We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theater on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sugar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence 2014
hanau
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Theater on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We had a wonderful visit at this condo. We were there for a family wedding and found this condo to be well furnished, very comfy, and had EVERYTHING we needed, even enough room for hosting the bridal shower. Loved the "extra bedroom" , and kids loved the movie system, We all loved the great views of the ocean. We always rent vacation homes/condo's on our travels and found Leslie to be the nicest and most accomodating landlord ever. The pool and tennis courts at this complex are well maintained as is the beach. The beach has seagrass so be aware of this if you go, but this was made clear in the description so we were prepared. Really enjoyed the use of the kayak. We liked that the island was not overly touristy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    30
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
51
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I love this place. I've stayed here three different times in two different condos. Both were gorgeous. Since they're privately owned, the condos vary quite a bit--some have flat screens, kayaks, hammocks, lounge chairs, and luxury accommodations. The A/C was good at both locations. It appears that some of the people here are semi-retired and permanent residents--mostly americans.

They are centrally located--you're close enough to Christiansted so that you can get there in 5 minutes, or you never have to bother with town if you just want to lime at the beach or the pool. There are tennis courts, a big pool, and they have security. Great for families or when you need more than just one hotel room for the price. When I find a place I love, I tend to gravitate to it, so I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Research what you are looking for on the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Mi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I have heard so many negative reviews about Sugar Beach. We stayed there March 17-26, 2011 at Condo #103. We highly recommend this condo! Everything was spotless and very well stocked. Everything worked perfectly. Very roomy for 4 adults. 2 bedrooms, 2 baths. This is a condo from a private owner. The only problem we had was the beach not being cleaned everyday. They cleaned it only 2 days out of the 10 we were there. Complained to the office and they said there are more important up keep to do other than the beach. Seriously? They did however clean up the beach after complaining, but again only 2 days out of the 10. Pool was wonderful! Going back next year to condo #103.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

I got there at 10pm, but had confirmed the late arrival by phone earlier in the day. The security guard took me to the room, where the key didn't work. He had to call the property manager who arrived by 10:25. Although on property to give the guard the correct keys, the manager never once came to apologize for the inconvenience. The unit (106) was lovely, spacious and felt very safe. The sound of the waves and ocean breezes from right off the patio were really nice. Unfortunately, there was no hot water in the shower and the showers and bathroom floors had lots of hair....like from 5-6 different people. GROSS. When I complained at the desk, the man writing down the issues never once looked at me or apologized. He said he'd make a note of it and that's about all he did because neither issue was ever addressed. The bathroom floors and showers stayed hairy through the entire stay and there was never hot water. I like to feel the sand between my toes at the beach....not constant flip flops because the bathroom floor is gross!

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stx, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
We are glad that the ambience and atmosphere of unit 106 was to your liking. We apologize for the cold water on your first night here. Energy conservation is the driving force for our staff and the reason for the postings in our units that instruct guests to turn off the water heater and air condition when they will be away from the unit. That is certainly our fault for not turning on the hot water switch for you the first night but happy you were able to have hot water during the remainder of your stay. Our notes indicate that unit 106 was given a service and if the service was unsatisfactory we wish we would have known. Guest satisfaction is priorty number #1 and we would have had housekeeping return. Management did come to inquire of your stay with us but at last, you had already departed. We do appreciate your review and hope the you will give us the chance to make it up to you should you choose us as your vacation destination on your next visit to St. Croix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

St. Croix has the nicest people of anywhere we have travelled. Downtown Christiansted was a pleasure to shop and visit. The hotel at Sugar Beach was affordable, but nothing outstanding. Plywood under the matresses for support. Hundreds of baby roaches circling in the kitchen. Air conditioning that didn't work. Cable TV with 2 channels. Our family is used to traveling to places with bugs, but this could be ugly if you are not used to insects. The hotel is next to the power plant, so you can't kayak too far up the beach. The beach is unusable for swimming, with all the sea grass. My son is allergic to it. The community pool is nice, and has many local children sneaking in to use it.

I love St. Croix, and this area of town is affordable, but comes at a cost with a great shell hunting, but not swimming beach, and not any worthy restaraunts close. You need a car to get to the local grocery that has anything one needs. Of course, cooking those groceries in the kitchen with cockroaches is pretty challenging.

