and grill offered us a great resort day where we could enjoy a homestyle day away from home. The full kitchen offered us the advantage of some home cooked meals and some of the usual fast food places like McDonalds and Subway were nearby as well as two great grocery stores.

Even if we choose to visit St. Croix without the kids we'll be right back at Sugar Beach. We are excited about planning our next vacation and just learned they added more beach activities such as the new Zayak, a face down type floating platform that you can paddle and kick around while viewing the undersea area off the beach. Snorkeling without the snorkel as Zayak puts it! Kayak use is now available as well as other improvements were released on their website blog.

And special thanks not only to the staff, but to other reviewers who helped us make this our resort of choice.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a first level room if you want easy access to the beach. Second floor units requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We are truly delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments, we will be sure to pass them along to the staff. Sugar Beach is the perfect location for travelers like you, looking for an active vacation, as you can jump off to anywhere on the island from here. Your review and recommendation to read our blog will no doubt be useful for future travelers. We do hope to be able to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.4 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#2 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
7.4 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: 3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach is a condominium resort on St. Croix, USIV with studio, one, two, three and four bedroom units - all directly on the beach! We welcome you to stay in your own private condo - complete with balconies, fans, air conditioning, beautiful furnishings, and your very own kitchen. The resort also offers complementary WiFi in all condos, 2 tennis courts, hammocks and lounge chairs on the beach plus kayaks and Zayaks (glass bottom snorkel sleds). Sugar Beach is ideal for Active Travelers looking for accommodations in the middle of the action with a "home" base to come back to at the end of the day. The choices of island activities are endless - days can be filled with diving and snorkeling, kayaking, nature hiking, horseback riding, golfing, sailing, jeep tours through the rain forest and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Condominiums Hotel St. Croix
Sugar Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.