We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic, friendly and we would definantly come back...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
2015 Rate Sale!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Binghamton, New York
1 review
“Classic, friendly and we would definantly come back...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

My husband and I made last minute reservations at the Buccaneer to get away for a week. I am so happy we stayed here. We loved everything about this resort , the staff was very efficient and friendly. Larry the Bartender was great. He was very entertaining, efficient and we enjoyed visiting with him. They also had live music every night and an outstanding band on Thursday night.

Many of the guests here have been returning for years and absolutely love the Buccaneer. The villas are clean, the pool is beautiful and spotless. The restaurants bar and pool had great views of the ocean!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    183
    41
    30
    26
See reviews for
197
327
23
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stayed at "The Buc" for 9 days late Feb. to early March 2011. Huge property on the water. Great house with restaurant on top of a steep hill. We drove the car up to the restaurant so that we wouldn't need oxygen before eating. We stayed in the Doubloons which had a huge room, large balcony and walk-in closet area. Huge bathroom with whirlpool tub and cavernous shower. Plenty of hot water and good volume. Very short walk to Mermaid beach, which is beautiful. Plenty of palm and other trees for shade. Golf course on site. Pretty hilly, fairways burnt-out/not watered. Ate dinner at the Terrace restaurant the first night. It was OK, but not great. Went to Tutto Bene the next night (Italian) and it was not very good. Place was nearly empty. Met another couple who also ate there and they had the same opinion.
Went to the lounge area beside the Terrace restaurant for dinner the next night. One waitress was serving 9 tables. Too much for her/not enough staff. It took 1-1/2 hours to get dinner. Mine was cold when it arrived, telling me that it sat in the kitchen for a while. I was pretty upset at this and sent it back and had it taken off the bill. I didn't feel like paying $38.00 for a cold meal at that point. At 2 hours we still didn't have dessert, and when it did arrive there was no coffee. Some managent person came by and we explained the problem. They took the coffee off the bill! What a joke. This is clearly a managemnt issue in the kitchen and on the floor. Met another couple who said the same thing. They had been there for 9 days already and had been told 9 days earlier that the chef had a death in the family, leaving the rest of the staff clueless. Obviously this was not still the problem 9 days later.
Breakfast buffet was good, when the buffet items were there. We had to wait almost every morning for someone to replenish eggs, croissants, fruit, orange juice, etc. They were not on top of the trays becoming empty.
Mermaid restaurant is great for lunch and dinner (open Wed. through Sat. for dinner).
Beach lounges are the metal frames with the blue straps. Nothing fancy/no pads. For the 9 days we were there the bird excrement was never cleaned off of them once.
We were not even offered a bellman upon checkin. Found that strange.
There are 2 markets just a couple of minutes down the road toward Christiansted on the right. The first, Schooner Bay had a good deli and makes great sandwiches. They were big enough for 2 to share. That took care of lunches for us.
Housekeeping was about as it is everywhere. Sometimes you had a towel on the floor bedside at turndown to wipe your feet. Sometimes nothing. Sometimes you got cream and regular sugar replenished in order to make your coffee and sometimes nada, even though you leave a note with the daily tip. You could write your name on the telephones, toilet tank, etc. in the dust with you finger. They see burnt-out light bulbs but don't get them fixed until you tell them to. They don't clean the balcony. On the last night they left no new clean towels. I'm sure this seems to be just whining, but in other fine resorts we have had housekeeping supervisors ask how things are going, etc. Not so here. Power went out twice one day. When it came back on the History Channel had sound and no picture. After 2 days I went to the front desk to ask about the problem. They were clueless that it was a problem. They asked if I was the only one. I told them they would have to answer that as I had no way of knowing. Its obvious they don't pay attention to these kinds of things themselves.
It was very windy the first few days, but when it stopped the "no-see-ums" would eat you alive on the balcony...day or night (not the fault of the Buc of course).
St Croix pretty much has little to offer a tourist. Christiansted is absolutely dead. Nobody there. Lousy shopping. Seedy areas. No cruise shipe there for the 9 days we were there. That tells you something.
Drove around the island. Point Udall was a wonderful panorama, kind of like Cadillac Mountain on Bar Harbor, ME. Toured an old sugar plantation called Whim. Its $10.00 and there isn't much to see. Drove through the "rainforest" and some parts of the road were missing.
Never saw a moped, parasail, zip line, etc. There were NO people walking around Fredricksted.
The biggest atraction seems to be Buck Island for snorkeling. We didn't go.
We also ate at the Cultured Pelican which was very good and twice at Kendrick's in Christiansted. Kendrick's turned out to be right up there with the best meals we've ever eaten! Fantastic!
Overall, not thrilled with The Buc, which is supposed to be the best place on the island. That may be so, but I doub't if we'll ever go back to St. Croix.
Have previously been to the Spice Beach Resort in Grenada, La Samanna in St. Martin, Biras Creek in Virgin Gorda, Carlisle Bay in Antigua and Caneel Bay in St. John. By comparison they are all better than The Bucanneer. It wasn't "bad" but it wasn't great.
WIFI in the room was spotty. Only 2 or 3 strength bars. Frequently lost connection. No better on the balcony.
If the highlight of your restful vacation day is to go out to a great dinner, you have to go to St. Martin. Went there 2 years in a row. Stayed at the Grand Case Beach Club last year. Hell of a lot less expensive then La Samanna, but just right, and you can walk right into all the restaurants in Grand Case.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