In reality, we wanted to leave early, but all the flights were full, so we were stuck to the end of our stay. To end on a positive note, the island is gorgeous, snorkling at cane bay is unbelievable, and Buck island we had to do twice!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stx, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
We think St. Croix is a gem and are happy you think so too. We want your stay to be as delightful at Sugar Beach as you find our Island. We have a responsive staff, and had we known about your concerns we would have addressed them right away. TV and AC problems are usually simple and can be taken care of quickly. Unfortunately bugs are a factor in living on a beautiful tropical island, but we have effective measures for controlling them. We apologize for the inconvenience these issues may have caused you. Our beach is known as a great snorkeling spot, as the sea grass is the natural environment for smaller oceanic animals. It is also the foo source for sea turtles, and two years ago we had sea turtles nesting on our beach. Imagine that! Many years ago there were no zoning policies put in place: hence the closeness of the power plant to a residential area. However, unless you paddle directly in that direction, the power plant is not visible. Our guest satisfaction is priority number one, and as you found out Cruzians are a generous and friendly people. If you were unhappy in your unit, we would have been happy to relocate you to one of our other beautiful units. We appreciate your review and hope you enjoy your next vacation to St. Croix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed at "Theatre on the Beach" for a week with our 3 young children (the oldest was 6). The unit was really spacious and well-equipped. We got a great rate and did most of our cooking at the condo making our vacation very affordable. The beach was safe for the kids, the constant breeze was very pleasant, the large TV and movie selection made evenings relaxing, the pool was beautiful and clean - and we usually had it to ourselves. The shower with 2 heads was fantastic for showering off the kids after the beach. (Lots of toys in the closet.) We took low-key outings to tour the forts and botanical gardens. Couldn't have asked for a more refreshing and relaxing vacation - looking forward to visiting again. FYI: the theatre on the beach unit does not walk straight out to the beach - you have to walk out the parking lot door then around the side of the building to get there. It does look straight out from the patio and the walk is easy and very quick. You may want to wear water shoes b/c my son got a sea urchin spike in his foot.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Georgia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed at Sugar Beach from July 18-20. We were there on our honeymoon. The weather was terrible, so we decided to come home. It was raining so hard that we could not see to drive! We were told that there was a 3 night minimum, which is standard and we did not have a problem with that. When we arrived on the 18th, it was after hours. we called the after hours number and a security guard met us with the key. He never asked our name, to see identification, all we told him was what suite number we were in. That made us feel VERY secure!!! We stayed in Theatre on the Beach. The suite was very clean, however, the air did not work well at all. Because of the rain, wind, storms, etc., we could not sleep with the windows/doors open. It was muggy and hot in the room the entire time we were there. Becuse of this we could not sleep at all. There was also tons of ants - everywhere - including the beach. The condos were outdated. I would use the term "resort" loosely. There were no activities as one would think at a resort. Also, when booking the room, we used card A to reserve the room. With most places, once you reserve the room, upon checking in they ask how you want to pay (as did the place we are now staying). We planned on paying with card B. Since we never officially checked in, we werent asked how we wanted to pay. We explained this to the lady at the front desk when checking out and she assured us all would be fine. However, it wasn't . They actually charged card A the entire amount and refunded the difference to card B. They should have just released the hold on card A and charged card B the difference. We now have a negative balance on card A because of this. Now instead of enjoying the rest of our honeymoon, my husband is now trying to get this situation taken care of. Thank you Sugar Beach for making our St. Croix experience a miserable. This is a honeymoon we will never forgot!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stx, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
This review makes several good points, and as we apologize for the bother, we are also doing our best to address each and every one of them. Unfortunately, we had a tropical storm that hung over St. Croix for several days during this guests stay. And weather like that is hard on both people, insects - and on air-conditioning units. We totally understood that they wanted to leave, and there was no penalty. (We have even offered them the opportunity to return - hopefully when the weather is better). And once we knew there was an issue with the air-conditioning, it was immediately repaired. As for the issue with the confusion with the credit card, we do apologize. That was definitely our fault, and we will try hard to not make that mistake in the future. At least it is now completely cleared up. The security question is extremely interesting, and as it turns out the major issue for this guest. St. Croix has far fewer tourists than other islands - and we don't have the security issues that plague places on other island and on the mainland. Unfortunately, these guests took our relaxed atmosphere as a lack of control, but nothing could be less true. We knew they were coming, they were welcome guests. And the security guard notified the front desk that they had arrived as expected, so there was no need for the guests to repeat that step. We do apologize for the confusion our relaxed attitude caused however. As for the ants, they clearly were also trying to escape the rain and ant traps were called for - and that solved that problem. While we can not control the weather, and ants are a common problem on all tropical islands - both the air-conditioning and ants in the condo issues would have been resolved immediately had the guests but let us know. But late is better than never, so thank you for letting us know what things needed fixing - and again, we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: 3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach is a condominium resort on St. Croix, USIV with studio, one, two, three and four bedroom units - all directly on the beach! We welcome you to stay in your own private condo - complete with balconies, fans, air conditioning, beautiful furnishings, and your very own kitchen. The resort also offers complementary WiFi in all condos, 2 tennis courts, hammocks and lounge chairs on the beach plus kayaks and Zayaks (glass bottom snorkel sleds). Sugar Beach is ideal for Active Travelers looking for accommodations in the middle of the action with a "home" base to come back to at the end of the day. The choices of island activities are endless - days can be filled with diving and snorkeling, kayaking, nature hiking, horseback riding, golfing, sailing, jeep tours through the rain forest and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Condominiums Hotel St. Croix
Sugar Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.