We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sugar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ames, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Great Condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed a week at Unit #215, "Theatre on the Beach" in December 2012. We stayed with my 27 year old son and his wife. We all enjoy "chilling" and spent several days at the beach out front. Most days we had it to ourselves.

This condo was very nice. The new shower is beautiful and the master suite and the second bath are both nice. We did not use the bonus room, but it would have been great fun for kids. The condo would easily accommodate six people. My husband in a freak accident broke the shower door and the owner agreed to cover it - over $300. That was quite unexpectedly nice.

The kitchen is small but well equipped. The kayak is a lot of fun. The staff is accommodating and helpful, on an island time kind of schedule. We found the night security people to be very helpful. We came in late, the phone was answered promptly and he helped us bring in our luggage and refused a tip.

The beach is not the best, but there are beach chairs and towels if you want to go somewhere else. We found the beach at the Buccaneer and Taramindo to be great and chairs were very reasonable there.

The "Christmas winds" blew through the house the whole time and we never used the AC. This made snorkeling on the north side of the island choppy and difficult. Trips to Buck Island were cancelled a couple of days we were there.

Really enjoyed sailing with Bilinda. Golfing at the Buccaneer was great and they never charges as much as they quoted. We played with club rental for $160 total to 2 people. Well worth it!

Room Tip: Unit 215 has an updated master bath with an awesome shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    30
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
51
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MINNESOTA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were there Thanksgiving week 2012. It was very quiet and we nearly had the beach and pool to ourselves most days. The views are spectacular. The unit has everything you need, even the little things like aluminum foil, saran wrap, or laundry detergent, when you only need alittle bit. My husband loved watching football on the big screen TV. The employees at the condo are all very friendly. We really enjoyed our stay at Theater on the Beach and hope to be back again sometime soon. We enjoyed golfing especially at Carambola golf course and seeing the huge iguana and our snorkel trip to Buck Island. It was very close to be able to run into town for shopping or eating at the Waterfront restaurants.

Room Tip: My husband loved the big TV for watching football at the unit, Theater on the Beach, and we loved th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Sugar Beach finding the friendliness of the staff, amenities and not to mention the most incredible beach experience. I found the rates to be more competitive than other area resorts making this an even greater value. While some state the decor is a little outdated, we didn't spend that much time in our unit to really have it effect our impression. Given the overall value of our experience i would definitely come back again, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Be flexible. If you really are not comfortable with the room you booked there are always upgrades a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for visiting St Croix, and for choosing Sugar Beach. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant vacation and I will share your kind feedback with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Spent 3 nights mid week at Sugar Beach Condos. The beach was great and easily accessible. That was the high point of our stay. It was centrally located to eateries and nightlife. The downside was that the condos were dreadfully outdated and mediocre. Bugs were plentiful and bothersome when trying to sleep. I hope we didn't bring bedbugs back with us. It was reasonably priced, so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly S, Director of Sales at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
We appreciate your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed having your unit so close to the beach this is in fact one of our best features for our guests. All of our units are beach front and the ones on our first floor have direct access to the beach. As you mentioned our location is centrally located within walking distance to Breezes restaurant and lounge. Being in the hot, tropical, Caribbean environment we highly recommend that our guests maintain the balcony doors closed while on the beach in order to avoid any bugs from the outside. Our units are very much bed bug free.
I am glad to inform you that many of our units have been updated with amazing features for various guest budgets. We thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at Sugar Beach Resort for four day end of July/Aug 2012. The people here were outstanding, very, very, nice! However, the condos were very outdated, the floors were dirty and bugs galore inside the condo and on the patio. I even checked the beds before using, but at night, I woke up several times kicking bugs off the end of the bed, omg. The glass top tables from the 1970's were not acceptable since we had a toddler in there. It smelled musty and the a/c which they advised not using all the time b/c it breaks down was extremely LOUD when on. They supply WD 30 to spray on the window cranks since they were all corroded from the salt air. The ocean was outside our patio, but you couldn't use it b/c the seawood/turtle grass was so thick you couldn't wade in it. I will never go back. They need to seriously update these condos for the price they charge. With that said, I most likely will never go back to St. Croix. Once was way too much.

