We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sugar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Unit 315 is a nice condo with enough space located right on the beach. When we were home, we spent most of our time sitting in the gallery or balcony overlooking the beach. The staff were very friendly and our group of 4 women felt very welcome and safe throughout our vacation on St. Croix. The beach is perfect for children since there are no waves here. You can walk to grocery stores and restaurants from this complex or It is a short drive to town. We rented a car and explored a lot of this beautiful island. Buck Island, Rainbow Beach, Cane Bay, it was a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: This is the largest condo in the complex with 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and was as described by the ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We are pleased to read that you had such a nice vacation at the Sugar Beach Resort. Thanks for sharing so many great travel tips with future visitors to the resort and for pointing out the resort IS perfect for families! We will share your compliments with the team, who work very hard to make sure our guests enjoy their time in St Croix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    31
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
54
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Sugar Beach condos are not in the best part of town, but they are a great price because of it. You'll need a car or have to rely on taxis if you want to get into Christiansted proper. Our condo was clean and well-supplied with rental basics (soaps, kitchen cleaners, beach chairs, linens, etc), and we really enjoyed the view out to the reef. The master bedroom was great and had a good master bath with walk-in shower. The other bedroom was a bit stuffy if you closed the door, so folks just left the door open. The condo is designed with enough hallway doors for privacy.

Sugar Beach is in the middle of a long strip of condo developments along a beach. The sand isn't superfine (certainly not sugar), and the water has a lot of sea grass which they constantly rake off the beach itself, but the snorkeling out to the tire reef is fantastic! There's always a nice breeze on the porch and you can hear the surf at night. Blissful.

Across the street on the backside of the property is the projects. Stay respectful of their space and you shouldn't have a problem; Sugar Beach also has night watchmen who walk the beach. There are also bars on all the windows, but truly, they do not impair the beach experience.

There's a decent club house with a computer and a very nice pool area. We had a few meals out there and it was fun. Right next door is another condo which has the restaurant Breezes, a good place to eat. You can walk west along the shore (wear rock shoes) and end up at Estate Little Princess, a Nature Conservancy spot that's a delight to explore.

Christiansted is a 7 minute car ride away. There are a number of grocery stores nearby; ask at the desk for the better ones to go to, depending on what you want.

Room Tip: First floor condos have direct access to beach. 2nd and 2rd floor condos have better air circulatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant vacation and enjoyed your room. Thank you for noting that Sugar Beach Resort offers good value. Your travel tips will no doubt come in handy to future visitors! We certainly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This cozy little set of apartments has a nice beach, with some hammocks, is calm and relaxing... and is close to town. They also have a swimming pool. There is convenient shopping nearby and lots of good places to eat there along the beach. If you want night life, it is a short drive to Christensted (- though if you want to be in the thick of it stay at one of the nice hotels (several) over there).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments. We very much appreciate when our valued guests take time to leave reviews. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed a week at Unit #215, "Theatre on the Beach" in December 2012. We stayed with my 27 year old son and his wife. We all enjoy "chilling" and spent several days at the beach out front. Most days we had it to ourselves.

This condo was very nice. The new shower is beautiful and the master suite and the second bath are both nice. We did not use the bonus room, but it would have been great fun for kids. The condo would easily accommodate six people. My husband in a freak accident broke the shower door and the owner agreed to cover it - over $300. That was quite unexpectedly nice.

The kitchen is small but well equipped. The kayak is a lot of fun. The staff is accommodating and helpful, on an island time kind of schedule. We found the night security people to be very helpful. We came in late, the phone was answered promptly and he helped us bring in our luggage and refused a tip.

The beach is not the best, but there are beach chairs and towels if you want to go somewhere else. We found the beach at the Buccaneer and Taramindo to be great and chairs were very reasonable there.

The "Christmas winds" blew through the house the whole time and we never used the AC. This made snorkeling on the north side of the island choppy and difficult. Trips to Buck Island were cancelled a couple of days we were there.

Really enjoyed sailing with Bilinda. Golfing at the Buccaneer was great and they never charges as much as they quoted. We played with club rental for $160 total to 2 people. Well worth it!

Room Tip: Unit 215 has an updated master bath with an awesome shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNESOTA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were there Thanksgiving week 2012. It was very quiet and we nearly had the beach and pool to ourselves most days. The views are spectacular. The unit has everything you need, even the little things like aluminum foil, saran wrap, or laundry detergent, when you only need alittle bit. My husband loved watching football on the big screen TV. The employees at the condo are all very friendly. We really enjoyed our stay at Theater on the Beach and hope to be back again sometime soon. We enjoyed golfing especially at Carambola golf course and seeing the huge iguana and our snorkel trip to Buck Island. It was very close to be able to run into town for shopping or eating at the Waterfront restaurants.

Room Tip: My husband loved the big TV for watching football at the unit, Theater on the Beach, and we loved th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Sugar Beach finding the friendliness of the staff, amenities and not to mention the most incredible beach experience. I found the rates to be more competitive than other area resorts making this an even greater value. While some state the decor is a little outdated, we didn't spend that much time in our unit to really have it effect our impression. Given the overall value of our experience i would definitely come back again, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Be flexible. If you really are not comfortable with the room you booked there are always upgrades a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for visiting St Croix, and for choosing Sugar Beach. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant vacation and I will share your kind feedback with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Spent 3 nights mid week at Sugar Beach Condos. The beach was great and easily accessible. That was the high point of our stay. It was centrally located to eateries and nightlife. The downside was that the condos were dreadfully outdated and mediocre. Bugs were plentiful and bothersome when trying to sleep. I hope we didn't bring bedbugs back with us. It was reasonably priced, so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly S, Director of Sales at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
We appreciate your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed having your unit so close to the beach this is in fact one of our best features for our guests. All of our units are beach front and the ones on our first floor have direct access to the beach. As you mentioned our location is centrally located within walking distance to Breezes restaurant and lounge. Being in the hot, tropical, Caribbean environment we highly recommend that our guests maintain the balcony doors closed while on the beach in order to avoid any bugs from the outside. Our units are very much bed bug free.
I am glad to inform you that many of our units have been updated with amazing features for various guest budgets. We thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.4 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#2 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
7.4 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: 3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach is a condominium resort on St. Croix, USIV with studio, one, two, three and four bedroom units - all directly on the beach! We welcome you to stay in your own private condo - complete with balconies, fans, air conditioning, beautiful furnishings, and your very own kitchen. The resort also offers complementary WiFi in all condos, 2 tennis courts, hammocks and lounge chairs on the beach plus kayaks and Zayaks (glass bottom snorkel sleds). Sugar Beach is ideal for Active Travelers looking for accommodations in the middle of the action with a "home" base to come back to at the end of the day. The choices of island activities are endless - days can be filled with diving and snorkeling, kayaking, nature hiking, horseback riding, golfing, sailing, jeep tours through the rain forest and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Condominiums Hotel St. Croix
Sugar Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.