We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sugar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Theatre on the beach rented from Cyber rental and VRBO is how we found this fabulous condo at Sugar Beach Resort in St. Croix!! It was everything the owner said it was!! Amazing view and loaded with all the comforts of home. Tons of towels, kitchen stuff and the 60 plasma tv with blue ray and all the cd were wonderful. They even had housekeeping service every 3 days and appreciated us leaving our un-used items instead of tossing them!!
Francis and Eliza were great and the grounds were beautifully kept!! It was quiet and the 2 resteraunts on either side were so handy. The beach was beautiful, well kept but sand wasn't as soft as it looked. Not a great swimming beach but the snorkeling was fabulous when you found the areas that had some rocks. Much clearer water than Hawaii although fish weren't as colorful just more kinds.

  • Liked — room & view
  • Disliked — not a great swimming beach, sand course
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    31
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
54
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We stayed in #215 (Theater on the Beach). This was a beautiful unit - fully equipped with everything you could possible want or need - even our own personal kayak! Sugar Beach Resort was beautiful.... yes, there is some sea grass but that didn't stop us from enjoying the beautiful beach. The beach is raked every morning and the grass was not a problem.... water shoes may be a good idea. The pool area was spotless and most days we had the pool to ourselves. There were grills available for guests to use as well as a computer to check our email. We never needed air conditioning - the tradewinds made our unit very comfortable. Everyone was friendly and most helpful.
We had a rental car (rent from Judi's) and saw everything we wanted to see.... Christiansted was a great place to shop, restaurants (especially Rum Runners, Breezes and Duggan's Reef) were wonderful. Sunset sail through Caribbean Sea Adventures was fantastic! Kayak tour with Caribbean Adventure tours was lots of fun and very informative. I could go on and on raving about St. Croix and Sugar Beach but I'll let you discover for yourself!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

We spent a wonderful week at Sugar Beach. We rented directly from the owner through VRBO.com and received excellent communication and service. When Howard said we would be right on the beach, he didn't exaggerate. "Hornblower on the Beach" provided EVERYTHING. The condo was on the first floor, had 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths, a fully stocked kitchen (all you needed was food), linens, two TVs (one with satellite and DVD), comfy couch and chairs. The porch was the place to be in the mornings. My husband spent most of his morning time lounging in the hammock while I ate breakfast at the table and chairs provided. Howard even provided extra water sports gear (floats, boogie boards, flippers, etc). I can't say enough about the comforts-of-home atmosphere without the hassles of daily life. If you want to relax on the beach, this is the place to go. The beach is quiet. You have to swim rather far out to avoid the sea grass, but the reef keeps unwanted predators out. Watch out for the sting rays who hide in the grass...you'll scare them off. The pool is clean, sparkling, and huge. The condo provides Internet access in the common room that also has books, games, cards, tables, chairs, etc. You can also grill outside by the pool if you wish.
Howard also provided us with some restaurant recommendations. The Lobster Reef Cafe, located close to Cane Bay, had excellent, modestly priced food. The owner did tell us he was planning to sell, so I'm not sure if the restaurant is still in business. Look to Howard's links to check. Don't let the looks of the place (or the driveway) scare you away....the food and service were the best! Outdoor eating overlooking the beach. Another of our favorite restaurants was The Case Place, located near the harbor of Gallows Bay. Priced higher than Lobster Reef, this restaurant had awesome steaks and seafood. We ate here twice and were not disappointed either time. Our favorite burger place has to be Cheeseburger in Paradise. You'll find this restaurant on the road toward Point Udall. You know it has to be great when you walk up to the hostess and she hands you bug spray. Yes, you eat outside, but that's the charm of the place. That and the huge, juicy burgers. We also ate at an Italian place that was easy to forget. Something Bene. It was on one of the main highways. Pricey. Charged $8.00 for a litre of water. Food was mediocre. Try some of the lesser known places. You might be surprised. Food is generally more expensive than in the states.
We took Captain Heinz' charter over to Buck Island. He costs a bit more than some of the other charters, but he only takes 8-10 people, he KNOWS this place like the back of his hand, he is entertaining, and he is accommodating. My daughter grew tired of snorkeling rather quickly so she promptly swam back to the catamaran, crawled in the hammock, and read a book. Heinz didn't mind and even shared his home-grown mango with her. The snorkeling trail is phenominal. We spent several hours at Buck Island and can't wait to go back.
My daughter and I went horseback riding with Stephen (can't recall his last name). He was absolutely the BEST. At first I was a bit leary because the horses are roaming around in the shrubs in this out-of-the-way location, but Stephen knows his horses. When you ride on the beach, you really ride on the beach. A student of his and my daughter had the time of their lives--they galloped along the beach and tore up a hillside while I just watched calmly from the saddle. Stephen is not with the advertised stables (who weren't very friendly on the phone, by the way). He may no longer do tours, but if he does, be sure to find him. The folks at Cane Bay Dive Shop know him. He always has on a cowboy hat. Speaking of Cane Bay, this is where you want to snorkel or learn to dive. I really wanted to learn to dive, but being claustrophobic, I wasn't too sure. Cane Bay Dive Shop offers a beginners class that starts in 3-4 feet of water and ends in 30-40 feet. The instructor was so patient and kind. Unfortunately, I just couldn't bring myself to dive. I did, however, snorkel here. The water is so clear. No sea grass. You do have to swim out rather far to find anything, but WOW when you get there....
We did some of the tourist stuff--the beer drinking pig (waste of time), the rain forest (on the way to the pig), Fredricksted (scary place for us--guy asked how old our daughter was and followed us for a bit), drove over to the South side of the island (beautiful cliffs and awesome waves crashing on the rocks). Mostly, though, we stuck to the condo because we took this trip to relax and be together as a family. Our teenager had her own space at the condo, and we had ours but we also had together space. Howard has board games, cards, and movies for you if you need entertainment. This was a wonderful, relaxing vacation. We can't wait to go back and we will definitely stay at "Hornblower by the Sea."

