We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Save Saved
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Buccaneer Treasures!
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
NY,NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We needed a break from a brutal NY winter and found it on many fronts in St. Croix. We stayed at The Buccaneer is situated on a beautiful beach offering two areas to sit Oceanside. Our room had a dead on ocean view and was recently updated with two spacious bdrms and two baths. One bathroom had a problem and we were immediately offered another room but passed as we didn't need two bathrooms. Nice trail for running/walking, challenging golf course (as per my husband), great spa treatments, good morning breakfast buffet, Mermaid and Grotto ( restaurants) served good and healthy options for meals. Terrace ( main restaurant) had slow service woos but Christianstad has no shortage of FABULOUS restaurants so No worries there. The concierge Mariah made six nights worth of reservations in town and she was on the money each time from the local low key seaside joints to the finer dining options. Take the steps to request an updated room at The Buccanneer, take advantage of all it has to offer and ask for Mariah, she has a firm knowledge of the island.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    492
    173
    40
    30
    24
See reviews for
188
301
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

there were 7 of us, and this resort seems to be for couples over 60...very little to do, and yet its very hilly. You have to walk from the beach to your room and up a large hill to the main lobby or wait 10 minutes for the shuttle...which often times just doesn't show up.
Not a good place to take children...just nothing for them to do...

The rooms are in high need of new decor, for the price tag, and there were bugs on the vanities every day...we had a 6" black centipiede in our room that ruined my sleep the rest of the trip...

We have traveled to some great places for the last 15 years, so we have plenty to compare this to....even if we paid half the price, I would have a hard time recommending this hotel, I don't know if they just overbooked because of Valentines week, because we read some of the other reviews here before booking...and most were positive...so, we were really surprised.

The overall food at the hotel was very average, and the prices were 2-3 times what it would cost @ home. An average bottle of wine was 3-4 times the regular price.
Again, if it was wonderful food, it would be worth it, but....it just wasn't.

I would recommend looking elsewhere for your perfect vacation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The mid-level room we were staying at had a patio with a breathtaking view of one of three beaches on the hotel. Actually, step off the patio and you are right on the beach. This is the best beach for swimming. The Grotto beach seems to be a good one for snorkeling (which the equipment is provided to you for the length of your stay). The third beach is a bit of a trek and IMO is not really worth it. The seclusion of it does not offset the fact that it really is not a very pretty beach at all. The rooms are clean. The front desk and concierge were friendly and helpful. If making a trip out to Buck Island, the boats come right to the dock at the Buccaneer. There is a golf course, tennis courts, and a half court basketball area. Check out the iguanas in the trees near the entrance on the golf course. The Terrace (the fancy hotel restaurant) had excellent food (and the included breakfast buffet was also very convenient). Just an amazing place to stay and worth spending a little bit extra for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Pretty top notch hotel for the Virgin Islands. Professional service, everything works and the people are friendly. It's a good location as well. I would recommend it to anyone staying on St. Croix

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

This was our first stay at the Buccaneer, we were there to celebrate our 44th Wedding Anniversary. We were surprised to find out that when we checked in , we had been up-graded to the most wonderful suite. What a view we had from our balcony of the Carribean Sea!! We had checked in on a Thursday, and was having a wonderful time, until Sunday morning at about 1:00 a.m., when my wife woke me up to tell me she was having a Heart Attack. I notified the front desk clerk and she called 911. My wife was taken to the local hospital emergency room and ended up having surgery to clear a blockage in one of the valves leading to the heart. Dr Griffith, the only heart surgeon on the island, saed her life. The hotel staff and management were so caring and concerned about my wife, and were always asking me if there was anything they could do! They even sent my wife flowers in the hospital. Even with my wife's heart attack, we still had a wonderful time at the Buccaneer and would return again. They are wonderful and the Hotel is a ten to my wife and I.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Went to St. Croix with all kinds of exploring plans - but the Buccaneer was so beautiful; the property so expansive, the food so good, and the beaches and our room so lovely that we did something we have never done before - we never left the grounds! WE stayed in a stone & wood suite right on the beach and we could hop right over our patio wall and step out onto the beach. We walked the two mile plus walking paths in the morning, swam in either pool or (most often) the ocean, and kayaked everyday. The owner of this historic but very modernized resort took us on a personalized nature and history tour (which included a sugar mill). We ate in all their restaurants and one night ordered a New York Deli quality Reuben for take out and sat and ate on the dock and watched the sun set. At night we walked up to the main hotel and danced or listened to music or just gaped at the fantastic view. We went to St. Croix with very little expectations except getting away from the cold and hoping to relax - we got so, so, so much more! We can't wait to go back - maybe we will even tour St. Croix this time - everyone on the plane said it was great! But I can't imagine anyplace being better than the Buccaneer in St. Croix (and this is my third visit to the Virgin Islands)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

You'll get your money's worth at the Buccaneer. It has so much to offer that you never really need to leave unless you want to. The location overlooking the ocean is magnificent. The staff bend over backwards to accomodate your every need. The food in all restaurants is delicious and rooms are spacious and clean. Nightly entertainment in The Terrace is free and very enjoyable. Water sports at all beaches are free, too. There are too many amenities to list here. This was our second visit to the Buccaneer and next year will be our third. After visiting many caribbean islands nothing has ever compared to our experiences at the Buccaneer. We'd hate to go somewhere else and constantly compare how it doesn't stack up to the Buccaneer. We will be lifelong fans and guests. It's our home away from home.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.