We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Buccaneer continues it's tradition of great service and warm inviting atmosphere!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Shoys | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 Resort Credit
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Centrral Ky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Buccaneer continues it's tradition of great service and warm inviting atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

This was our 3rd visit to St. Croix and the Buccaneer in the past 4 years, so yes, we like the place! This was our first visit during the Christmas/New Years holiday, however, and we were anxious to see how the Buccaneer handled the holiday season. In a nutshell, very well! The campus was nicely decorated with lights for the Christmas season, and everyone seemed to be in good Christmas spirit.

The best thing about the Buccaneer is the wonderful, personal service they provide to their guests. I have described the Buccaneer in the past as the place where "they never say no." It still is. The atmosphere is very relaxing, and you can make your visit whatever you want it to be. Tennis, golf, beach activities, tours, shopping . . . or simply nothing at all. The choice is yours. The concierge service is also fantastic. Whatever you want to do, they will find it for you.

I can't say enough good things about the Buccaneer because it is one of those rare places where the people running the place actually care about you, and will do almost anything to make sure you have a good time. It continues to be our favorite vacation choice, and we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    209
    45
    33
    28
See reviews for
230
374
25
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

beach is a good walk from the ocean-front rooms of the main hotel. Terrible dropoff of about 3-4 feet. Glad I didn't have the grands with me. Staff wonderful, especially concierge Mariah!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

The hotel:
This was our first trip to St. Croix and we had a very relaxing, laid back vacation. Booked this hotel through a deal on jetsetter. Despite the deal, it was still a bit of a splurge for us, but we were attracted to the remoteness of the island, and the historic character of the hotel. We were greeted with punch, and were checked in immediately. The room was nice, but very dated. Could definitely use some new linens etc. The bathroom, not so nice, and was not cleaned very thoroughly. The best part about the room was the outdoor balcony - nice lounge chairs, and AMAZING view. Like other reviewers said, there are ants in the room, and my spouse and I returned with 4-5 nasty bites each! Use the bug spray provided!
The service:
Other reviewers went on about the service, but I have to say, I wasn't very impressed. I am pretty well traveled, and I don't think the service here compares to the service they give you in countries like India, Thailand and Mexico. The breakfast servers kind of had attitude problems, and neglected to tell us about specials, took forever to bring tea/coffee etc. The evening servers, however were all very nice and polite. The room was never cleaned thoroughly and we often came back to a room with a semi-dirty bathroom.
The food:
Food options here are very limited and expensive. The lunchtime dining options (mermaid and grotto) were decent, providing an array of sandwiches and wraps.
The evening dining options (terrace and martel) were limited and over-priced. For dinner, we would try to go to town to eat. (We had rented a car for 2-3 days of the trip)
The beach/activities:
The mermaid and grotto beaches are pretty, but not good for swimming. The shoreline was pretty rocky, and had lots of weeds. We spent most of our days scoping out other beaches on the island. We did spend some time on the mermaid beach, sipping pina coladas and watching the waves. It was so relaxing! The two pools on the resort were nice, the larger one was nicer, spent many hours in it.
Other things about VI:
Highlight of the trip, just as others mentioned, was the Buck Island tour. We did a 1/2 day with Caribbean sea adventures. Captain Mike and Mark were great. The buck island beach is the best beach in st. croix - definitely worth the trip out there. The snorkeling was amazing!
Food on the island is expensive and nothing to write home about. We went to Kims, Rum Runners, The Pickled Greek, etc and they were all okay. Some of the locals said that Singhs had the best local food, but I didn't love it.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for people looking for a nice getaway, a place that is not super-touristy, on an island with some very nice beaches.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

The hotel tries hard but falls short. Everyone who works there is nice and tries hard but they over promise and can't fulfill what they promise. We were there with our teenage sons who looked forward to what the hotel promised as teen age activities every afternoon (Touch football, soccer, bocce, etc) NEVER did one of these activities start. The food was sub par. The rooms were loud. On the plus side, the beaches are fairly nice and both my husband had wonderful massages at the spa, which we have found to be rare in resorts in the Virgin Islands. So bottom line, it was an OK vacation but certainly not worth the money and we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

This was the only time I had ever been to St. Croix, and The Buccaneer seemed to be the nicest place on the island. We went into town a couple of times either for dinner or a snorkeling tour. Other than that just hanging out on the beach at the resort and renting their canoes to go out into the water a distance was a good time. If you are looking for a party resort this is not the place and town is not just around the corner. You have probably a 15 min drive into town and its not the best part of town. I don't remember the name of the snorkeling tour but we took a boat out to the famous reef there at St Croix which I think may have been Buck Island reef....that tour is a must do. It was the best part of the trip, beautiful coral reefs, swam next to sharks and barracuda, it was really an exciting guided tour....and the free rum punch flows the entire time. That is another thing about the hotel right when you arrive they hand you drinks and this service continues the duration of your stay.

The breakfast in the morning is great, there is a chef behind a grill willing to make anything, and where you eat is on top of the resort with an open view to the ocean (no windows).

The beach and clear water was the best part. There is a long dock off of the beach which goes into about 10 or 15 foot water at the end. You can see the oceans floor and all the colorful fish swimming below. Again it is a very relaxed beach and not a party atmosphere, but a great time with friends/family.

The pool was good, I think there is two, we did not use them at all being as the beach was so nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

The Buccaneer is one of my family's all-time favorite places to go on St Croix. We are a big family of all different ages, and the Buccaneer offers something for everyone. It has great beaches, fun activities, luxury rooms and villas, a fitness center, health spa, golf course, tennis courts, two swimming pools, and four great restaurants!... Now do you see why we love this place? ;-) In my opinion, the Terrace Restaurant (which is their fancier restaurant) has some of the best food on the island, and without a doubt some of the best views of Christiansted Harbor. Check out my family's pictures and stories about The Buccaneer at http://www.st-croix-gems.com/buccaneer-st-croix.html

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Though I have never sought out that traditional Caribbean vacation – the ones so romanticized thanks to “Sandals” – there is something to be said about the conveniences of home set amidst the beautiful landscape that is the Caribbean; an ideal world that the Buccaneer provides.

That’s right: all that is America is right here at the Buccaneer, folks. Complete with frozen American specialties such as cheeseburgers, pizza, and pancakes; the morbidly obese in bikinis; Staten Islanders; and last but definitely not least, old American couples bragging about their weekend in Miami… the previous week.

Admittedly, the rum and wireless access on the beach was definitely a pleasant surprise and a great distraction from that, stated above. Yet, everything about this place only reassured me that I had been making the proper choice all along: the more ants in the bathroom, the more enjoyable the beach experience. I promise, not one ant here.

Though, for those (unlike me) that are drawn to such American conveniences, here are some important notes for your travels:

1. If you desire some spontaneity of any kind, make sure to rent a car. The hotel is located on a hilltop about a 10 minutes drive from downtown. And while the hotel does provide a shuttle service, it only runs every hour and stops at 5pm. The hotel will also willingly call a taxi for you, but unless you have a specified time, it takes about a half an hour for it to arrive. Not to mention, it will allow you to get out of tiny Christiansted and explore more of the island.
2. There is a convenience store located on the premises, but it closes fairly early – like 6 o’clock early.
3. Try Cruzan’s blackstrap rum with a splash of soda at Mermaid beach. It definitely helps to distort the cellulite ruining your perfect Ameri-bbean locale.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Shoys | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.