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We are very concerned about the bug problem experienced during your stay. Terminex sprays the first week of every month. It would be greatly appreciated if you could provide the room in which you stayed so that we can investigate the problem thoroughly. Some insects such as mosquito and sand gnats are naturally a part of the ambiance to living on a tropical island but there are pest control methods we try to implement so that Guests stays are not rendered uncomfortable because of them. Ironically Sugar Beach began it's existence in 1973 and we have aggressively equip our unit with essential modernization devices to make our guest comfortable but perhaps we will need to review our decor theme and adjust it accordingly. Residing Oceanfront is a wonderful experience once you take into consideration the natural habits of the sea and constant salt blast that causes corrosion to our condos on a daily basis. There are numerous things that need monitoring and we thank you for being part of the process that helps us to continually strive to be the best oceanfront resort on St. Croix. Please feel free to contact us directly at sroberts@sugarbeachstcroix.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed in condo #315 at the Sugar Beach Resort during our stay in July 2012 for 2 weeks. There were 4 adults and 2 young children with us and the unit had more space than we expected. There was a 4th bedroom in the loft that we never even used. The condo was very clean and had many new upgrades such as furniture, tv, appliances and linens. The full size kitchen and washer and dryer in the unit were a huge convenience for us with the kids. There is a very large, fully gated patio looking straight at the beach. It was safe for the kids and the view was gorgeous. We had wi-fi and satelite on the tv as well. The pool at the resort was very clean and well maintained. It even had booths in the pool so you could comfortably enjoy a drink while swimming. There are two restaurants on either side of the resort within about a 2 minute walk. I definitely recommend Breezes for lunch/dinner. One thing to note is although the beach at the resort was very relaxing and beautiful, there is a lot of seagrass in the water at Sugar Beach. This didn't bother us or the kids since seagrass isn't slimey like seaweed but just so you know. The snorkeling at Sugar Beach is great because there are many coral reefs to look at thanks to a long stretch of underwater tires that were installed years ago that have grown coral. The best beaches were Chenay and Rainbow if your looking for white soft sand and smooth water. We did loose power and water at the condo a few times but this is very common on the island. It was not specific to our room or our building. The whole block was out but it returned quickly. I recommend getting a car in St. Croix. It's difficult to see the beaches or any sites if you don't have your own transportation. Parking at Sugar Beach was free. We had a wonderful trip, largely due to the great accomodations we had with this unit. We were visiting family that lives on the island and it was really nice to be able to have dinners with them in the condo and fit everyone comfortably. Thank you Steve and Cathy for renting your condo!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent visit to Sugar Beach. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel and that you had such wonderful experiences with the local excursions. I am sure your recommendations will come in very helpful to future visitors St Croix, again, thank you for sharing! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Exactly what I needed! I wanted a getaway with my partner for a week just to relax, have great food, and of course lay by the beach. In my opinion, St.Croix is beautiful, and you always have a good time. Me and my partner stayed here at Sugar Beach in a one bedroom which had a full-kitchen, which is always a plus if you just want to stay in. In our room we had a balcony overlooking the ocean. What else can you ask for?

AMAZING! strongly recommend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. This kind of reviews always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Sugar Beach very soon. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: 3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach is a condominium resort on St. Croix, USIV with studio, one, two, three and four bedroom units - all directly on the beach! We welcome you to stay in your own private condo - complete with balconies, fans, air conditioning, beautiful furnishings, and your very own kitchen. The resort also offers complementary WiFi in all condos, 2 tennis courts, hammocks and lounge chairs on the beach plus kayaks and Zayaks (glass bottom snorkel sleds). Sugar Beach is ideal for Active Travelers looking for accommodations in the middle of the action with a "home" base to come back to at the end of the day. The choices of island activities are endless - days can be filled with diving and snorkeling, kayaking, nature hiking, horseback riding, golfing, sailing, jeep tours through the rain forest and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Condominiums Hotel St. Croix
Sugar Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.