This was our fourth trip to the Buccaneer and we absolutely love this hotel and resort. We find it so relaxing. They upgraded us to an ocean front room that was newly renovated and we loved hearing the ocean in the evenings and watching the beautiful sunsets. We played golf three times and enjoyed the course. The food was great and the entertainment in the evenings so enjoyable. Weston is a great bartender and the Spa is awesome. Most of all it is so relaxing. If they could only slow time down it would be heaven.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

The Buccaneer is a gem! It's clean, friendly, comfortable, well staffed, well organized and safe. The ocean view terrace was my favorite spot. The buffet breakfasts were excellent, the Mermaid lunches were very good but the Terrace dinners were only fair and over priced. The Christiansted restaurants ( Kendrick's, Bacchus, Tutte Bene and Savant) were terrific! The beaches and the two pools were wonderful. The fitness room and the golf course were solid. The taxi service was personable and professional. The concierge (Mariah) was friendly and knowledgeable. We're hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We spent last week at the Buccaneer & had a great time. The location is breath-taking. Our room was right on the beach. My daughter loved the kids camp and my 12 year old son like the organized sports (soccer, basketball). The food was great. I loved their key lime pie and hummus/tabbouleh lunch. The breakfast buffet can carry through until lunch time. Best of all was the friendly staff. The concierge made a lot of reservations for us - snorkeling, dinner in town, taxis, night time kayaking on the bioluminescent water! this hotel has something for everyone - activities & relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We needed a break from a brutal NY winter and found it on many fronts in St. Croix. We stayed at The Buccaneer is situated on a beautiful beach offering two areas to sit Oceanside. Our room had a dead on ocean view and was recently updated with two spacious bdrms and two baths. One bathroom had a problem and we were immediately offered another room but passed as we didn't need two bathrooms. Nice trail for running/walking, challenging golf course (as per my husband), great spa treatments, good morning breakfast buffet, Mermaid and Grotto ( restaurants) served good and healthy options for meals. Terrace ( main restaurant) had slow service woos but Christianstad has no shortage of FABULOUS restaurants so No worries there. The concierge Mariah made six nights worth of reservations in town and she was on the money each time from the local low key seaside joints to the finer dining options. Take the steps to request an updated room at The Buccanneer, take advantage of all it has to offer and ask for Mariah, she has a firm knowledge of the island.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

there were 7 of us, and this resort seems to be for couples over 60...very little to do, and yet its very hilly. You have to walk from the beach to your room and up a large hill to the main lobby or wait 10 minutes for the shuttle...which often times just doesn't show up.
Not a good place to take children...just nothing for them to do...

The rooms are in high need of new decor, for the price tag, and there were bugs on the vanities every day...we had a 6" black centipiede in our room that ruined my sleep the rest of the trip...

We have traveled to some great places for the last 15 years, so we have plenty to compare this to....even if we paid half the price, I would have a hard time recommending this hotel, I don't know if they just overbooked because of Valentines week, because we read some of the other reviews here before booking...and most were positive...so, we were really surprised.

The overall food at the hotel was very average, and the prices were 2-3 times what it would cost @ home. An average bottle of wine was 3-4 times the regular price.
Again, if it was wonderful food, it would be worth it, but....it just wasn't.

I would recommend looking elsewhere for your perfect vacation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.