  • Liked — Stepping down four stairs and touching sand
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

We just spent ten days at Sugar Beach Condos and had a great experience. Our condo was clean and quiet with an exceptional view. All of the staff at the facility (thank you Francis and Eliza) were extremely helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend Sugar Beach and we would stay there again. Having the beach out our door was great. Each day the sea grass was cleaned from the beach. Snorkeling from the condo was good. Rays, lobster, barracuda, etc. Although we ate at many great restaurants (not to include the highly overrated Kendricks) during our stay, Breezes right next door to the condos was not only convenient but excellent! We also couldn't get over how courteous all of the driver's were on the island (take note Boise drivers) Thanks again for an excellent vacation!

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

It's not often that a vacation rental completely lives up to its listing, but our rental at Sugar Beach was the delightful exception to that rule.
We stayed here from 01/29/08 through 02/06/08, and could not have been happier with our decision. Sugar Beach is in a prime location on St Croix, less than 10 minutes west of Christiansted, and the property is just perfect. Beachfront that is RIGHT OUTSIDE your master bedroom, a protected swimming beach, superb views toward town & the other islands, grocery/gas within a mile, Breezez restaurant right next door, and quiet enjoyment all the time.
If you have never gone to the USVI, you could not pick a better place to stay. If you are returning, don't miss this property on St Croix. Every photo was accurate; every description was spot on; everything was as we'd hoped it would be.
We'll be back; that's the best compliment we could offer.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

In October of 2006, my husband, 16 year old son and I stayed at Sugar Beach for one week. Francis was wonderful at answering my many questions before the trip and during. Our condo was very roomy and the view from the third floor balcony was wonderful every morning to have coffee on and sit with the gecos who would come to visit! We snorkled nearly every day just out front and enjoyed seeing many colorful fish. Sea grass was unavoidable near the beach, but once you cleared it- nothing but blue waters and fish! Buck Island was great and we spent time snorkeling in Cane Bay. Beer drinking pigs a must to see! I cannot say I was impressed by any of the neighboring restaraunts but they were handy if needed. Even though condo was not in best area of island, we felt safe as long as we did not venture from the grounds or neighboring condos. Even my 16 year old had a wonderful time as he could keep in touch back home through Sugar Beach's club house with internet and computer! A jeep is a must in order to go sight seeing and the pool was wonderful! Even used the barbeque to cook up a mahi mahi my son caught on a fishing trip. Nothing better than fresh! We will go back to this location!

  • Liked — Access to snorkeling out front!
  • Disliked — Projects located just outside complex!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

I am torn between letting the world know how wonderful Sugar Beach Condos are and trying to keep the masses from taking over this great destination. My husband and I have been yearly regular guest there for the last 5 years and would not dream of staying anywhere else on St. Croix. Easily accesible to great restauraunts (Breezzes, right next door) and to the grocery store, and downtown. (rent a car from Judi of Croix!) The management is friendly, the security, first rate and the location, with the awsome view and steps from the beach is priceless. We have made many friends among the owners and regulars and look forward to our get-togethers every year. Tom and Dale Avery, Granbury, Texas

  • Liked — Location right on the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.4 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#2 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
7.4 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: 3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach is a condominium resort on St. Croix, USIV with studio, one, two, three and four bedroom units - all directly on the beach! We welcome you to stay in your own private condo - complete with balconies, fans, air conditioning, beautiful furnishings, and your very own kitchen. The resort also offers complementary WiFi in all condos, 2 tennis courts, hammocks and lounge chairs on the beach plus kayaks and Zayaks (glass bottom snorkel sleds). Sugar Beach is ideal for Active Travelers looking for accommodations in the middle of the action with a "home" base to come back to at the end of the day. The choices of island activities are endless - days can be filled with diving and snorkeling, kayaking, nature hiking, horseback riding, golfing, sailing, jeep tours through the rain forest and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Condominiums Hotel St. Croix
Sugar Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.